We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Taipei
Ranked #72 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I actually stayed here in 2011.
The bed in the room was really comfortable, the room was clean and the bathroom was huge.
The buffet breakfast was good too.
Good location to walk around. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Jennyhann :.

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our service and food. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    342
    98
    23
    17
See reviews for
113
110
73
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I would expect higher standard for the brand. Service wise is excellent, I think if you stay in any hotel within Taiwan, their customer services are always very good.

I think the hotel is a bit old and location is not so ideal. Not near to any mall or night market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Chan_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear David :
We'd like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your valuable feedback is important to us, and we w'd like to share more secret side and popular spot near by the hotel with you .

We apologize for all the inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

we ended up moving to the Westin after being dissatisfied with a different property we checked into earlier in the day. definitely has a conference hotel feel to it. rooms are spacious with the usual heavenly bed and shower that comes with all westin hotels. big desk with printers and every office item you need. loved the spa and fitness center here. guest services was polite and prompt and the check in was great. I believe the agent who checked me in was named Jason. the hotel was nearly sold out but we still got a nice upgrade. Jason was great in making sure we had a perfect stay. location is fairly central in Taipei and a quick ride on the MRT to anywhere in the city. I prefer the W hotel but would definitely stay here again if I am lucky enough to visit Taiwan again.
definitely recommend this property!

Room Tip: the building is designed so that you don't hear all the hustle and bustle from outside. very muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK_ninjaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear DK_ninjaaaaa :
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our spa, fitness and guest service. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,.
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is my second stay within the last couple months and I truly enjoy the stay. The rooms are comfortable - I adore the beds and large pillows! Rachel and Joy are wonderful at the lobby bar - very friendly and wonderful hostesses.
Ryan and Evan at Churchills Cigar Lounge are also very friendly and attentive - makes it nice. Overall, everyone (most) are very friendly and helpful - the front desk staff is great! They say it's a 5 star hotel, but it does need a little updating/fixing. It would also be nice if they had ice makers on the floors - they are very attentive when you have to call down for a bucket of ice, but I would prefer to just walk down the hall and get my own.
I've read where some people complain about the coldness of the rooms, but personally I'm good with it, the bed has a very large down comforter which keeps me nice and cozy and they provide two differnt robes (one heavy one lighter) plus house shoes for when you're lounging around the room.
It's in a good area, close to a lot of attractions and just up the street from the Brown Line MRT,
the night market in town is very small and food only, although there are shops around the corners.

Room Tip: if you have points - UPGRADE, the regular rooms are a little small but they are still comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Annette H :
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our heavenly bed and guest service. We appreciate your valuable comments and sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,.
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

On business trip for 3 days and it was great place. Rooms are very spacious and very nice staff. The location of hotel is also in center.
Front desk extremely helpful in taking care of local language issues and setting up taxis.

Surely recommend this place.

Very nice breakfast spread.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DharmeshBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear DharmeshBangalore :
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our food and services. We sincerely look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I got the 8000twd per night executive superior guest room with access to the executive lounge. Room 1111. Upon entering the room, found 2 long strands of hair in bath tub and a non-working remote. Also the room is painfully small. I am currently living in Hong Kong, so my tolerance of small space is pretty up there. And whatever "executive" room they put me in is definitely not worth the money. I have stayed in other westins and never had an issue with the size of the room before. Requested to switch to a bigger room, but was told need to put up 520twd more per night for the "executive deluxe" room. Forget it, I'll keep my money and just never stay here again. My company (large international bank) booked this for me and it's a preferred hotel, but I will definitely have a word with our head of corporate travel about putting staff in the westin in Taipei. Better off to stay with shangri la or Hyatt. Only good thing is the walkable distance to office.
Also had a bite to eat in the cafe on ground floor, took 40 min for my club sandwich to arrive. When asked, the waiter said the bread was being baked. Really? Cus my sandwich was cold!
Another is about the housekeeping. Which is not just with this westin but with all other westins I stayed at. They r def not the "above and beyond" kinda when it comes to cleaning ur room. The clothes on my chair are never folded. The toiletries clutter r not arranged. It's just small things like that would really put a smile on my face after a long day at the office.
My spouse came to visit me and I told him he can visit the lounge when I'm at work and enjoy the complimentary snacks and drinks. However, this was denied by the executive lounge since he was not a registered hotel guest and needed to pay 1000twd or something like that for lounge access. A little flexibility would really have gone the long way. I'm not asking for him and I to be at the lunge at the same time. Just him taking my place while I'm at work till late. The lounge finished food service at 8pm and I'm never back from the office before 8pm to enjoy it.
Anyways. The hotel did have some good sides too. Like the girl at the lounge made a hot Lemon honey water for me in the morning when she heard me walking in with a cough. Very sweet and attentive. However, with all the other negative sides, the hot lemon honey seems a little too little too late.
Will try to avoid westin in the future. For the money they charge, they should really offer more to accommodate their corporate guests.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear sir :
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. Your valuable feedback is important to us, such as clothes folding issue. The service standard is only when clothes on bed, however, this has to be put into our update profile.
We apologize again for all the inconvenience, and surely will keep bettering our services and facilities to make sure you have a better trip next time.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

A great hotel in the middle of Taipei. Staff was warm and welcoming. Stayed on the executive floor. The room was great! Spacious, very clean, comfortable bed. The lounge had great breakfast selection without the crowd. The hotel was recently renovated and just made it a great place to stay. The gym was not too impressive, could use some expanding. But overall great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Cherish R :
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time here and enjoyed our service.
We sincerely look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
The Sherwood Taipei
#44 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
W Taipei
#11 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Taipei
#61 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Regent Taipei
#29 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#30 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Taipei

Property: The Westin Taipei
Address: No.133 Section 3, Nanjing East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#29 Business Hotel in Taipei
#31 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Taipei provides a unique cultural touch and an oasis for rejuvenation in the financial, commercial and entertainment district of Taipei City’s Nanking East Road. Our hotel is a mere 40 minutes drive from Tao Yuan International Airport and convenient to the MRT. We are also just 15 minutes from the Taipei World Trade Center and the Nangang Exhibition Hall, via the Mass Rapid Transit Muzha Neihu Line.Ideal for both business and leisure travelers, we are conveniently located near major shopping centers and global corporate enterprises. We are very close to Taipei 101 -the tallest building in Taiwan- and not far from the National Palace Museum with its exquisite collections of ancient treasures, as well as night markets bustling with activities.Our Sensory Welcome will help you revitalize the minute you walk through the doors. You will be met with a delightful smile and Westin’s signature White Tea Scented Towel Service, a freshly prepared welcome drink, and Westin music and lighting to create an energizing ambiance. It will make your arrival experience refreshingly unique.288 deluxe rooms, including 42 suites, are comfortably appointed with contemporary amenities and beautiful city views. Each is equipped with our signature Heavenly Bed® for a relaxing night’s sleep. You can re-energize in the WestinWORKOUT® Gym, or work out in the privacy and comfort of your WestinWORKOUT® Room should you prefer. Our dining options offer culinary treats from both east and west, featuring a wide selection of the finest Chinese, Western, Italian, and Japanese cuisines.Find total renewal at The Westin Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Taipei Hotel Taipei
Westin Taipei
Taipei Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing