We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Taipei Hotel With Location Appeal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Ranked #72 of 586 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have never had a bad hotel experience in Taipei. I think all the better brand hotels (and even some local brands) provide good service, clean rooms, etc. Each Taipei hotel has strengths you can consider when making a selection. The Sheraton Taipei hotel continues to provide great rooms, great service and, now more than ever, a great location. It offers a connection to Taiwan/Taipei history and a window into modern Chinese urban culture. I also think it is price competitive for foreign business travelers and weekend tourists. I have been staying there , often several times per year, for over 20 years.

Before the development of the newer "business" side of Taipei (think Taipei 101), this hotel was "the place to stay," being close to many government offices and smaller department stores. It's restaurants were well recognized as among the best in Taipei. Before the boom of mainland tourists, the completion of high speed rail or even the MRT, the facility well survived the transfer of business travelers towards the hotels on the Dun Hua North Road side of Taipei by focusing on more local Taiwan business. With the high speed rail now available just 10 minutes away at the main train stations and the awesome MRT system, the Taipei Sheraton has regained its position as a key business hotel. I can stay in my favorite part of Taipei but make all-day meetings in Hsinchu, Tainan or even Kaohsiung without having to change hotels. I can cross the city at rush hour on the (easy to navigate and safe) MRT is less than 30 minutes. It has been great to see the hotel's business really explode while they continue to maintain great service.

The reviewers here with negative comments have valid points. Yes - The exercise facility is a little too small and probably is oversold as a "club" for locals. Yes - The swimming pool is smaller than those at other Taipei hotels and not made for laps. But there are really grand public facilities just a few blocks away with huge swimming pools for just a few (US) dollars to enter. Most East Asia hotels sell "club" memberships. And yes - I rather wish the very annoying, loud (local) afternoon tea crowd would just disappear. But I promise this a great window into urban Chinese culture (You can ask, for example, what are all these people doing with so much time in the middle of the day? Welcome to Taipei!) Likewise, the opportunity to see so many mainland visitors enjoy a great hotel experience is heart warming.

I highly recommend this consistent, reliable hotel.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for a room away from the restaurant atrium as it is a bit quieter throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Steven W,

Thanks for your 20 years of support! We are astonished and thrilled to know we have such loyal guests who have witnessed the growth of Sheraton Grande Taipei over the past 2 decades.

Our fitness center is currently under expansion till mid September. You will be able to use our brand new space and equipment during your next stay!

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

book the hotel due to good reviews but was disappointed with my experience. i travelled with my hubby for this vacation, hoping is going to be a memorable trip. it indeed turn out to be one( in a bad way). everything was ok at first, till that very 1st night when we came back from some sightseeing. i used the bath room after my hubby, i notice there is a strand of hair,a very long one(i have short hair, so did my hubby), obvious left by previous occupant was found in the basin. this is just the beginning of a string of bad experiences. after the shower we decided to help ourselves with seasonal fruits provided but one the fruit is rotten at bottom :( the airconditioning is not cooling even when is set at 18 degrees, so we sweat in bed thru the night. the next morning after my shower while changing, the housekeeping staff tried to enter the room. luckily we latch on the door on the previous night, scare the hell out of me when the door was opened. 2nd night when i am half way thru my shower i realise the housekeeping didn't replenish the conditioner, that night i end up with frizzy hair. 3rd day is the only day with no mishap. 4th day housekeeping didn't replenish tissue in the bathroom, n i end up using toilet roll instead. 5th day, the day we check out. housekeeping try to enter our room again. luckily this time i was dressed, busy packing. in a five star hotel, what i experience is unacceptable. stay at own risk if u just want to be in prime location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkohorlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear alkohorlic,

Thank you for the feedback you have provided. We are deeply disturbed to hear what you have experienced. The incidents you encountered are not typical of the services we offer, and we regret that we were not able to address these concerns prior to your departure.

We would like to further investigate this matter and we would like to have the opportunity to contact you directly regarding your experience. Please feel free to contact us at sheratongrande.taipei@sheraton.com (Attn to Rooms Division) so that we may correct any discrepancy that might exist.

We look forward to hearing from you.


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

To start, my room was absolutely lovely...I'm particularly liked the very accessible safe, the bath and separate shower, and the mini-bar with (slightly less than) mini-bar prices.

The secret to this hotel is two thing: the service, which is absolutely world-class, and the convenience, which is close to Taipei's excellent metro. All in all, a fab stay, one of my best in Asia. Happy to recommend.

One more thing, I was on business (as I usually am) and the internet connection was superb. I could video Skype....a rarity in hotels!

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner room on the 6th floor. There was some road noise, but as I live in a city cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tominliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Tominliverpool,

Thank you for recommending Sheraton Grande Taipei! It is always a great encouragement to hear that guests had a great time during their stay. It gives our associates a sense of accomplishment that their efforts have paid off, and drives them to work even harder to serve our guests.

Thanks for the feedback regarding the internet connection. We understand that travelers wish to stay connected anywhere they go, so earlier this year, the hotel has upgraded internet servers to enhance speed and connectivity up to 100M and in addition, offer internet free of charge to all guests in the hotel. We are glad you were able to utilize this new feature during your stay.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope you will stay with us again in the future!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Walking into this room is like a breath of fresh air.

This room had international power sockets therefore no worries.

TV has channels like STAR MOVIES, AXN, HBO and the usual Taiwan channels.

Located near Metro with many nice food joints around. Including vegetarian joints.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Sylvester L,

We appreciate you sharing all these positive feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities have met your standards.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return in the future!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Much has been written about the Sheraton. It is a huge hotel which is not new anymore – that is for sure. However, it is continuously being refurbished and there is truly nothing wrong with the rooms nor all the many restaurants and facilities. But you like to know about the biggest advantages of the Sheraton? First: LOCATION! within minutes you are at the MRT station and the MRT gets you to any place in town faster than a taxi! And it is very foreign-friendly as everything is displayed/explained in Chinese and English!
And in case you need to travel to the south of the country: Taipei’s railway station (where also the High Speed trains leave) is just 10 min walking or 2 min by taxi away.
And if you like your glass of wine in the evening (note: wine is very expensive in Taiwan!) then you better spend the extra bucks and book executive club floor to enjoy free drinks every evening from 5-9pm!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolofromaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear rolofromaustria,

Thank you for sharing such detailed information about Sheraton Grande Taipei with online viewers. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests find our location and our services satisfactory.

Thank you for recommending our Executive Floor rooms with access to the Sheraton Club Lounge. The club lounge offers daily breakfast and happy hour, and Executive Floor guests are eligible for 2-hour complimentary use of meeting room per stay. Check out our branded website for the latest special offers when you plan your next trip!

We look forward to your return in the future!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

How they keep up the standard in a hotel that is always buzzing beats me. If you are looking for a quiet luxury hideaway this is not it. Hard to get sense of 5 Star luxury when it is so full all the time and it is not cheap as you would expect.

Having said that I enjoyed my week there. The staff were obviously hand picked for a Sheraton as you would expect . They were literally wired for sound with cute little ear pieces which made the guys look like CIA agents but that was obviously part of an excellent and tight service regime-they did not miss much and standard was slick and professional.

Kitchen 12 in the main atrium was huge and could remind one of a cafeteria given the volume of people who ate there-and there were several other eateries available-but the food was sensational and reasonably priced as a lot of traffic came in off the street.There was something for every palate hence the name I guess as you could see it all being prepared in front of you.

This was a very busy establishment and may not be to the taste of those looking for a luxury stay but the location near the MRT made for a great jump off point and I enjoyed it and would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sir Humphrey Blunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Sir Humphrey Blunt,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here!

Due to the location of our hotel, it has become one of the top choices for travelers from all over the world. With the MRT entrance adjacent to the property and the main train station & High Speed Rail within 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel, it is the perfect place for people who are traveling to Taipei for the first time! The nearby surrounding are relevantly quiet after office hours, which gives travelers a chance to enjoy a peaceful evening. Should guests wish to experience the hustle and bustle of the vibrant Taiwanese nightlife, the MRT can take you to all of the major night markets and shopping malls! If you have no clue where to visit, feel free to drop by and ask one of our associates at the Front Desk. We are always delighted to offer you recommendations!

Thank you again for choosing Sheraton Grande Taipei and we hope to see you again soon in the future!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

There are no upgrades even I am a GOLD SPG member. The service is average, boring breakfast, old and hard mattresses, and not so exciting gym. However, location is very convenient and that's about it. I had to move out after 2 days....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Ben C,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always delighted to give Gold card members room upgrade upon availability. Unfortunately, some of our rooms on the upper floors are undergoing renovations during the time of your stay.

Also, we would like to inform you that our fitness center expansion to the 18th floor will be completed in early September. The 17th and 18th floor will be equipped with brand new exercise equipment and facilities.

If you could email us the details of your stay including your room number. We will be happy to get back to you regarding any other questions and concerns you may have. Your comments are extremely valuable to us. We look forward to hearing from you.


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#28 of 586 in Taipei
2,689 reviews
Regent Taipei
#499 of 586 in Taipei
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#47 of 586 in Taipei
945 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#38 of 586 in Taipei
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel

Address: No.12, Section 1, Zhongxiao East Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#20 Business Hotel in Taipei
#26 Family Hotel in Taipei
#33 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $181 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 688 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites offer guests a wide selection of room types. The Executive Floors offer executive travelers all the services and facilities they require. In addition, they have to their own Executive Lounge. For our Starwood Preferred Guests, we offer three exclusive floors. All rooms feature high-speed internet access and in-room safe. Butler service is provided for Director Rooms and above as well as all Executive Floor rooms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Taipei
Taipei Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing