We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in taipei”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sherwood Taipei
Ranked #50 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in taipei”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

It was off to a bad start when we arrived. I called ahead to inform of our arrival time. We were told to come back in an hour. When we did, we were told it still wasnt ready and to come back in 30 mins. So we did. Came back to be told it still wasnt ready. I complained and they upgraded my room to the Jr suite. 20th floor. Room was big and spacious. Hallway from front door led to the loungeroom. Which led into the bedroom to the left. Entrance to the bathroom from the hallway or the bedroom. Clean, modern and luxurious. Marble in the bathroom. Japanese electric toilet. Designer soaps and shampoos. Comfortable bed and pillows. You can have a very good nights sleep on this! Great views from the bedroom and lounge. Comfortable furniture all round. Gym and pool facilities on the 20th floor are world class. Hotel restaurant is great. Breakfast buffet like no other. Huge range and excelent quality. Problem is there is too much to choose from, so you might not get to try the amazing food Taiwan has to offer outside of the hotel...holidaying? Try din tai fung, museum, Taipei 101 and the bookstore. I really liked the hotel but i need to take off a point for checkin

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    324
    69
    18
    7
See reviews for
228
110
51
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I never wrote a review for a hotel stay but I feel compelled to do so about Sheerwood. If you are looking for the best hotel service in town, Sheerwood is the one. Coming form the United States, it is hard to get this kind of service even in St Regis. Everyone is so warm, friendly, inviting and respectful, and they take care of your needs before you even think of to ask. Every request is met with a timely service and a great smile. The executive room we stayed is HUGE, and the bathroom comes with a very powerful shower, a gigantic and deep tub, and a make-up mirror. What more can you ask for? The things that really mattered; they got it. The hotel itself might be a bit older than other hip ones due to its age but in my opinion it is the service that creates all whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment you go through the doors this hotel has quality written all over it, but in a quite efficient almost gentile way. The rooms are all a good size and well laid out. The restaurants serve a good mix of local and European food. The gym and pool are a good standard. One weakness is perhaps the breakfast room which can be a bit frenetic. Overall on my trips to Asia its a hotel I look forwrd to staying at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJRHolbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just the entrance and lobby alone are worth the visit...what a beautiful hotel. The garden next to it is quiet and a nice place to sit for a bit and look at the topiary trees and sculpture done by Henry Moore. The attention to detail was wonderful here, always ready to open doors, say hello and make sure their guests were looked after.

The rooms are huge and bright. Big shower, bathtub with salts, bathrobe and slippers. Huge vanity to put your toiletries on...and a E'Loo toilet. Desk, comfortable chair to sit at and work, large t.v., coffee making, bar fridge, safe, lovely comfortable bed to sleep in and chair and ottoman to relax in.

The breakfast was great but the seafood buffet was the best...wow the variety was unbelievable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everyone spoke English, and offered assistance with anything required. Room was very comfortable with good bed (a bit hard for my taste but acceptable), nice comfy chair for TV watching, desk area for work, and a gorgeous bathroom. The breakfast buffet was enormous and had both Western and Asian fare. Several restaurants within a block or two which had excellent food, and a Starbucks on the corner for your morning coffee fix. About 1/2 hour away from the airport so a taxi will cost you about 1200 TWD one way, but worth the drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin_TexasRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel, very nice staff. They upgraded us to a suite upon arrival. It was my husband's birthday and they delivered a cake and nice card from the staff. Very attentive to details. Pricey, but located in a very nice area with lots of local restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay there again. However, do NOT take the Taiwan Bus Tour from the hotel (not part of the hotel, but the concierge can arrange). HORRIBLE experience with them...trying to leave a review for them to help travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJC_travel_gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

During a business roundtrip through Asia I stayed one night in The Sherwood. It is conveniently located from our local Taipei office (2 blocks down). That is the reason I stayed there. For more action and for tourists a hotel more in the area of the "101" tower is maybe a better choice, although prices will be higher in that area. Breakfast was good and around €15. Service was good and personnel friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay in The Sherwood again. Although the meeting I had in the "W" hotel also made me curious to stay there at least once.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.4 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,893 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Landis Taipei
The Landis Taipei
#55 of 571 in Taipei
842 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#44 of 571 in Taipei
1,509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gloria Residence
Gloria Residence
#34 of 571 in Taipei
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherwood Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood Taipei

Property: The Sherwood Taipei
Address: No.111 Section 3, Minsheng East Road, Songshan Dist., Taipei 105, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#18 Business Hotel in Taipei
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#28 Family Hotel in Taipei
#29 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherwood Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1990, when we first started offering world-class hospitality to those visiting our city, there were very few globally recognized 5-star hotels in Taipei. The Sherwood has now become the top-choice in Taipei for renowned political and business figures from across the world.From the day the hotel was established in 1990 it has been a tradition that we welcome our guests as if they were family. The moment you step into The Sherwood, you will be warmly greeted by the smiling faces of our receptionists and you receive a personal room key that makes you feel right at home. The guestrooms are sensibly separated from the restaurants and other public areas by room guest elevators and your are ensured a tranquil, safe and comfortable stay.The Sherwood is the only Taiwanese member of the Leading Hotels of the World, and we have been featured in international travel magazines such as Travel & Leisure, Business Traveler, Asia Money and Review Asia. Our art collection, which is a tasteful fusion of Western and Chinese elements, evokes feelings similar to those gained when browsing through a gallery of the world’s masterpieces.We offer luxury treatment at The Sherwood Spa on the 20th floor and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access in addition to access to our complimentary Executive Business Center, gym and warm indoor pool.The Sherwood is located in the Taipei financial center and shopping hub, near the unique and artistic Minsheng Community and just a ten-minute drive from Songshan Airport. The hotel is within easy access of the city via the MRT Wenhu Line or the highway system that will take you to sights all across the island. We promise to keep you in touch with the world as well as connect you to every part of the island via the extensive Taiwan transportation network.The Sherwood Taipei: Your Taste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sherwood Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Taipei Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Hotel Taipei
The Sherwood Hotel Taipei
Sherwood Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing