We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love your hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #15 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love your hotel!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great hotel, great staff, great service.
Especially enjoy the breakfast buffet and the wonderful staff service!
Fitness Center is great, and really enjoyed tne sauna and steam rooms.
and that awesome rooftop pool!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank DarrylTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    342
    74
    22
    13
See reviews for
312
259
112
564
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is currently under renovation - ask for a room away from the noise. The Horizon lounge is delightful as are the new rooms. However, I experienced issues with shower (inadequate pressure and hot water) and air conditioning (moved twice). The lobby area is congested due to construction. The hotel team is lovely, however, I wish they had thought out a better experience during renovations.

Room Tip: Ask for a "newly renovated" room away from the construction zone. Check the AC before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear smdath,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our Horizon Lounge and the newly renovated room. Meanwhile, your comments about our facilities during hotel renovation are highly appreciated and we've worked closely with the concerned teams. We truly look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is my fifth time to Shangri-La in Taipei, and I'm still happy to come back. There is renovation going on at the moment (July 2014), but they manage around it quite well.

The rooms are large and well apportioned, the restaurants and lounge are very good and the gym is world class.

Service is top-notch in everything from check-in to assistance with small matters, such a restaurant bookings or explaining directions to taxi drivers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear sundboell,

Thank you very much for your continuous support and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and services in many different aspects. Your kind compliments will encourage us to keep up with the high standard to serve all valuable guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

With many new hotels in Taipei, we have not stayed in Far Eastern Plaza for ages. We had this family trip in July and my aged parents had experience of hitting sharp-edged bed frames in modern hotels. I decided to go back to traditional 5-star hotel and thought of Far Eastern Plaza. We had a total of 8 of us and stayed in 4 rooms, some in executive rooms and some in superior rooms.

The lobby was much smaller than I could remember. Later then I found out that they are renovating the lobby and blocked off a big part of it.

The rooms were gorgeous, even the superior rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. The executive rooms were big. We just love it. Again, I found out that the rooms we stayed were newly renovated and they are now renovating the upper floors. They keep the old luxury instead of moving to the simplistic modern deco. Well done!

Buffet breakfast was excellent. The spread is wide, from western to Japanese, Taiwanese and Cantonese. They even serve freshly squeezed fruit juices.

Service was excellent, from all levels of staff that we came across. One morning, we walked into the lift at around 9:30am. There were some other guests in the lift and a bell staff was standing next to the lift entrance. When we entered, he immediately greeted us and asked if we were going to breakfast. We said yes and he pressed the 6/F button for us promptly. This is the attentiveness that I value.

This is the one thing I would recommend for improvement: the hotel seemed to be environmental friendly. They used biodegradable materials for bathroom amenities and suggested guests to reuse towels by placing them on towel racks. However, when I hang my towels on towel rack, they still replaced them.

Even though it is not near the shopping district, it is now my top choice of hotel in Taipei.

Room Tip: They have connected rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeleineKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear 甘 M,

Thank you for taking your valuable time sharing a good staying experience with us. We are thrilled to know that our renovated rooms are up to your satisfaction, and also it’s our pleasure that you enjoyed our attentive services, these are what we aim to provide to our precious guests. In regards to what you mentioned about the bathroom amenities, your comments have been past to concerned team members. Thank you for your encouragement and feedback which give us opportunities to further enhance ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel N.A. Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I went to this hotel to see my friend and realized that the hotel does not have AC on. It was around 37 degree and hotel did not turn on AC for two days. I don't know what happened to this hotel, but it was terrible that lots of guest and staff were sweating all the time. It was unbelivable that their Valet standing directly under the sun while they are on duty. What sort of hotel is this that the Managers don't care about guest and staff's feeling.

I visit this hotel every twice a week and hope same problem will not happen again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Chen V

Thank you for taking your valuable time sharing your feedback with us. We regret to learn that this visit didn’t meet your expectations. Due to some technical issue occurred to our electronic system, our AC service was down temporary during your visit. However, immediate repair were made in the shortest time and all function are back to normal now. Also, due to our undergoing lobby refurbishment work, our temporary lobby is currently set at Dun Hwa South Road entrance where limited roof cover are available. We highly appreciate your concern to our team members and will definitely make sure our staffs have enough support and been closely monitoring for their condition. We take every guests' comment seriously and improvement has been made immediately. Should you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me at marcel.holman@shangri-la.com. Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to deliver better experiences to all our precious guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again and see our improvement when you visit in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
571 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Coming to Taipei is not only a business duty for me but all time also a pleasure. To stay in the Far Eastern Plaza Hotel with its outstanding service is a part of the joy of such a trip.
Very good restaurants, outstanding service, and cleanliness of all rooms and facilities offer to you a perfect stay.
(although now the lobby is a bit narrow due to renovation works, but as a guest you do not feel anything except the limited space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

During our brief visit to Taipei, we had the good fortune of staying at the Shangri-La. It was slightly more expensive than similarly rated alternatives but we decided to go with Shangri-La because of our favorable experiences elsewhere and boy are we glad we did. The room, pool, and facilities were all superb. The lobby is undergoing a major renovation but we hardly noticed. But the reason I will continue to strongly favor Shangri-La (and never stay anywhere else in Taipei) if given the choice is as follows. Our daughter woke up with a fever and we called the service manager (Mitch) to see if we could get an extended checkout before our evening flight so that our daughter could get some extra rest. Hoping for an extra hour our so, we were given six. Mitch then asked if we needed a doctor and we said we would wait and see but perhaps. By mid-afternoon, we decided to get her checked out and so I called Mitch. Before we knew it, we were being accompanied by a member of Mitch's staff in a taxi to a clinic with a relationship with Shangri-La. In under two hours, we were back at the hotel, having met with what seemed to be an excellent doctor, completed bloodwork, received test results, and obtained medications. I told the woman who accompanied us that I thought this was extraordinary and she said she thought most hotels would do the same and that most people in Taipei would do the same. On the former, I don't think she is correct.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Josh C

You just made our day! Thank you so much for being a loyal guest and sharing your recent staying experience with us. It is our honor to know that you have enjoyed our well-arranged room, the facilities and the pool. At the meantime, I am sorry to hear that your daughter was sick during her visit; however, I am also glad to know that our team members were able to provide you with the service you needed. It is our core value to embrace our guests from the heart and your praise is certainly the best motivation for us to continue out Shangri-La hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,818 reviews
W Taipei
#11 of 571 in Taipei
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#32 of 571 in Taipei
2,273 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#49 of 571 in Taipei
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing