We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La it is!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #15 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shangri-La it is!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's been a long time since I've been back to Taipei and I was thinking of staying at the one of many boutique type hotels in the city. Thinking that you really can not go wrong staying at a Shangri-La, I finally decided Shangri-La it is. This property definitely does not disappoint. From the ever gracious English speaking doormen who by the way gives great directions and advice to the very pleasant greeters who meet and assist you. You know your in a Shangri-La just by taking a whiff of the aroma when you enter the front lobby and here in the Far Eastern you get that same scent. The rooms are spacious (try to get a view of 101), the walk-in closets are just right,and the walk-in shower with separate tub bathrooms are just huge. Head up to the rooftop where you get a warm pool and Jacuzzi even though it's winter time. I have been to hotel pool jacuzzis where the jets are way too weak, but not in this hotel. It's a perfect way to relax before you go to bed because it closes at 10pm. The 38th floor also has a pretty good Italian restaurant and the Marco Polo bar/lounge next door has a pretty good view that can't be beat anywhere in town.

The Lingchiang St night market is about a 10-15min walk and along the road going there I saw a shabu-shabu, a Thai restaurant, a pizzeria and some busy bars. Right outside the coffee shop door is the CitiAir bus stop that takes you to and from the airport for NT$145 and that in itself is a big convenience. On my next trip to Taipei, you will definitely see me here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TroyAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear TroyAsia,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your recent staying experience with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the room, the fantastic view from our rooftop pool, and are satisfied with our service. We are also thrilled to know that you had the chance to dine at Marco Polo Restaurant which is one of my favorite Italian restaurants in town. It is also nice to know you had walked around the neighborhood to explore the fun of Taipei! We look forward to your return so we may provide you with another memorable Shangri-La experience.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    353
    75
    22
    14
See reviews for
333
274
117
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just like the city as soon as you arrive here you can't help but feeling totally relaxed by the calmness. Nothing fancy and showy, just understated and practical, exactly how things should be. Love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hk
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staffs are very friendly n helpful, excellent services. The club Lounge is good with food and staffs are extremely nice and helpful. Very good and quick services. Rooms are big and have lots of spaces for children.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank MicLoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here 12/18-22/13, our first visit to Taipei. This is an impressive hotel and I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Taipei. We had access to the Horizon Lounge and it is outstanding in every respect, including a chef which assures that the breakfasts and evening snacks are excellent, and incredibly gracious guest services staff who assure that everybody is well taken care of. The hotel itself and the rooms are attractive, every member of the staff is at the top of their game, and this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenRo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear KenRo14,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to learn that you like the Horizon Club Lounge, the room and the service provided by our team members. Thanks again for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is typical of the Shangri-la chain, just above everyone else, we stayed in a club level room with a view of the 101 tower which was just superb, everything from the breakfast served in the club lounge to the staff in club area was of Shangri-la excellence. If in Taipei again I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a club level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very rarely do I get to stay in the tallest building of any city. The 43-floor Far Eastern Plaza hotel belonging to the Shangri-La group in Taipei provided me that opportunity. The view of the city is mind blowing. The pool on the roof top is another great experience. All other facilities are standard but pricey. The service too, is adequate with the taxi service from the airport a defining point. For a business traveler like me the hotel is just right and after a hard day’s work, I could relax at the pool and then take off on a visit to the Shilin night market. The breakfast had a good spread and I liked the black coffee, may be a blend of Indian and Vietnamese beans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Monica B,

Thank you for staying in Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei and sharing your valuable review on us! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed a good time with us, especially the stunning view from the room and rooftop pool. It is also our pleasure to provide you a wonderful experience by the convenient transportation and the helpful service from our team members. We are also glad to know you liked our breakfast which various food are being provided. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best Regards
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stay here several times a year and the service and value are the best of any hotel I stay anywhere in Asia. From the arrival to the departure the people and the service are the best. I have never been disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear John M,

Thank you so much for recognizing us as The Best in Asia! It is our great honor to serve our customers with heart warming service and I am glad that my team members has made it through your entire stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#22 of 575 in Taipei
1,964 reviews
W Taipei
#11 of 575 in Taipei
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#34 of 575 in Taipei
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing