We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Reasonable price 5-star hotel in Taipei.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #16 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location. Reasonable price 5-star hotel in Taipei.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've stayed at a couple different places in Taipei (including the Grand Hyatt). I definately like this hotel more. It is at a very convenient location where a lot of shops and conveinent stores close by. Price of the hotel is reasonable for a 5-star hotel. The staff and service is absolutely excellent. I'd recommend it for either business or personal travel.

The only thing that I'm indifferent about is the elevator set up. It's right in the middle of the hotel in a Octogan set up with two entry way. Everytime I get out of the elevator, I never know which way I should be going as the signage isn't too clear.

Food at this hotel is great in general.

Room Tip: They are all about the same. Try to stay away from the elevator so you don't hear them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niceday_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear niceday_worldtravel,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you found our location convenient and our service has impressed you during your stay. I am glad that you also enjoyed your dining experience with us! In terms of our elevator set up, since the building is designed a circular shape, either way could actually still lead you to the same places! However, I will also raise your concern to my team members who are on-site to direct people and make sure our guests find their way easily. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    353
    76
    22
    14
See reviews for
335
275
118
588
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am a golden circle member. I have to say this is the worst experience I have ever had with Shangrila hotels. I reported two issues at the second day night - noise of air conditioner and dirty cup. But the hotel only sent a technician to repair the air conditioner, and totally forgot the cup issue. The cup had been used by me already. The worst thing is the service center repeatedly ask me anything more when I called them for the issues. Seems like they were expecting more bad thing happen on you. It is disgusting. I listed all these terrible experience in the afterward survey of the hotel, but i have never heard anything from the hotel any more.

Room Tip: away from the back of the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Richard,

Firstly, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on Tripadivsor. We are regretful to learn that your staying experience did not meet our usual standard. I have personally looked into this issue and re-emphasized the importance to our team. We have sent you a reply to the email you've provided; kindly check your mail box when available. Also, please do not hesitate to contact us should you have further questions. Again, your feedback is very important to us and we hope that we will still have an opportunity to serve you again, and offer you a great Shangri-La experience.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a view days staying there, there is only one comment: excellent. There is really nothing to complain. I tried the massages, 3 different restraurants and limo service, all the services was perfect.

Room Tip: suite, if possible with 101 view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank MarkusHissler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was once told by an opera singer that we (Americans) don’t know what service is, until we travel to Far East. How true that was. This hotel is all about service.
I was surprised that there were no Kempinski or Ritz Carlton hotels in Taipei. But this hotel food and service spoils you. Walking in the Ritz Carlton in Laguna Beach California from this hotel the next week felt like a down grade.
Things you should do:
1- Upgrade your room. Rooms from 33- and above floor are much better. Rooms are not very big, but beautifully done. You also have a beautiful lounge with the skyline beneath your feet at your disposal. Wonderful, nice place to have snacks, coffee, etc. free of charge.
2- Make sure your room also comes with Free Limo service to and from the Airport. Food, upgrades and services are extremely cheap at this hotel.
3- Ignore the offer for the Airport VIP terminal; it’s a waste of money especially if you are flying first or business class.
4- Have breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast room consists of two complete sets of buffets, Eastern and Western, you choice as to what you fancy, well worth what you are paying.
5- Hotel has free Wi-Fi everywhere, so use a Wi-Fi phone app and you can call anyone everywhere at all times.
6- The Sushi restaurant is as good as any. The Chinese will spoil you. Order the Fruit wood smoked ducks. Go to the front desk and reserve a table if you can, these restaurants are very popular with the locals. Even if not just let them know you are staying at the hotel.
7- If you need transportation, use the hotel Limos. They are Long 750 BMWs, they have Wi-Fi hubs in the car. Compared to almost any other hotel, they are darn cheap. But do not expect the driver to speak any English and avoid using them for site seeing.
8- As for shopping there is a small high end mall inside the hotel. But it took me three days to figure that out.

Room Tip: get the mini business suites with a sitting are, they have larger windows. Being above the 33rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sgoleosrkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sgoleosrkhi,

You just made our day! Thank you for giving such a detailed positive comment on Tripadvisor. My team and I are delighted to know that our hotel is your top choice in Taipei and you have enjoyed our service and facilities. Our ibuki Japanese Restaurant and the roasted duck in Shang Palace are one of a kind in Taipei and I am happy to know that you had the chance to taste it yourself. It was our pleasure to host you during your stay in Taipei and certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great service from passionate/ helpful staff. Providing all the necessary items for my little ones more than my expectation in the bedroom & bathroom. A pleasure to be staying and sleeping here with quality bed & pillow and the location is perfect at the heart of Taipei. Will be back again and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank yangmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a 5 night stay in a plaza suite ( taipei 101 view as requested )The standout part of this property is the staff -from the limo greeting at the airport to the concierge and the excellent horizon lounge staff especially May Wu the lounge manager during our stay who was kind ,helpful and interesting to converse with.The hotel itself is due a technology overhaul which is planned we were told in the near future for eg the tv in the bedroom is about twice the size of the one in the lounge of the suite,also the suite lacks power sockets and mood lighting is really needed to bring the rooms up to date, you can only switch on the various lamps in your lounge when the main lights are on as well which kinda defeats the idea of a more relaxing light level.The best part of the suite was the bathroom which was spacious and well maintained & i agree with other reviewers that the tv in here is pretty pointless being next to the sink.We found the bed a little firm and asked for another topper but as best we could tell they changed the whole mattress which was superb.
Horizon lounge very comfortable with good food & breakfast choices and of course the ever helpful staff who wrote out many of the taxi adds on cards for excursions out.
We also used the metro about 7 -10 min walk which was easy to navigate and combined well with the cheap taxi`s.
Would suggest club level is best option for leisure travellers especially if a first time in Taipei

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear fortheride,

It is a great pleasure to receive such great comments here on Tripadvisor. Your encouraging words have been passed on personally to the staff. It is our core value to go the extra mile for our guest and I am delighted to know that my team was able to fulfill it by accommodating your bed preference. I hope that you had a wonderful time during your trip in Taipei and am certainly look forward to your return soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a big trip . We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival which was a nice surprise . The hotel is a little dated and we had problems with some of the sockets in our room .That said , that was completely made up for by the fabulous staff . We found everyone we interacted with from the guys who got us a taxi , the reception , the room cleaner , and the girls in the Horizon club lounge to be some of the best we have encountered and we could not rate them highly enough .We also got an email saying hello from the general manager , and then one saying goodbye .
Great hotel - if your in Taipei stay here !!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Daniel H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very happy to know that our service impressed you during your stay and it is an honor to "meet" you via email. I hope that you had a great trip here in Taipei and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#22 of 575 in Taipei
1,984 reviews
W Taipei
#12 of 575 in Taipei
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#35 of 575 in Taipei
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing