We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxuriously comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #17 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in this newly renovated hotel at the tail-end of an all-Taiwan tour. Although we had been lodged in Taiwan's best hotels in every city we visited, nothing could compare with the Shangri-La Far Eastern Plaza Hotel. Everything was 5-star luxury. From the helpful and polite doormen to the efficient attendants in the coffee shop, we were well-pampered through and through.

My father (aka The Old Curmudgeon) was very impressed with the training of the Housekeeping staff. He broke a glass in the washroom and called Housekeeping to ask for clean-up. He also wanted to warn them about the glass shards that the maid might encounter during regular room maintenance. The first response of the Housekeeping rep? She asked if my father was hurt or needed any medical assistance. What excellent and personal service!

We looked forward every day to the breakfast buffet. It offered a great selection of Western and Chinese dishes, including some upscale versions of typical Taiwanese breakfast food. We didn't have a chance to try any of the other hotel restaurants since we were too busy enjoying places like the famous original Ding Tai Fung not far away (T $18 by taxi). There's a shopping centre attached to the hotel and a 711 convenience store down the block.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gigis_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years and this has to be one of the best. We were picked up from the airport and everything from the pick up to checking in was seamless. Having wifi in the car was a bonus to get some work done, with a great check in by Tammy Wu (including an upsell to a more expensive room, which we were glad we did). Tammy looked after us exceptionally well during our stay, as did all the staff. It is obviously an excellent training program. We had access to the Lounge which was useful (especially to work), but were glad we tried the breakfast in the cafe downstairs which was great. We had a problem with wireless internet in our room, but was speedily fixed as soon as it was raised. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Caroline397,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It is uplifting to know that you will recommend Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei to your friends. Your compliments are highly appreciated and truly encouraging. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

After a long tiring day it was great to be greeted by warm staff at Shangri-la Far Eastern Plaza, a easy quick check-in and a well presented Super Clean room couldn't have been better. Breakfast was a real treat with high quality food on offer, from Business to leisure this is the place to say when traveling to Taipei Taiwan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StingerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a superb stay at this hotel. Their staffs are super attentive. Rooms are spacious, comfy with the stunning view of the Tapei 101 buildings. Even the bathrooms are spacious too. Love their swimming pool at roof floor, had a great experience watching the moon and stars while enjoying the jacuzzi.

The staffs at the horizon club lounge were very attentive that they remembered our special breakfast order and served our needs every morning during the 4 nights stays there. We were also amazed and surprised by a plate of complimentary welcome cakes that placed inside our rooms during one afternoon returning to the hotel from outside.

The staffs were informative and shared with us the ideas of what places to visit while giving us the morning greetings. Feeling warm and homey while staying there. Will come back again.

Room Tip: better view at upper floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Win555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Win555,

Thank you very much for choosing Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei as your home away from home. Your comments are highly appreciated. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our spacious rooms, recreation facilities and attentive services. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excellent experience with the hotel staff and accommodation

Rooms:
The room allocated to me has one of the best view. Full view of 101 building .
The room furnishing and the amenities used are five star rating.

Services:
hotel staffs are very polite and pleasant and willing to help and make your stay comfortable . An example : I was enquiring on a restaurant location the staff was very knowledgeable and based on pic could identified the restaurant that I am enquiring on and without asking he helped to make a reservation. Another excellent experience was at the hotel cafe which has good variety of food and beside that the staff were attentive . My colleague was sick so requested for ginger drink but was not available on the menu . The staff we spoke to , took her initiative to request the chef to prepare the ginger drink and knowing that we need to rush for our meeting she has kindly also packed extra ginger tea for my colleague to bring along with her.

Excellent !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wsSeoTho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear wsSeoTho,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time sharing your stay experience with us. It is uplifting to know that you are satisfied our facilities and services. Your compliments are highly appreciated and truly encouraging. Once again, we thank you for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our third stay as a family, and it was very nice to be recognised and welcomed back. The Hotel is going through some renovation it didn't bother us at all, the lobby is a little crowded but they are doing the best they can. My daughters loved the pool after a day out sightseeing, shopping and eating. The horizon lounge is enjoyable and the snacks and drinks are nice. The service was very good throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Taipei 101 are great
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnstonestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great hotel, great staff, great service.
Especially enjoy the breakfast buffet and the wonderful staff service!
Fitness Center is great, and really enjoyed tne sauna and steam rooms.
and that awesome rooftop pool!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank DarrylTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#21 of 573 in Taipei
2,099 reviews
W Taipei
#18 of 573 in Taipei
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#30 of 573 in Taipei
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $244 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing