We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best hotels around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Ranked #65 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Still one of the best hotels around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and it has always lived up to my expectations.Though the lobby isnt very impressive and is always busy the staffs are always at hand to greet and check in guests as promptly as they can.Polite and friendly in every manner.To the right of the reception is the restaurant where they serve a great buffett breakfast and dinner.To the left is a small bookshop.There are 2 sets of lifts on the left and right and depending on where your room is as the hotel is rather wide in length.The bubble lifts on the left of the reception are right in the middle of a very tall atrium that faces right down to the restaurant.The rooms around this atrium can be a bit noisy in the evenings as they play live music so if you would like a quieter room ask for the rooms away from it.
The room itself is big and spacious and i had a king size bed.Decorated in traditional chinese decor which looks a bit dated but everything functions well including the airconditioning.Usual fluffy bathrobes slippers coffee tea making facilities iron and ironing board inside the cupboard.
Bed was comfortable and had 4 large size pillows and a soft duvet.
Bathroom was more of modern design styled with black marble.Separate shower and bathtub and an interesting toilet with a bidet but the functions were on the wall unlike japanese bidets where the functions were all on the toilet seat itself.Everything worked perfectly in here.Shower pressure was just nice and the drainage was excellant....no clogging and sloshing around in a pool of soapy water.Great L'Occitane toiletries and a very generous 4bottles of mineral water and fruit,complimentary for guests.
Location wise is just a few minutes walk away from Taipei Main Railway Station but if you are lazy you can take the underground train which stops just directly outside the hotel.
I certainly would recommend this hotel and will always try to stay here if possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear AsianWorldTraveller,

Thank you for sharing in such detail, your experience staying at Sheraton Taipei Hotel. The photos you took are very helpful for other guests who are considering to book their stay at our hotel. We appreciate your effort in explaining our services and room features.

Thank you for mentioning the music volume. We will perform internal testing to ensure the volume levels in the rooms surrounding the atrium will not disturb guests when they are resting.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    592
    141
    27
    15
See reviews for
254
193
109
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
254 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just stayed one night this time. The Hotel is upgraded, I asked when, but nobody could tell
me. We are Platinum member and usual or better always we get a upgrade this time
the Hotel was "full". But the room was very nice and the furniture are very tasteful.
I went to the Tower lounge for breakfast two minutes before opening and the Waitress
wanted me to wait outside! One gentleman was already eating inside.
We had a Dinnerparty for 18 persons at the Chinese Restaurant (US$ 1.500) which
was -sorry to say - poor.
I think none of our guest will ever go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Susangermany,

We apologize for not being able to upgrade you to a higher floor during your last stay. We always try our best to provide upgrade for SPG members depending on room availability. Should there be circumstances where the hotel is full, we will still provide upgraded benefits, such as Sheraton Club Lounge access etc. to our SPG guests.

Responding to your question regarding Hotel's upgrade history, Sheraton Taipei Hotel underwent a 3-year full scale renovation starting in 2002, right after its ownership transferred to the current My Humble House Hospitality Management Consulting Co., Ltd. Since then, smaller scale remodeling and upgrades have been going on each year. Our most recent addition includes bidet toilets in all guest rooms and wifi in all corners of the hotel. There will be more in the coming year to enhance our brand image and to provide better facilities to all our guests. We sincerely hope our efforts will make a difference!

Regarding your dining experience at the Chinese restaurant, we wish to get in contact with you to understand in detail what you have encountered. Please send us an email at sheraton.taipei@sheraton.com. Your feedback is most appreciated!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level Contributor
413 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good location to get around Taipei as it's next door to both main train station and subway. Has had a contempory refurb since my last visit which has at least brought it inline with other similar hotels. Welcome was friendly and helpful with understandable English which is not often the case in Taiwan, and that continued throughout our stay. Breakfast buffet was good on choice but fell short on quality, with piles of oily food, very poor bread and pastries plus plastic cheese and cheap fruit juice. What was really disappointing was the room; it said 32 square but it felt like a shoe box, almost everything including the bath and the bed had been shoe-horned into the room, and even though it had been refurbished they still had the over the bath shower-and this room was on the 10 floor for SPG members, very different to the Sheraton Bangkok we had just come from. The spa area was let down by a lack of etiquette and poor management; very rarely did we see any staff and this meant that guests were spitting on the floor, using the sauna without sitting on towels and also not wearing shoes, plus the seating in the jacuzzi had small grains of muck that had not been cleaned properly-not good at all. In addition the pool was closed for 3 days for maintenance. Wi-fi only available in the lobby unless you wanted to pay 500 NTD, far too expensive. Overall we were unhappy with this hotel and will not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear madfish8,

We appreciate your comments regarding breakfast buffet and sauna. We will share your feedback with related departments for immediate action.

Continuous refurbishments have been going on every season to upgrade our facilities and equipment to better accommodate different guest needs. We also have a variety of rooms varying from 35 to 66 sq. m. for you to choose from aside from the 32 sq. m. room you booked during your previous stay. Also, on Sheraton global website, there are several special offers available which includes room upgrade, mini bar discount, free wifi, Sheraton Club Lounge access etc. Please feel free to check it out when you plan your next trip!

Thank you again for letting us know where we fall short and how we can make Sheraton Taipei Hotel a more inviting and comfortable place for guests to stay in.


Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I satyed here for 4 nights, arrived late and the clerk at the desk,older man was not accomadating. Issues were resolved in the morning by the manager. The room was spaciuos and really nicer than expected for this hotel. However, the bed was very hard - like a rock, I asked about the nice Sheraton sweet sleeper beds that were advertised on the website..didnt have them here for sure. The breakfast was very good and there is a MacDonalds close by. Nice stay overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloelnjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear ChloeInjc,

Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Taipei Hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you have encountered during your stay. We would like to understand further what types of issues you had that wasn't immediately addressed by our associates. Please email us at sheraton.taipei@sheraton.com. Your input is most valuable to us as we strive to provide superior services to all our guests.

Regarding the mattress, we are currently in the progress of upgrading our in room facilities. We will take this matter into consideration and take appropriate action.

We thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very comfortable hotel close to good communication links in Taipei.
The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are friendly and very helpful.
One point to note though, there is no wireless in the rooms which mean iPhones et al are useless there. I learned from experience and now carry a mini wireless router to convert the wired connection, sorted.
I'll stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTaipei, Manager at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear L M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the in-room WIFI. Currently the WIFI is not included in the room rate package. However, starting next year, all our rooms will be equipped with complimentary broadband internet and WIFI connection. All you have to do is login with your room number and last name.

We hope aside from the internet connectivity, you had a pleasant stay at Sheraton Taipei Hotel.

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you here again soon!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed in a large, spacious and comfortable room. However overall I thought this was a fairly standard "business" hotel.
Staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough to help
Good breakfast buffet
Worth joining the SPG club to get the better room.

The lobby was quite confusing in the mornings as lots of groups were either staying at the hotel (or arriving to attend conferences there) - they all loitered around the entrance way which made things very busy and chaotic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTaipei, 經理 at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Jo R,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Could you be so kind as to let us know what areas our associates were unable to help you with?

SPG members can receive room upgrade based on availability. If you're upgraded to Executive Floors, you enjoy a hearty breakfast and happy hour at the Sheraton Club Lounge on the 17th floor.

Regarding to the congested crowds in the lobby, we thank you for your understanding as there were several large meeting groups hosting events at Sheraton Taipei Hotel during the time of your stay. We will again ask associates to restore order during busy hours to ensure smooth check-in and check-out process for our patrons.

Thank you again and we wish to see you again!


Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Located centrally in one of Taipei's main thoroughfares, I wish there was something memorable to say about the sheraton Taipei....the reception was reasonable, the room was reasonable, the breakfast was reasonable...everything was reasonable....but nothing was special....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTaipei, 經理 at Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear wbsailor,

We appreciate your feedback. If possible, could you write to us at sheraton.taipei@sheraton.com to share with us what areas we could improve on.

Thank you again and we wish to hear from you soon.


Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Regent Taipei
#26 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#30 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Taipei
#11 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#27 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#48 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Address: No.12, Section 1, Zhongxiao East Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#20 Business Hotel in Taipei
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#39 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 688 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites offer guests a wide selection of room types. The Executive Floors offer executive travelers all the services and facilities they require. In addition, they have to their own Executive Lounge. For our Starwood Preferred Guests, we offer three exclusive floors. All rooms feature high-speed internet access and in-room safe. Butler service is provided for Director Rooms and above as well as all Executive Floor rooms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Taipei
Taipei Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing