We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Ranked #46 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place is a Japanese Nikko hotel. It is lovely, clean and well managed. All of the staff we encountered were smiling, courteous and very helpful - everyone spoke English, yay! The rooms are well appointed and roomy and quite comfortable. The breakfast buffet was terrific with lots of Asian, Japanese and western choices. Loved the espresso machines. And, the multi-course lunch at the hotel's Nakayama Japanese restaurant was absolutely fabulous and not outrageously expensive. Even, liked the great gift shop in the basement level. I liked the location and could walk to a lot of places and easily access the train system. The hotel is all nonsmoking, so I was told. Great for me and my family!

The extremely upscale mall practically next door had oodles of things to drool over and a great food court and wine bar. The stores in the underground metro had the more affordable stuff with lots of touristy things mixed with some really interesting Taiwanese vendors - all within walking distance of this hotel. And Mos Burger is only a few doors down - yum! Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We trust that you have had a memorable time in Taipei with your family.

We are ecstatic to hear that your stay has been a satisfactory one. We are relieved that you have not experienced too much language barrier, as we understand communication can be challenging in foreign countries. It is particularly pleasing to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our restaurants. Since our opening we have strived to satisfy the exacting palates and preferences of today’s cosmopolitan travelers.

We genuinely appreciate each and every guest for their recognition of our persevering effort to upscale our services and facilities. Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    369
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
295
173
80
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel after our trip from Yilan where we stayed at Hotel Royal as well. There is a shuttle bus service from Yilan Royal Hotel to this hotel which is very convenient. The rooms are also very clean and well-renovated. Both hotels use same toilet amenities but less in Taipei. It is just a 10 minutes' walk to the Zhongshan MRT station. There are many restaurants nearby and a big shopping mall which is just above the station. We took taxi to the tourist spots such as National Palace Museum and Mucha Zoo. For other spots like 101 Mall, Eslite Bookstore etc we travelled easily by MRT. The hotel staff is very polite and efficient during check-in and check-out. Overall the hotel gave me good impression and value worth at a very reasonable price.
However when we were heading for airport, instead of taking us to the taxi just waited in the queue, the hotel staff shoved us to the small lane whereby there was a taxi waiting there. When we asked, why he said the taxi is bigger and price will be the same. Unfortunately this is not true as we have been to Taipei many times and apparently the hotel staff and this taxi driver have pre-agreement to have some share. We asked the driver to stop the taxi so we could take another taxi. Finally he agreed to cut the price down to normal taxi price. We have stayed in many 5 or 4 star hotels in Taipei before but never have we encountered this kind of incident. That really gave us a bad impression on Taiwan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goforholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at both Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi at Yilan and Hotel Royal Taipei! Also, we are truly grateful to you for taking the time and the trouble to share your valuable comments with us.

It is unfortunate that your pleasant stay has been somewhat compromised by the taxi incident. We are exceeding sorry for the isolated indiscretion. In the future, we endeavor to be extra meticulous in monitoring service quality in all areas at all time. Should you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us. It is through feedback from esteemed guests that we are able to continuously elevate the quality of our services and facilities.

Thank you again for staying with us and imparting constructive feedback. We genuinely hope you will always grant Taiwan a favorable impression!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at the Nikko Royal Hotel at Easter for 4 days. The hotel is in a great location and close to some nice restaurants. We had 2 rooms both very decorated with clean and comfortable beds. The bathroom wall seemed weird at first but once you work it out it's great. The buffet breakfast was also great with a wide selection of western, Japanese and Asian cuisine. Overall a great boutique style hotel with friendly staff. Would recommend and will stay at again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddie_ku, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to hear that your stay has been pleasant and comfortable. We understand you were puzzled over our bathroom wall, but to our relief it did not seem to have caused excessive disturbance. In the future, if you have any inquiries about our services and facilities, please do not hesitate to contact the staff. We are more than happy to be of your assistance!

We genuinely appreciate each and every guest for their recognition of our persevering effort to upscale our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

One of the smaller top-ranking hotels in central Taipei, but more user-friendly and with better service as a result. A convenient location 5 mins from the metro along shop-lined streets. Reasonable price for a spacious, well-equipped room. Limited western-style choices at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Classy JAL styled hotel. Popular with Japanese tourists. Some rooms are quite small and simple.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santonle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Royal twice recently (Nov. and Dec. 2011) and recommend the hotel for the clean room, energetic service, and delicious food at the restaurants. I read reviews for this and other Taipei hotels and find the good reviews for the Royal are on accurate.

I've stayed in what I believe is the basic room for nearly 4 weeks and getting ready for another stay. The shower is a unique room that has glass walls and includes a tub. The rooms are meticulously clean - I don't know how long it takes to clean the glass for the showers. The room isn't huge, but is does have a working desk and nice lounge chair.

The wait staff in the restaurant works hard and keeps up refilling water glasses and removing dirty dishes. The food is delicious and the buffet has a great variety. I think the price for a full meal with salad, entree, and desert choices is a very good deal.

The gym has a variety of machines for treadmill, cycle, and weights. There area also free weights available. I rate it as very good and better than another premium Taipei hotel I stayed at that only had one universal weight machine and nothing else.

There is also a very good bakery in the lobby. Awesome Sacher Torte and croissants. The price is reasonable compared to the top quality.

The only drawbacks are:
1) the buffet area may be reserved for a party and there are no signs. The wait staff Enlish is limited and you think that there are no tables at that time, but they mean not at all that night.
2) There are only about a half dozen English cable channels, which is probably good for a foreign country. I just wish there were more including ESPN.

Overall it is at a 5 star hotel based on service and attention and the accomodations are 4.5 star.

Room Tip: The main road in front of the hotel can have some road noise. I did not hear it after closing the cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

be careful when you make bookings for hotel royal taipei! the no-cancellation bookings don't mean hotel royal can't cancel your booking!!

a few months ago, we made a booking at hotel royal taipei through agoda for 6 nights during the christmas/new year's eve period....they took the full amount of the booking from my bank account and we then received an email confirmation with a specific note saying they wouldn't refund the money if we cancelled....

a few days ago, they (through agoda) called us and with no apology, told us they were cancelling the booking and our choices were either to be moved to a worse hotel or take a refund....we booked for 6 nights over the new years eve period and there is nothing else available! we have no idea what to do now, and we fly out in a week and a half!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank WasabiMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#28 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#29 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
#74 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Want Residences
San Want Residences
#13 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#49 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sherwood Taipei
The Sherwood Taipei
#44 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei

Property: Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Address: No.37-1, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is managed by JAL Hotels Company Limited, an international hotel chain operating under Nikko Hotel International.The hotel is located on Chung Shan North Road, in the heart of Taipei’s commercial district, which is suitable for both business and leisure travelers. It is 45 minutes from Taoyuan International Airport by car, 15 minutes from SongShan International Airport by car, and 3 minutes from MRT Chung Shan Station on foot.The hotel is a 12-storied structure with 3 basements. There are 202 exquisite guest rooms and suites, all furnished with internet access and auto wash toilet. The hotel was remodeled by Kumei Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company. The fusion of modernistic European architecture and unique oriental ambience has earned high international reputation. In additional, there are three dining establishment, namely all-day dining restaurant “Le Café”, Japanese restaurant “Nakayama”, and Cantonese restaurant “Ming Court”, as well as a bakery, lounge, meeting room, and other facilities. With its top-notch facilities and services, Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei has received five-star certification by Taiwan Tourism Bureau in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing