We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Ranked #45 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

By far one of the most welcoming, comfortable stays in a hotel yet. All staff went the extra mile to help us at every given opportunity. The rooms were extremely comfortable and decor modern and made you feel at home. The location is excellent and very close to Zhongshan metro station. A wonderful stay and we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!
We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our location, guest room, and service.
Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 961 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Room was great - clean and well furnished. Not decadently luxurious but very premium. Especially like the L'occitane toiletries.

Transport - The nearest train station is just 5 min away near the SOGO departmental store. Cabs are a breeze to hail from outside the hotel.

There is no lack of dining options around the hotel (tip: Japan's famous ramen joint Ippudo is round the corner!). Massage joints are aplenty too.

Others: I had a mix up in my booking - made a double booking through Agoda.com and even though there was a strict no refund policy, the reservations manager make special effort to get me a partial waiver (on the flip side, agoda.com was completely nonchalant and unhelpful). That was the difference between a great and disastrous holiday.

Only gripe is that the hotel is far from the centre of action - where Taipei101 is. But all in, a happy experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superbova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our room and amenities.

Also, we hope the double booking incident has not compromised your travel; it is a relief to know the issue has been resolved relatively smoothly.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Going to this hotel from airport by bus is easy, taking NO 2061 and cross the road, you will reach it, and only cost TWD 90 per person. If heading to airport, the bus stop is just 10m from the main door (on the right). They used L'OCCITANE for shampoo, bedding gel etc. and what I liked is the bed. It is really comfortable. Also the free internet access. I will surely come back again when I visit Taipei again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fewGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!
We are delighted to hear that we have been able to provide services deemed necessary for a quality stay.

In particular, we are pleased that you liked our bed and free internet access.

Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in premier room. The room decor is soft and gentle so we feel really cosy. The size of the room is not very big but ambience is good. The hotel neighbourhood is lined up with lots of expensive goods. Very nice area.

Breakfast is interesting as it has a lot of Japanese style breakfast choice, something you don't get all the time.

The gym is decent not big.

The in-room massage is quite nice. Should definitely try when they have promotion.

Hotel staff is very friendly and tried to help us to locate an address outside Taipei. We thought this was a very nice gesture of them. We will stay here again for next visit. It is also very close to the station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pestosalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!
We are delighted to hear that we have been able to provide services deemed necessary for a quality stay.

In particular, we are pleased to know that you liked our in-room massage.
Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Initially tried to book our room through the hotel's own website and failed. No rooms. Tried on booking site Agoda and got a room. Arrived at hotel and were refused the double twin room we had booked. The hotel had apparently sold out the type of room we booked and renovated the rest of the twin double rooms recently. The hotel management informed us that we would have to pay an extra 3000 Taiwan dollars (US$110) a night for if we wanted the room that we had originally booked. When we refused the upgrade price first went down to 1500, then 1200, then 1000, then the absolute final price of 800 and then the best price I could offer my uncle of 600 before finally they called us in our room with the front office manager's price of Taiwan Dollar 500. Hello people are you running a hotel or selling fish at a night market? When I asked to speak to the front office manager, the manager was unavailable due to a very important meeting. We spent an uncomfortable first night, me trying not to fall off a bed smaller than a standard queen with my ample 6 foot 300 pound frame. The bed was old and offered very little support. They showed us a number of alternative rooms and we moved to a room with a slightly bigger and newer bed. They promised to contact Agoda to sort out the miscommunication which never happened. Instead we got a small box of moon cakes, compliments of the management. They could have either changed our room, which would have been the appropriate hotelier course of action as rooms were available or replaced the bed in our room with two twin beds. Nobody could be bothered though and instead they chose to try and maximize their profit rather then make the guest happy. Housekeeping was pretty good except for the times when the housekeeper prioritized their time and breaks and postponed cleaning our room. A housekeeper decided to disregard the "Do Not Disturb Sign" and called from the next door to inform me that she was ready to clean the room. When the highly esteemed housekeeper was asked to clean the room later on in the afternoon, said esteemed housekeeper tried to negotiate "early afternoon time" of cleaning! Don't you teach and train your staff what "Do Not Disturb" means? Despite the hotel being a "Non Smoking" facility we woke up several times at night and early in the mornings during our second week to intense cigarette smoke burning our throats and tearing our eyes in our room. Informed the highly esteemed management of the inconvenience! Said inconvenience continued albeit at lower levels of smell for another two days until the culprit two doors down checked out! The rooms have paper thin walls and little sound insulation. You can clearly hear the guy next door clearing his throat and getting ready to dispose of the throat blocking "Content". Which brings us to another highly respectable management practice. Why would you book short term guests staying 1-2 nights on floors with long term guests knowing full well that guests arriving at 01.00 hours in the morning would "inconvenience" the other guests? To the most respected highly important management of the hotel, these are small nuances that are picked up with experience managing hotels. Furthermore you may find it in your good heart to visit room 1124. There are three drill holes, two above the mirror and one next to the shower head which are just gaping holes. Most people in their homes and all hotels I have been associated with would cover up these holes. Dear esteemed hotel management company, you take an identical piece of marble and grate a part of it down to fine dust and add adhesive and a little bit of color to match the tile and apply the putty to gaping drill hole mistakenly drilled.Now to the good. A concierge can make or break a hotel. The concierge service was excellent. Concierge Robert Liu is definitely manager material. I would start him off with a night manager position where he can use his problem solving skills before sliding him into a higher managerial position. Five stars! The front office employees spoke good English and were extremely helpful. Five stars! Housekeeping with some exceptions Five Stars! Good people make good hotels. Japanese toilet (With Japanese only instructions) Five stars!. "Change My Bedsheets" card with save the environment message depicting photo of whale, a priceless Five Stars! I will most definitely return next year and I want to see what happened to room 1124! Shie shie.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share your comment about our hotel. We hereby express our gratitude for your comments as well as apologies for the numerous aggrieving incidents you have encountered during your stay.

First of all, in the matter of your reservation, confirmed for a superior double room with twin beds on request, we are exceeding sorry we could not accommodate your request due to fully occupied superior twin rooms. Regarding the surcharges for room upgrade, we ensure you that surcharges will be conveyed more clearly in the future.

Secondly, we would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory quality of our guest room. We have immediately asked related departments to handle the issues of bed, cigarette smoke, sound insulation, and holes in the bathroom. Furthermore, we will more discrete with housekeeping schedule and respect our guests’ instructions.

Thank you again for staying with us and imparting constructive comments. It is through feedback from esteemed guests that we are able to continuously elevate the quality of our services and facilities. Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed 2 nights on business and was very happy with the service and the room. They gave me a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite at no extra charge - I think the hotel was fully booked. The room design would be perfect for families traveling with older children, it was definitely more space than I needed! The staff were extremely courteous and helpful throughout my stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank econiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengantzu, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!

We are delighted to hear that our location, comfort, services, and price have been satisfactory.

We genuinely appreciate each and every guest for their recognition of our persevering effort to upscale our services and facilities.

Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Booked the Taipei Royal hotel for my first time visit in Taipei; definitely a nice place.

Most of the hotel guests were Japanese, as the hotel targets them, which you'll definitely notice in the choice of breakfast options. Great quality food and a nice change from the standard breakfasts in most hotels. Good variation of food though, so you'll also find your usual selection of bread and pastries.

Very clean and comfortable rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff, just a nice nice place to stay.

Maybe one remark; the gym area is rather limited, but that's of course only for those travellers wanting to have a good work out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetitGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our breakfast menu, guest room, and staff.

Regarding the limited gym area, we have notified your comment to related departments and future upgrades will be taken into consideration.

We genuinely appreciate each and every guest for their recognition of our persevering effort to upscale our services and facilities.

Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#501 of 587 in Taipei
2,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#39 of 587 in Taipei
1,855 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sherwood Taipei
The Sherwood Taipei
#50 of 587 in Taipei
982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
#90 of 587 in Taipei
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei

Address: No.37-1, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $158 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is the first international chain hotel managed by Nikko Hotels International in Taiwan. This hotel operates under Okura Nikko Hotel Management Company Limited. The hotel is located on Chung Shan North Road, in the heart of Taipei's commercial district, which is suitable for both business and leisure travelers. It is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan International Airport, a 15-minute drive from Taipei SongShan Airport , and a 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. The hotel is a 12-story structure with 3 basement levels. There are 202 exquisite guest rooms and suites, all furnished with Wi-Fi internet. The hotel was renovated in 2017, providing brand new guest rooms for the customers. The poised, off-white base tone is designed to elicit a tranquil air and homely comfort. The fusion of modernistic European architecture and unique oriental ambience, as well as urban convenience and exquisite Japanese-style hospitality has earned high in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing