We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sherwood Taipei
Ranked #47 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed at Sherwood for 6 nights in January 2013. I received excellent services, so I have wanted to write this long overdue review. All the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly during my stay. The breakfast buffet has a wonderful range of Western and Eastern choices, juices, local fruits and desserts. One small gripe was that they did not serve muesli. I overslept one morning and arrived for breakfast right when the services ended. The staff who were taking the food back to the kitchen waited for me while I made my selection. I was completely fine to have the leftovers. What impressed me was that the waitress who showed me to my table asked what else I would like to have and checked with the kitchen, and they filled my order! The hotel is by the main road, so it is easy to get taxis during peak hours in the morning. There are some good restaurants in the nearby lanes. The deco is a bit aged but the room is nice and cosy. Most importantly the hotel is clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chin_YH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Sherwood, 公關經理 at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review on Tripadvisor. We are honored to know that you are impressed by our hotel service and staff. It is our pleasure to know that you enjoy having breakfast at B-one restaurant. We feel sorry that we did not have muesli at our restaurant during your stay. However, we have more food selection and international breakfast for our guests now. We sincerely invite you to visit our restaurant again!

Also, once we see your comment, we informed all the related departments that you had a pleasant stay during your trip to Taipei. Your comment has motivated our staff to keep improving our hotel service. Your recognition is the best reward for all the hotel staff. In 2014, we still insist on conveying our core service spirit-“Home away from home”. Again, we would like to thank you for choosing The Sherwood Taipei and hope we can see you soon!

Best regards,
The Sherwood Taipei Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 943 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Sherwood Taipei. After my shopping I came back to my room and I saw that the door to my room was open. The housemaid leave my door open. I went to the reception, and explain what happened. The staff at the frontdesk don't care what happened. They are not even apologize, no feedback, no call to my room or worry if everything was OK in the room, even ask my room number.
Fortunately nothing has disappeared from my room.. I had several electronique devices on the table. The staff are not very professional. In such case they have to worry what should happened, if all my stuff was stolen in my room.
Very bad service and no my fault.

Room Tip: No room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diamondsforever888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Sherwood, 公關經理 at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Diamondsforever888,
We would like to thank you for choosing The Sherwood Taipei. Regarding your suggestions ad comments, we have taken immediate measurements to improve our services. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

The Sherwood Taipei Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

It's the best Chinese run hotel property in the city. Rooms are spacious & comfortable. It has all the amenities as an international 5 star property, although it's showing its age a bit. Its breakfast buffet is wonderful. Folks are polite and helpful. Several nice restaurants within walking distance, and a great small beef noodle soup place on its side street. Great quiet, comfortable and conservative place to stay. However, it's a little pricey. If you are looking for a trendy and chic, this is not a place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Sherwood, Public Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Sherwood Taipei. We sincerely appreciate your stay in The Sherwood Taipei. As for your comment, we will definitely to keep improving for better service to satisfy customers’ needs. We appreciate your stay in The Sherwood Taipei. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Sherwood Taipei Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I spent several nights at the Sherwood and was overall pleased with my stay. The hotel feels like a smaller boutique hotel and is quiet and clean. The rooms are nice and the gym and locker room facilities are terrific, but some of the other common areas (the lobby lounge area and the fifth-floor business lounge, as well as the hallways on the residential floors) feel like they are due to be updated. The breakfast buffet was just renovated this month and offers a terrific selection of both western and eastern style breakfast choices. The location is less central than other comparable hotels, but we were able to make it work since taxis are so cheap and plentiful. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on business, but would recommend the Regent over the Sherwood for tourists, due to its more central location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Sherwood, Public Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us! As one of local hotel brand, we emphasize the quality of service more than others. We are really proud that you had pleasant stays with us! It is our honor to hear that you enjoy our room, service and Italian restaurant. Your feedback motivates us to improve ourselves continuously to provide our guests with the best and most comfortable service. We appreciate your sharing on Tripadvisor and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,
The Sherwood Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Sherwood for Business and was very happy with my stay. While some of the hotel communal areas look a bit dated, my double room was large, very well appointed and had a large modern bathroom suite. No complaints at all on the accommodation. The breakfast was fantastic - highly recommend. The Italian restaurant for dinner was also v good. Definitely recommend this hotel for business travelers and tourists alike.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank kapasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I could not have been more pleased with the Sherwood. The rooms had a nice modern style and were very clean. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Though, my favorite part was the exceptional service. The concierge went above and beyond with wonderful restaurant recommendations, help with getting around, and even went with me to a nearby store to help me print train tickets! Our group of 15 had to leave before breakfast began, and they kindly boxed breakfasts for us to go. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmcfarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Sherwood, Public Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us! As one of local hotel brand, we emphasize the quality of service more than others. We are really proud that you had pleasant stays with us! It is our honor to hear that you enjoy our room, service, breakfast and staff. Your feedback motivates us to improve ourselves continuously to provide our guests with the best and most comfortable service. We appreciate your sharing on Tripadvisor and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,
The Sherwood Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

A good stay at a good hotel. Location is so-so, but good thing taxis are cheap and plentiful, and getting around really easy. Service is excellent as are the rooms.

Breakfast could do with more selection - I expect more from a 5 star hotel. What more disappointing is that of the selection available, there seem to be an extreme green movement, and refilling the food was extremely slow, often with only one piece left the table.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hkhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_Sherwood, Public Relations Manager at The Sherwood Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sherwood Taipei during your trip to Taipei. As we received your review, we immediately informed all the relevant departments and ask them to make further improvement. We regret that your previous stay did not meet your expectation. Your kind review helps us to pursue better hotel service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again and giving you the best experience!

Best Wishes,
The Sherwood Taipei Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#15 of 582 in Taipei
871 reviews
The Landis Taipei
#57 of 582 in Taipei
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais de Chine Hotel
#37 of 582 in Taipei
1,761 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 582 in Taipei
1,463 reviews
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#50 of 582 in Taipei
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherwood Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood Taipei

Address: No.111 Section 3, Minsheng East Road, Songshan Dist., Taipei 105, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#18 Business Hotel in Taipei
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#19 Family Hotel in Taipei
#29 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $144 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherwood Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1990, when we first started offering world-class hospitality to those visiting our city, there were very few globally recognized 5-star hotels in Taipei. The Sherwood has now become the top-choice in Taipei for renowned political and business figures from across the world.From the day the hotel was established in 1990 it has been a tradition that we welcome our guests as if they were family. The moment you step into The Sherwood, you will be warmly greeted by the smiling faces of our receptionists and you receive a personal room key that makes you feel right at home. The guestrooms are sensibly separated from the restaurants and other public areas by room guest elevators and your are ensured a tranquil, safe and comfortable stay.The Sherwood is the only Taiwanese member of the Leading Hotels of the World, and we have been featured in international travel magazines such as Travel & Leisure, Business Traveler, Asia Money and Review Asia. Our art collection, which is a tasteful fusion of Western and Chinese elements, evokes feelings similar to those gained when browsing through a gallery of the world’s masterpieces.We offer luxury treatment at The Sherwood Spa on the 20th floor and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access in addition to access to our complimentary Executive Business Center, gym and warm indoor pool.The Sherwood is located in the Taipei financial center and shopping hub, near the unique and artistic Minsheng Community and just a ten-minute drive from Songshan Airport. The hotel is within easy access of the city via the MRT Wenhu Line or the highway system that will take you to sights all across the island. We promise to keep you in touch with the world as well as connect you to every part of the island via the extensive Taiwan transportation network.The Sherwood Taipei: Your Taste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sherwood Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Taipei Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Hotel Taipei
The Sherwood Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing