We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its Foolish to stay anywhere else in Taipei” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #14 of 563 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Its Foolish to stay anywhere else in Taipei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was once told by an opera singer that we (Americans) don’t know what service is, until we travel to Far East. How true that was. This hotel is all about service.
I was surprised that there were no Kempinski or Ritz Carlton hotels in Taipei. But this hotel food and service spoils you. Walking in the Ritz Carlton in Laguna Beach California from this hotel the next week felt like a down grade.
Things you should do:
1- Upgrade your room. Rooms from 33- and above floor are much better. Rooms are not very big, but beautifully done. You also have a beautiful lounge with the skyline beneath your feet at your disposal. Wonderful, nice place to have snacks, coffee, etc. free of charge.
2- Make sure your room also comes with Free Limo service to and from the Airport. Food, upgrades and services are extremely cheap at this hotel.
3- Ignore the offer for the Airport VIP terminal; it’s a waste of money especially if you are flying first or business class.
4- Have breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast room consists of two complete sets of buffets, Eastern and Western, you choice as to what you fancy, well worth what you are paying.
5- Hotel has free Wi-Fi everywhere, so use a Wi-Fi phone app and you can call anyone everywhere at all times.
6- The Sushi restaurant is as good as any. The Chinese will spoil you. Order the Fruit wood smoked ducks. Go to the front desk and reserve a table if you can, these restaurants are very popular with the locals. Even if not just let them know you are staying at the hotel.
7- If you need transportation, use the hotel Limos. They are Long 750 BMWs, they have Wi-Fi hubs in the car. Compared to almost any other hotel, they are darn cheap. But do not expect the driver to speak any English and avoid using them for site seeing.
8- As for shopping there is a small high end mall inside the hotel. But it took me three days to figure that out.

Room Tip: get the mini business suites with a sitting are, they have larger windows. Being above the 33rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sgoleosrkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sgoleosrkhi,

You just made our day! Thank you for giving such a detailed positive comment on Tripadvisor. My team and I are delighted to know that our hotel is your top choice in Taipei and you have enjoyed our service and facilities. Our ibuki Japanese Restaurant and the roasted duck in Shang Palace are one of a kind in Taipei and I am happy to know that you had the chance to taste it yourself. It was our pleasure to host you during your stay in Taipei and certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    327
    70
    20
    13
See reviews for
282
241
108
524
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great service from passionate/ helpful staff. Providing all the necessary items for my little ones more than my expectation in the bedroom & bathroom. A pleasure to be staying and sleeping here with quality bed & pillow and the location is perfect at the heart of Taipei. Will be back again and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank yangmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a 5 night stay in a plaza suite ( taipei 101 view as requested )The standout part of this property is the staff -from the limo greeting at the airport to the concierge and the excellent horizon lounge staff especially May Wu the lounge manager during our stay who was kind ,helpful and interesting to converse with.The hotel itself is due a technology overhaul which is planned we were told in the near future for eg the tv in the bedroom is about twice the size of the one in the lounge of the suite,also the suite lacks power sockets and mood lighting is really needed to bring the rooms up to date, you can only switch on the various lamps in your lounge when the main lights are on as well which kinda defeats the idea of a more relaxing light level.The best part of the suite was the bathroom which was spacious and well maintained & i agree with other reviewers that the tv in here is pretty pointless being next to the sink.We found the bed a little firm and asked for another topper but as best we could tell they changed the whole mattress which was superb.
Horizon lounge very comfortable with good food & breakfast choices and of course the ever helpful staff who wrote out many of the taxi adds on cards for excursions out.
We also used the metro about 7 -10 min walk which was easy to navigate and combined well with the cheap taxi`s.
Would suggest club level is best option for leisure travellers especially if a first time in Taipei

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear fortheride,

It is a great pleasure to receive such great comments here on Tripadvisor. Your encouraging words have been passed on personally to the staff. It is our core value to go the extra mile for our guest and I am delighted to know that my team was able to fulfill it by accommodating your bed preference. I hope that you had a wonderful time during your trip in Taipei and am certainly look forward to your return soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a big trip . We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival which was a nice surprise . The hotel is a little dated and we had problems with some of the sockets in our room .That said , that was completely made up for by the fabulous staff . We found everyone we interacted with from the guys who got us a taxi , the reception , the room cleaner , and the girls in the Horizon club lounge to be some of the best we have encountered and we could not rate them highly enough .We also got an email saying hello from the general manager , and then one saying goodbye .
Great hotel - if your in Taipei stay here !!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Daniel H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very happy to know that our service impressed you during your stay and it is an honor to "meet" you via email. I hope that you had a great trip here in Taipei and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Apparently this hotel was rated 2nd best business hotel in the world in 2009, and I think this still shows. I did not find the hotel particularly dated like previous reviewers, but instead had an excellent (and exceedingly large) executive room and was constantly helped by very pleasant staff. My only gripe was that the hotel restaurants all closed at 21.30 (as do most restaurants in Taipei seemingly) - which I found a bit early. Also, the rooftop pool closed at present, and not sure when the refurb will be finished. But neither of these issues seriously detracted from my stay.

Room Tip: The executive rooms (upgrade from the deluxe) are enormous at around 650 sqft, and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this valuable comment. We regret to know that due to the scheduled maintenance, you were not able to enjoy our rooftop swimming pool. The pool is scheduled to open again around mid July 2013 so we hope that you can enjoy it during your next visit. Hope to welcome you back for either business or pleasure!

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Always Great standards from Shangri-la ! Once you check in every staff looks like they all known ur room number and even your name. Great 10 out 10 service . great views at the 36 floor with the spa bath and shower room totally seperate. cloth hanger room with messy huge comfy bed when you expect from Shandri-la all the time ~ the higher suite the better sleep in the big city , amaze by the old chinese centrury design for the suite when you walk in. also at 38 floor roof top deep swimming pool great for having a sun bath with a cup of tea in the morning. the breakast buffet it was perfect , quite , great servies wonderful fresh breaky i order an omelets it was magnificent especailly when you just wake up the view out of the window just right after the early morning breaky was amaze by the busy city sun rise.

Room Tip: the Higher room the better you can see the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sebastian151,

It is so great to receive your positive feedback here on Tripadvisor, and thank you for being a loyal guest to Shangri-La Hotel & Resorts Group! We are happy to know that our Taipei design concept of the Song Dynasty has impressed you and that you were satisfied with our service, facilities and dining experience. It is definitely an experience to witness the city sunrise from our rooftop pool, one of my personal favorites from the hotel. Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We always aspect the quality of service of Shangri-La Hotel. It has been branded as the top notch hotel. We enjoyed the stay very very much. The front staff were very hospitable. The gym is very well equip with the latest equipment. However, we were disappointed that the swimming at the roof were closed for renovation during our stay. We booked this hotel after seeing this beautiful swimming pool marketing photo. This is totally misrepresentation. They could have duly informed the guests.

Room Tip: The roof top swimming is under renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Ben K,

Thank you for being a loyal guest to Shangri-la Hotel & Resorts group. It is our pleasure to host you and your family during your visit to Taipei. We are glad to know that you are impressed with our service including our facilities we provided. In regards to the rooftop pool, I am regretful to know that due to the scheduled maintenance, you were not able to enjoy it. We will be sure to convey our information ahead of time in the future so our guests will be well-informed. Thank you again for your feedback and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#31 of 563 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
W Taipei
#16 of 563 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#29 of 563 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#24 of 563 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 563 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing