We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Ranked #49 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Professional and quality”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a high quality business hotel in a pleasant area, with plenty of shopping around and is a 5-10 mins walk to the Zhongshan MTR station. The Taipei Main Station is a little further away but still within a walk-able distance.

The staff we met were all very professional and spoke excellent English.

The room we stayed in was of a good size and was modern and clean. The bathroom was bright and spacious. There was a hotel gym and it was adequate. There was also a roof-top pool that is opened only in certain months.

The Mitsukoshi department store (3 buildings) was very close to the hotel with many food options.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleYarYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our location, guest room, and staff service.

Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    384
    60
    6
    5
See reviews for
310
190
85
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have had a very comfortable stay here, in our Superior room, for which we paid US$170 a night. Our room is a reasonable size, has a leafy outlook, and is clean and comfortable. Our room is quiet, the beds comfortable, although a 'pillow menu' would be nice- not everyone likes feather pillows.
As other reviewers have stated, staff are keen to please- nothing is too much trouble.

Like all 4-5 star hotels, food outlets are expensive, and we haven't used the hotel dining room. US$8 for a cappuccino is more than I want to pay, anywhere.

A number of other reviews tend to be misleading about room details.
If you book a standard (aka 'superior' room) it will offer:
1 a double bed not a king size- I'd recommend the twin option
2 basic hotel toiletries, not L'Occitane
3 a regular sized room and bathroom, with a shower over a small bath

That said, the hotel is comfortable, and in a great location about 5 minutes walk from the nearest MRT, and on an airport bus route (though a slow one).

Although it has been 28 degrees during our stay, the small rooftop pool has no water in it. The sign advises NO DIVING! I should think not!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impossible50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to know that the overall quality of your stay was satisfactory.

However, with regard to pillow preference, choices of hard pillow, memory foam pillow, and other pillow types are available at our hotel. We apologies for the inconvenience caused. In the future, please feel free to contact our front desk or housekeeping staff for assistance. Furthermore, we are sorry you were unable to utilize the our rooftop swimming pool despite the summery weather. The pool facilities are open from May to September.

Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and I am very happy I booked here.

Upon our arrival to Taoyuan Airport, we were greeted by a hotel representative who led us to our service vehicle.

The ride was a relaxing 45 minutes. The driver was very friendly and introduced us to Taipei.

We got to the hotel before lunch and were very happy to be able to check in early.

The premier king room was big, had simple modern interiors and complete amenities.
Wifi was free. Loved the Japanese heated toilet seat!

The room was very clean although the carpet was a bit worn out.

The hotel is around 5 minutes away by foot to Zhongshang station which is 1 station away to Taipei main station ( You can go anywhere from there! The MRT is very easy to understand and cheap!)

Restaurants of all types are around the area and shopping malls and stores are everywhere. High end designer brands are just outside the hotel and Mitsokoshi is beside the Zhong Shang station.

Must try restaurants are Ippudo for ramen and Melange Cafe for breakfast and sandwiches. Prepare to wait though as lines can be long especially during the peak hours.

My husband, son and I want to go back to Taipei and will definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!
We are delighted to know that the overall quality of your stay was satisfactory.
However, with regard to the worn our carpet, we would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great Hotel over all. Obviously more catering toward the Japanese tourist but great anyone. Everything was clean and well renovated and the room was comfortable. I especially loved the high tech Japanese toilet seats with warmers etc... that came with the room. (that was a pleasant surprise). The location is great too next to many restaurants and a shopping mall and the metro within a short walk. The stat was super friendly and helpful and my only complaint is that the Concierge sent me to 7-11 to buy a new SIM for my phone insisting I could buy one there which was not true and I ended up on a wild goose chase trying to find one. good stuff overall tho!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bed-lessBirthdayBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our location, guest room, and staff service.
However, we would like to apologize for the incorrect information concerning where SIM card is available for purchase.

7-11 is licensed to sell SIM card to locals only. For foreigners, SIM card can be bought at telecommunications offices nearby or at the airport, with valid passports.

Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Should you have any further comments for improvement, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Based on my travel agent & tripadvisor comments, my wife & I ('I')chose this hotel for our recent concluded CNY trip to Taipei. Good experience throughout the stay.

Location: Just very convenient to get to MRT ZhongShan. Approximately 3-5 minutes walk. Just doorsteps from the MRT, you have got yourself large department stores, Sin-Kong-F...... 3 blocks, yes I mean 1,2,3 blocks side by side. You got food, entertainment........Check it out yourself. For those who really love high end branded stuff, just doorsteps from hotel, you have gotten yourself many shops of Loui votton..........even second hand shop for Loui Votton.....I cant really spelt them as i was not into branded things. EXCELLENT location

Hotel Service: from room service to breakfast, gosh! Just top notched. The kindness, friendliness of housekeeping staff, from slight problems with door lock to daily cleaning, SUPER fast. Within minutes of alerting the front office, 3 personals already attending my room lock issues....How's that! I have been to many hotels, this so far the best without doubt. Excellent Service.

Hotel Room: Admittedly it is kind of small, but comfortable. If you wouldn't mind, you could always try the upgrading.....Huh Huh! Good room.

Breakfast: As this hotel caters lots of Japanese clienteles, so breakfast choices have been extended to Japanese, oriental plus western varieties..... If you like health concious breakfast, this is good choice.

Having said all these, just would like to extend our sincere appreciation towards housekeeping staffs of nineth floor during our stay during 12-16Feb. Keep it up, the management......all the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!
It is delightful to hear that we were able to provide all the services deemed necessary for a quality stay.

However, with regard to the door lock trouble, we would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We are relieved to know the issue was resolved promptly without compromising your stay.

Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

By far one of the most welcoming, comfortable stays in a hotel yet. All staff went the extra mile to help us at every given opportunity. The rooms were extremely comfortable and decor modern and made you feel at home. The location is excellent and very close to Zhongshan metro station. A wonderful stay and we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!
We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our location, guest room, and service.
Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Room was great - clean and well furnished. Not decadently luxurious but very premium. Especially like the L'occitane toiletries.

Transport - The nearest train station is just 5 min away near the SOGO departmental store. Cabs are a breeze to hail from outside the hotel.

There is no lack of dining options around the hotel (tip: Japan's famous ramen joint Ippudo is round the corner!). Massage joints are aplenty too.

Others: I had a mix up in my booking - made a double booking through Agoda.com and even though there was a strict no refund policy, the reservations manager make special effort to get me a partial waiver (on the flip side, agoda.com was completely nonchalant and unhelpful). That was the difference between a great and disastrous holiday.

Only gripe is that the hotel is far from the centre of action - where Taipei101 is. But all in, a happy experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superbova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our room and amenities.

Also, we hope the double booking incident has not compromised your travel; it is a relief to know the issue has been resolved relatively smoothly.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#22 of 575 in Taipei
1,984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
#83 of 575 in Taipei
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Want Residences
San Want Residences
#17 of 575 in Taipei
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.5 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#43 of 575 in Taipei
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei

Property: Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Address: No.37-1, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is managed by JAL Hotels Company Limited, an international hotel chain operating under Nikko Hotel International.The hotel is located on Chung Shan North Road, in the heart of Taipei’s commercial district, which is suitable for both business and leisure travelers. It is 45 minutes from Taoyuan International Airport by car, 15 minutes from SongShan International Airport by car, and 3 minutes from MRT Chung Shan Station on foot.The hotel is a 12-storied structure with 3 basements. There are 202 exquisite guest rooms and suites, all furnished with internet access and auto wash toilet. The hotel was remodeled by Kumei Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company. The fusion of modernistic European architecture and unique oriental ambience has earned high international reputation. In additional, there are three dining establishment, namely all-day dining restaurant “Le Café”, Japanese restaurant “Nakayama”, and Cantonese restaurant “Ming Court”, as well as a bakery, lounge, meeting room, and other facilities. With its top-notch facilities and services, Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei has received five-star certification by Taiwan Tourism Bureau in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing