We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service, great location, comfortable stay, GREAT water pressure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sherwood Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sherwood Taipei
Ranked #45 of 564 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Penang
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“excellent service, great location, comfortable stay, GREAT water pressure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great hotel with an outstanding service team - very friendly, always eager to help and never fails to say hello or good morning.

The rooms are OK. I love the water pressure in the bath - it's strong and hot, just perfect after a long biz day.

What I didn't like - the bed was pretty hard. Reminds me of dorm beds. Great if you like hard beds, but I like my plush and soft. The rooms are also old.. this hotel is showing is age and is due for some major renovations.

The Japanese restaurant in B1 is great - give it a try. A little expensive though.

Breakfast at the cafe was so-so: good spread, but not great. It has your basics: eggs, meats, rice, chinese dishes and some salads/fruits. Still, I've seen better at Sheratons and Renaissances across Asia.

Location is great - it's in the middle of some good western and chinese restaurants. A 15 min taxi ride will bring you to the famous ShiLin night market.

Overall, I'd stay here again if only for the great location and warm hospitality.

Room Tip: high floor and non smoking rooms will get you a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infinitium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    300
    67
    18
    7
See reviews for
214
99
46
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The room was very comfortable, and the service staff was very friendly. The concierge was able to recommend several restaurants when asked and helped to reserve a table at Ding Tai Fung, Xinyi so there was minimal waiting. Hotel buffet breakfast is alright but pricey if you did not book it with the room. There aren't many breakfast options in the immediate vicinity but do try this soya bean curd place called Hong Ji recommended by the hotel. It is about 10 minutes walk or 75 TWD by taxi. My nephew also left his stuff toy behind when we left for alishan and the hotel staff was very kind to send it to the singapore airline counter at taoyuan airport and this really made his day. Because we took the taxi, we found the location to be good but if you are thinking of taking the train, it is not that convenient. The experience will be better if the rooms came with free wifi. Other than this, i highly recommend the sherwood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toffeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed one night and had a great experience. Was originally confused and thought it was "Sheraton", but it looks like they combined the Sheraton and Starwood name instead of making up their own, lol.

Still, it was a great experience
- Super friendly service, everyone was smiling and they offered to walk me to my room, show me around the hotel, book my shuttle, etc, all on a busy evening,
- Fast service, brought up iron, board, toothpaste, everything very quick
- Very nice room, amenities and facilities
- Breakfast Buffet has a great selection of Chinese and Western food

Amazing place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sum1akaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

It was off to a bad start when we arrived. I called ahead to inform of our arrival time. We were told to come back in an hour. When we did, we were told it still wasnt ready and to come back in 30 mins. So we did. Came back to be told it still wasnt ready. I complained and they upgraded my room to the Jr suite. 20th floor. Room was big and spacious. Hallway from front door led to the loungeroom. Which led into the bedroom to the left. Entrance to the bathroom from the hallway or the bedroom. Clean, modern and luxurious. Marble in the bathroom. Japanese electric toilet. Designer soaps and shampoos. Comfortable bed and pillows. You can have a very good nights sleep on this! Great views from the bedroom and lounge. Comfortable furniture all round. Gym and pool facilities on the 20th floor are world class. Hotel restaurant is great. Breakfast buffet like no other. Huge range and excelent quality. Problem is there is too much to choose from, so you might not get to try the amazing food Taiwan has to offer outside of the hotel...holidaying? Try din tai fung, museum, Taipei 101 and the bookstore. I really liked the hotel but i need to take off a point for checkin

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I never wrote a review for a hotel stay but I feel compelled to do so about Sheerwood. If you are looking for the best hotel service in town, Sheerwood is the one. Coming form the United States, it is hard to get this kind of service even in St Regis. Everyone is so warm, friendly, inviting and respectful, and they take care of your needs before you even think of to ask. Every request is met with a timely service and a great smile. The executive room we stayed is HUGE, and the bathroom comes with a very powerful shower, a gigantic and deep tub, and a make-up mirror. What more can you ask for? The things that really mattered; they got it. The hotel itself might be a bit older than other hip ones due to its age but in my opinion it is the service that creates all whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment you go through the doors this hotel has quality written all over it, but in a quite efficient almost gentile way. The rooms are all a good size and well laid out. The restaurants serve a good mix of local and European food. The gym and pool are a good standard. One weakness is perhaps the breakfast room which can be a bit frenetic. Overall on my trips to Asia its a hotel I look forwrd to staying at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJRHolbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
212 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just the entrance and lobby alone are worth the visit...what a beautiful hotel. The garden next to it is quiet and a nice place to sit for a bit and look at the topiary trees and sculpture done by Henry Moore. The attention to detail was wonderful here, always ready to open doors, say hello and make sure their guests were looked after.

The rooms are huge and bright. Big shower, bathtub with salts, bathrobe and slippers. Huge vanity to put your toiletries on...and a E'Loo toilet. Desk, comfortable chair to sit at and work, large t.v., coffee making, bar fridge, safe, lovely comfortable bed to sleep in and chair and ottoman to relax in.

The breakfast was great but the seafood buffet was the best...wow the variety was unbelievable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.0 mi away
The Landis Taipei
The Landis Taipei
#50 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#31 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
#74 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#38 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eclat Taipei
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#18 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#46 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherwood Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood Taipei

Property: The Sherwood Taipei
Address: No.111 Section 3, Minsheng East Road, Songshan Dist., Taipei 105, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#18 Business Hotel in Taipei
#28 Family Hotel in Taipei
#29 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherwood Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1990, when we first started offering world-class hospitality to those visiting our city, there were very few globally recognized 5-star hotels in Taipei. The Sherwood has now become the top-choice in Taipei for renowned political and business figures from across the world.From the day the hotel was established in 1990 it has been a tradition that we welcome our guests as if they were family. The moment you step into The Sherwood, you will be warmly greeted by the smiling faces of our receptionists and you receive a personal room key that makes you feel right at home. The guestrooms are sensibly separated from the restaurants and other public areas by room guest elevators and your are ensured a tranquil, safe and comfortable stay.The Sherwood is the only Taiwanese member of the Leading Hotels of the World, and we have been featured in international travel magazines such as Travel & Leisure, Business Traveler, Asia Money and Review Asia. Our art collection, which is a tasteful fusion of Western and Chinese elements, evokes feelings similar to those gained when browsing through a gallery of the world’s masterpieces.We offer luxury treatment at The Sherwood Spa on the 20th floor and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access in addition to access to our complimentary Executive Business Center, gym and warm indoor pool.The Sherwood is located in the Taipei financial center and shopping hub, near the unique and artistic Minsheng Community and just a ten-minute drive from Songshan Airport. The hotel is within easy access of the city via the MRT Wenhu Line or the highway system that will take you to sights all across the island. We promise to keep you in touch with the world as well as connect you to every part of the island via the extensive Taiwan transportation network.The Sherwood Taipei: Your Taste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sherwood Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Taipei Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Hotel Taipei
The Sherwood Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing