We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but rooms a bit small!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Ranked #67 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was put up in this hotel on my first business trip, and never found a reason to go elsewhere for my personal travels. The main reason is it's just too convenient. It is literally next to the Shandao Station exit, which is smack in the middle of the main MRT line. 10 minutes walk (or 1 MRT station) from Taipei train station.

The rooms are admittedly a bit small and decor old, and when staff say you've been upgraded you're not really sure where the upgrade is. Beds are a bit soft, so if you fancy a firmer bed ask for a "bed board 床板".

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Karlykay,

Thank you for your loyalty to Sheraton Grande Taipei. We would like to know what room type you stayed in and how we can further assist you in the future. Please drop us an email at sheratongrande.taipei@sheraton.com with details of your stay here. We also recommend that you can visit our brand website and check out special offers when booking a room for your next trip. Our Club Floor package would be ideal as it includes complimentary breakfast & happy hour at the Club Lounge, 2-hour use of private meeting room and many other features that are catered towards business travelers.

We look forward to hearing from you soon!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Sheraton Hong Kong, Sydney and Taipei before. Of all the Sheraton hotels, Taipei is the best to me. It was a memorable stay, staffs are so helpful and especially the duty manager, maybe most Taiwanese are very courteous, and I found them very similar to the Japanese especially their working attitude. They are so professional and helpful. Firstly, I'd like to highlight the thoughtfulness of the hotel on the welcoming fruits every time they make up the room, the electronic multi-functioning toilet seat, very comfortable bed and the maintenance of the hotel. Every part of the hotel looks so new and clean, I admire the design concept of the hotel room a lot. The ambience is so good, artistic painting on the wall as well as the large scale flower painting on the glass wall in the very spacious bathroom. Breakfast is not to be missed, but please don't waste your money at the beautiful and expensive Japanese restaurant :) as the food don't taste as good as they look. That's my only disappointment. Between, the location is fantastic, tourists spots are nearby. So, you could either walk around on foot, or go around by taxis. All Sheraton hotels provide a special taxi card with the taxi's number plate and also the hotel's address with map for the guest who take taxi from the hotel. How thoughtful! I love Sheraton Taipei, and I'll definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear charlottechin,

Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us. We are delighted to hear about your wonderful experience here. However, we would like to know more information about your comments regarding the food at our Japanese restaurant so that we can make improvements in the future. Please feel free to write to us at sheratongrande.taipei@sheraton.com.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I like the location and service of this hotel and stay here every time in Taipei. The 17th floor club lounge is great, the breakfast more than adequate and the happy hours are full dinners. The staff is very friendly and accomodates every need. I also had the best iced latte in the lounge, suits my tastes better than Starbucks! I've also had the breakfast buffet downstairs, and it is very expansive and has something for every taste. The restaurants are also well known to the locals in Taipei, you will notice the buffet downstairs is always full in Taipei, the Thai restaurant on the second floor is great (great food and service), and the 17th floor restaurant (not the lounge) is also very well known for good chinese food. They are not cheap, but on par in price with other restaurants of the same caliber in Taipei.

The hotel is a 7-10 minute walk (or 1 stop metro ride) to the main train station, which can take you all over Taipei. The train station area also offers several restuarant/shopping choices with 2 large department stores surrounding the train station. It is also centrally located in Taipei, and is a short cab ride or metro ride away to the main tourist sites. Cabs in Taiwan are cheap, and the MTR entrance is steps away from the hotel.

The rooms are what you'd expect for a Sheraton, nothing crazy, but very comfortable. The bed is not as comfortable as a Westin sweet sleeper bed, but it is comfortable enough for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear sfgirl3,

Welcome back to Sheraton Grande Taipei again and thank you for the comprehensive review. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and that this time you tried out nearly all of our restaurants! Every year Sheraton Grande Taipei arranges a special Chinese New Year Feast in our banquet hall. This year we featured traditional Chinese children's games and live performances along with set meals for families to gather together and celebrate the special holiday. Should you be interested, we welcome you and your family to join us next year on Chinese New Year's Eve to experience the lunar new year traditions! Info will be posted later this year on our social media pages such as Linkedin and Facebook.

Hope you had a wonderful trip here with your family and we look forward to your return in the near future!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

First trip to Taiwan and found the hotel to be alright.

Stayed in a SPG room on the 11th floor. Nothing spectacular or of notable mention however (positive or negative). Carpet in the room was well worn.

I would probably try a different hotel next time just for comparison.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and raising the issue of the worn carpet. We will perform thorough inspection and fix any minor or major issues as soon as possible. We have been constantly upgrading our facilities over the years. We appreciate any feedback on how we can make the guestrooms and public areas more accommodating and comfortable for our guests.

Should you plan to stay at Sheraton Grande Taipei in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This property rates about a 3.5. While it has some positives there are also plenty of 'other' features that do not accommodate the Western business traveler very well.

Rooms are nice, and despite their close proximately to the street are quiet. The exception is noise from the hallways seem to creep in under the doors. While the rooms are nice, I have been assigned a couple that were in minor disrepair (such as torn drapery linings). The decor is an attempt at sophistication, but using prefab cabinetry just doesn't succeed. The beds are comfortable and house keeping seems to do a fine job.

The hotel's lobby and most common areas are well done and accommodating. The courteous staff are extremely attentive.

I was a guest at their morning breakfast buffet. It is excellent with plenty of choices no matter one's appetite.

The outside area does not accommodate the Western traveler very well (aside from McDonalds and Starbucks nearby). Few of the local business deal in English, and worse is a bar behind the hotel that refuses to serve Anglos. The hotel seems to attempt to defeat the problem by having a large number of restaurants of various persuasions throughout the complex. Sounds great except for two problems. One the restaurants are pricey, and second they close nightly at 2130. While a bar is open with limited food till 0100 - for a meal there are no choices after 2130.

A mass transit train station is nearby, but it seems to close at 2300. Late night dining options seem to require a cab.

The other problem with this hotel is the health club. First the club hours are limited (0600-2130) for a rather small square footage considering there are 600 rooms and catering to Western clients. But that pain is exacerbated by the fact they sell memberships for locals to workout in the facility. Recently I arrived at 1945 in attempt to get a workout before they closed. I had to wait for over an hour for a number of these local members to clear a spot on the elliptical machines.

The gym is too small and the hours too limited for this hotel to cheapen itself and short sell it's guests with local gym memberships.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincepapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear vincepapale,

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences with us. The level of detail of your review is of extreme importance to us so we know how we can improve for future experiences.

Sheraton Grande Taipei aims at delivering not only comfortable accommodation but also state of the art fine dining experience. Due to the dedication of our owners and management team, the restaurants have gained its reputation as one of the best in Taiwan with numerous local and global awards, such as Hotel Club Award's "Tastiest Spot for Beef Noodle Soup" and many others. For guests who wish to explore other types of Taiwanese cuisines, you may approach our associates at the Front Desk for a pamphlet which introduces Taiwan's local food and recommended places to go.

Regarding the fitness club, we apologize for the inconvenience and your comments have already been passed onto the management team for review and action to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future.

Thank you again and please feel free to contact us at sheratongrande.taipei@sheraton.com should you have further questions or comments.


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A very large hotel, well managed hotel. Room are clean, quiet and very comfortable. They are generously sized. Nice, large bathrooms. Very good beds. The club floor offers a quiet place to relax with good food and drinks. Their happy-hour food can pass as a decent dinner.

The hotel lobby feels a bit like a train station with too much hustle and bustle. The hotel bar next tot the lobby tends to be dead at night.

Location is not far from the central train station, yet about 15 a minute taxi ride from the Trade Center business district.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear elber2,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel and services. October was a very busy month due to several exhibitions and conventions going. We thank you for your understanding and consideration.

To provide room guests with a serene and peaceful rest after a full day of excitement, the Lobby Lounge on the first floor closes at 1:00 AM. Guests can explore the vibrant night life in the surrounding areas . Pop by the Front Desk and our associates can give you information on several interesting locations.

We hope you had a pleasant stay at Sheraton Grande Taipei and we welcome you to visit again in the future.


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

It is easy to get to this hotel from the airport as there is a direct bus (although it is not the usual tourist bus as it's a bit smelly) and there is also subway station located in front of hotel and within walking distance you can reach Taipei Main Station which is very helpful if you would like to travel on your own to various area in Taiwan. Room is very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGrandeTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear FennyG77,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Sheraton Grande Taipei. We would like to know more about the direct bus you took to our hotel. Should it be our hotel's shuttle bus, we will take immediate action to eliminate the odor and reevaluate cleaning procedures. Please feel free to email us at sheratongrande.taipei@sheraton.com.

As you mentioned, there are other transportation method traveling between the hotel and airport. Train and High Speed Rail are the most common options. If guests need assistance booking tickets or getting around the city, please drop by the Front Desk for more information.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#498 of 582 in Taipei
2,473 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#29 of 582 in Taipei
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#50 of 582 in Taipei
930 reviews
W Taipei
#19 of 582 in Taipei
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel

Address: No.12, Section 1, Zhongxiao East Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#20 Business Hotel in Taipei
#26 Family Hotel in Taipei
#29 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $174 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 688 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites offer guests a wide selection of room types. The Executive Floors offer executive travelers all the services and facilities they require. In addition, they have to their own Executive Lounge. For our Starwood Preferred Guests, we offer three exclusive floors. All rooms feature high-speed internet access and in-room safe. Butler service is provided for Director Rooms and above as well as all Executive Floor rooms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Taipei
Taipei Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing