We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #74 of 564 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Noida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Centrally located, nice place, moderately priced, good for business users! Has 5 different restaurants and very good food!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anshul24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    438
    170
    31
    22
See reviews for
189
115
75
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

The location of the hotel is great - right on RenAi Road so a walk to the ChungHsiao TunHua shopping district, however for the price you can get a more modern place to stay. Beds were hard, it was a little 'old' feeling, the aircon is cold, but the main problem I had was the breakfasts were terrible. So pay a bit more and go somewhere more plush like the Shangri La Far Eastern, or for less money try the new Fullon Hotel (which I did on my return to Taipei)... a new, modern and good value business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimandpetebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

This is an excellent hotel, truly five-star standard. I stayed there for 4 nights in March 2009 in a suite on the 10th floor. The room was tastefully decorated, spacious, and in very good shape with a nice bathroom. The room faced the inner area, so it was quiet, and contrary to an earlier review, I found the piano player barely noticeable in my room. My room rate included breakfast buffet, and they have a choice between Western and Asian buffets. I only went for the Western one, and it was very good. Of course, extras are expensive, like printing or laundry, but that's the case in any four or five star hotel. My stay was paid for by my hosts, so I can't comment on whether the hotel is good value. It's also not directly located in an area with lots of restaurants and entertainment, but it's only one block away from Zhongxiao Rd, which has all the options one could ever want. All in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melbguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei committed fraudulent business practice toward hotel guest

We stayed in two connecting rooms at the Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei from 8/26 to 9/3/2008. The hotel staffs deliberately put us into smoking rooms despite repeated requests for non-smoking rooms and used various means to cover up. (Please see a record of our requests for non-smoking rooms at the end of this letter.)

After the first night at The Howard Plaza Hotel, our son developed respiratory problems. It was so bad that his doctor had to prescribe medication for it. During the first six days of our stay at the hotel, we experienced unusual fatigue and exceptionally low sense of awareness. This is highly abnormal for us since we frequently travel between US and Asia and normally recovered from jet lag within one or two days.

After the sixth night, we found out that we were actually in smoking rooms. We immediately requested to change to non-smoking rooms. We requested compensation for the damage that they had caused to our bodies. The night manager explicitly told us that they knew about our repeated requests for connected non-smoking rooms. They did not reserve the rooms for us and deliberately put us into smoking rooms. They disguised the smell with air freshener and kept the nearby rooms empty for a few nights.

The next day, we requested contact information for Taiwan’s tourism board, Taiwan’s consumer complaint department, and the chairman of the Howard Plaza Hotel. None of the common tourist information was available in our hotel rooms. The hotel staff refused to tell us any of this information. We told the day manager about our son’s breathing problem. We requested a refund for our room fee and compensation for damage to our health. The manager refused to give us a refund and he did not request any medical proof of damage to our health at the time.

After we return to the United States, we had a few conversations with the Howard Plaza Hotel. We demanded refund for our room fee and compensation for the health damage that the hotel had caused us. The hotel asked for proof of harm from a doctor in Taiwan after we came back to the US. When we informed them of our son’s breathing problem at the hotel and repeatedly requested compensation for harm done to our health, they never asked for any proof! Instead they tried to silence us with petty gifts. If they had demanded proof at the time, we would have gladly gone to a doctor for an examination in Taiwan.

The hotel claimed that they are only willing to refund our room fee as “a gesture of goodwill”. They refused to acknowledge the damage that we suffered as a result of exposing to secondhand smoke for such a long time (6 days). The hotel repeatedly claimed that all the studies about secondhand smoke are “misleading”. Furthermore, they claimed that because Taiwan is not a member of the World Health Organization (WHO), they do not need to follow international standards.

Initially, we requested compensation from The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei because we wanted to give them a chance to set things right. Because of their persistent refusal to acknowledge harm to our health and their insincere attitude, we are no longer interested in any monetary compensation. Actually, there is no money in the world to replace precious family time and good health!

Record of our requests for non-smoking rooms

1. We requested two connecting non-smoking rooms through our travel agent.

2. On 8/17/08 at 12:42 pm, I called The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei from the US to confirm the non-smoking rooms. The Howard Plaza Hotel staff stated that they would put us into non-smoking rooms.

3. When we checked into the Howard Plaza Hotel on 8/26/08, we again requested for two connecting non-smoking rooms. The receptionist stated that we will be staying in non-smoking rooms.

4. When we went to the room with the bell boy and asked if the rooms were non-smoking rooms, the bell boy confirmed the rooms to be non-smoking rooms.

  • Liked — none
  • Disliked — The hotel has no respect toward hotel guests
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank Ming88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sherwood Taipei
The Sherwood Taipei
#45 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Taipei Hotel
Park Taipei Hotel
#60 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.3 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#46 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei

Property: Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
Address: No.160 Section 3, Ren'ai Road, Da'an District, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Taipei
#14 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#33 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#52 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 606
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Plaza Taipei
Taipei Howard Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing