We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Great Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Ranked #50 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This is a newly renovated, modern hotel. The rooms are clean and very quiet. We paid an average of $150/night and upon check in they offered an upgrade special for another $17/night. I don't think this deal can be beat for a hotel of this quality. There is a small gym and rooftop pool and also has free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddiesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 902 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is my first review giving a hotel 5 stars. Hotel Royal Taipei has a 5 star boutique hotel feel with rooms so comfortable, you might be tempted to spend your entire trip in your hotel room.

POSITIVES:
Top notch Japanese trained staff
Quality bedding: Feather pillows/Down comforter
Japanese Toilet!
Well maintained/new quality finishes/construction/detailed lighting
Robe/Slippers/complimentary bottled water
Quiet room
double door room entrance for noise control
5 min brisk walk or 7 min leisurely walk to MTR
Central location: One stop from Taipei Main Station
Surrounded by high end designer shops: Gucci, LV, YSL...
20 min walk to night market
Western bed with pillow top
Biggest bang for your buck hotel
Complimentary internet w strong signal

NEGATIVES:
Bath tub is more narrow then most

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooveestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

I was warned that hotels in Taipei are mostly old and in need of major reno. Beds are hard and cleaniness are sub-standards. I'm obsessed about cleaniness and researched extensively before deciding on Hotel Royal. I'm happy to report that my stay turned out extremely well! The hotel has just undergone a reno in Sep 2009 and everything from the lobby to the rooms are nice, bright, modern and clean! I stayed in a Premier King with hubby and kids aged 7 and 3. I thought I would need an extra bed which would have cost an additional $50 per night but the king sized bed was sooo huge! Toilet was very clean, shower hose could be detached and it was a breeze to bathe the kids. The WC was located separatedly in another side and came with heated cover! Such a nice facility in cold winter! Room had individual Wifi, which means the signal was strong and we could surf the net/whatsapp for free every night. My only 'complaint' was hotel wasn't as near to Zhongshan MRT as I would have like it to be. It was walking distance, but I would have love for it to be nearer since by the time we came back to the hotel every evening, the kids would be dead tired and the younger one often needed to be carried once we alighted from the MRT. I paid $200 per night without breakfast on hotels.com, definitely worth it! Oh, there's a great MOS burger just around the corner, on the way to the MRT, eat your breakfast here if your room comes without it, the breaky here is cheap and v good!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Didn't know this hotel is related to Nikko, I suppose Japanese hotel traing is the best in the world just like that Chinese hotel in Qingdao, service was impeccable, place is so clean and tidy, food was so good, I have no conplains except for no heat in the lobby, it was so cold.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We were warmly greeted by the bell boy when we reached Royal Hotel, Taipei on 28 Nov 2010 and my first impression of the hotel lobby was clean & nicely renovated. My premier king room is on the 8 level, roomy with two joined super single bed (jumbo size) that fitted us & my 2 years old. The toilet is separated from the shower/bathing area which I personally preferred. ^_^ We took our dinner at Ming Chinese Restrn service was great.

The only bad service is at Royal Bakery on level 1, the lady did not greet us(w/o looking at us) when we walked in & no smile is on her face while we were approaching her for some maracons on the display shelf.

Whereas for the location of the hotel is quite safe, maybe it was located a walking distance from the police station at the main traffic junction. And the nearest metro station is Zhongshan Station(Red line) only a 5 mins stroll and I noticed there are a number of Hair salons nearby. There was a mini night market(Ningsia Night market) from a distance about a 15-20 mins walk.

I will definitely stay in again during my next trip to Taipei.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night only in a Premier King Room. Luxurious room with comfortable bed. Glass walled bathroom, with wooden blinds. Separate toilet with Japanese heated toilet seat. Beautiful Japanese china teapot and cups to make tea. Safe, iron and board, and trouser press. Bathrobe and slippers. Free internet in room.

I wanted dinner at 8.45pm but buffet was winding down and looked tired, so I tried the Japanese Restaurant and thought it was very good. Breakfast buiffet had Chinese, Japanese and Western dishes. Good espresso coffee.

I found the rooftop pool to be staffed. I went for a swim at about 7.30am. On getting out of the pool I read a sign that said swimming hours are from 9am to 5pm, - but there were hotel staff there.

No problems with check-in/out. Lots of staff who are all very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank presdient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

My husband and I spent four nights at this hotel on our first trip to Taipei. It was absolutely wonderful, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was fantastic (clean and modern), and the location was perfect. 5 min walk to the Zhongshan station, which made for easy travel around the city. Enjoyed afternoons at the rooftop pool. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank targill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#21 of 574 in Taipei
2,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
#85 of 574 in Taipei
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.3 mi away
San Want Residences
San Want Residences
#20 of 574 in Taipei
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#43 of 574 in Taipei
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei

Address: No.37-1, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $165 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is the first international chain hotel managed by Nikko Hotels International in Taiwan. This hotel operates under Okura Nikko Hotel Management Company Limited. The hotel is located on Chung Shan North Road, in the heart of Taipei's commercial district, which is suitable for both business and leisure travelers. It is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan International Airport, a 15-minute drive from Taipei SongShan Airport , and a 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. The hotel is a 12-story structure with 3 basement levels. There are 202 exquisite guest rooms and suites, all furnished with Wi-Fi internet. The hotel was renovated in 2017, providing brand new guest rooms for the customers. The poised, off-white base tone is designed to elicit a tranquil air and homely comfort. The fusion of modernistic European architecture and unique oriental ambience, as well as urban convenience and exquisite Japanese-style hospitality has earned high in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing