We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #85 of 586 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and always look forward to returning. The rooms are very basic but they are clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Staff are very friendly and efficient. The managers often hang out in lobby bar chatting with guests, buying a round of drinks and introducing different travellers to one and other. Very close to lots of great restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: There is an above ground train that runs along one side of the hotel. You should ask for a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardPlazaTaipei, Manager at Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei and being our loyal guest. Your continued support is greatly appreciated.

We are really glad to know that you always enjoy your stay with us. At the hotel, we always strive to offer the best possible service to all guests. Your review really encourages our team. Your return visits and positive review just prove that we are doing the right thing.

Once again, we deeply appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to welcoming your next visit soon.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were on the 30th floor so no street noise. The hotel was relatively quiet (we were spoiled by VERY quiet Hong Kong hotel). Front and Manager Service was very good and food available at hotel was fine. The health club had lots of tread mills but music was BLARING and it was very cold. We had a suite and the two rooms were nice. Beds VERY hard though. Easy to get to subway and fine area to walk around. Everyone eager to help. It's a huge hotel and it seemed VERY busy. Breakfast buffet huge (we avoided the "westerners breakfast spot in hotel). Great array of Asian favorites and some eggs and yogurt. Not sure I would stay there again but only because I prefer smaller hotels generally. I certainly have no trouble recommending it. Oh, hotel car to airport was reasonable and very prompt and quick ride...versus cab coming in which took a long time, surly driver who dropped us off at wrong hotel and insisted we get out.

Room Tip: Get on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaCityProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardPlazaTaipei, Manager at Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us the review. It is appreciated.

First of all, we are glad to know that you were satisfied with our service. At The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, we put our guests at the center of everything we do, and our colleagues are always happy to help when people are in need. Your review here is the best reward to us.

Regarding the situation you mentioned in the gym, your comments have been conveyed to our management team for improvement. We appreciate your suggestions.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a 7 day tour package from Edison Tours. When we first arrived, we were assigned a room on floor 10, which was pretty good. The rooms was not brand new, but I really good shape. The bathrooms were nice and spacious. It even had a bidet, which was kinda nice and interesting. When we checked in again at the end of the the tour, we were assigned a room on floor 6, which was not so nice. It was a dated room and the bathroom was definitely dated as it showed moldy grout, formica looking counters and a regular toilet... Felt a little disappointed after having been spoiled the first two nights :). Anyways, it's always good to ask if the room is newer because you'll definitely be happier! Having said this, the breakfast buffet was pretty good. The abalone congee was the best on our trip as far as congee was concerned. Service is average.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a newer floor...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyVacationLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardPlazaTaipei, Manager at Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you for staying at The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei and telling us your experience of your stay. It is greatly appreciated.

We are truly sorry that our room condition did not meet your expectation. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience and disappointment that you have experienced during your recent stay with us.

We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. To offer our guest the best accommodation experience, we have continued to upgrade the interior and some facilities in the hotel. Your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

Once again, thank you for your support, and apologize for the annoyance happened. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel was close to many shops and was a convenient place to stay. Our family stayed two double rooms on level 5. The room service was good but on the first night both bathrooms drain was blocked and was leaking water.On the second day the drain was still blocked so we decided to call staff to check. They checked our rooms and finally agreed to change us to level nine. Level nine was a better place but we wasted a lot of time. Nevertheless, the breakfast buffet were good and staff were nice. Avoid stay at level 5, as the room was old and the bathroom need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardPlazaTaipei, Manager at Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us. It is our pleasure to serve you.

We are truly sorry that the room condition did not meet some of your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience and disappointment that you have experienced during your stay with us. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better.

Once again, we apologize for the annoyance that this may have caused you. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our premises soon.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Before leaving for Taipei, I had a lot of queries regarding our party of 6, and Reservation answered my emails promptly and to my satisfaction. They arranged airport transfers, connecting rooms and day tours efficiently and patiently.
We stayed for 7 nights, and we'd happily go back again.

The hotel is right between 2 subway stations so it's really very convenient to get to many places. Taxis are also very easy to get.
In all, this hotel is great value for money, especially if you book early and get the early-bird discount.

Room Tip: If you choose the option without breakfast, you can buy buns from the hotel bakery. If you buy baker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auryee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardPlazaTaipei, Manager at Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei and writing us the review. It is greatly appreciated.

We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your trip in Taiwan, as well as our service. At The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, we always put customers at the center of everything we do. Your comments are visibly heartening, and we have shared your review with our colleagues. We deeply appreciate your positive review.

Once again, thank you for your support. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Good location, rooms are average - singles are quite small but suites are worthwhile. For 4 people we booked a suite and a double room which connected. The breakfast buffet is very good - all the American style foods you could possibly crave. The price for the rooms is decent. The reason I rated average instead of very good is because there are some things in need of updating in the hotel. For example the carpet in many areas. The customer service in the hotel is good.

Room Tip: If you have 3 or 4 of you - book the suite connected to a smaller room. It's perfect as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyM96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardPlazaTaipei, Manager at Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei and leaving us your review. We sincerely appreciate your comments.

It was truly a pleasure to be of service to you. We are really glad to know that our breakfast and service have met your satisfaction. We deeply appreciate your compliments.

Meanwhile, we have shared your suggestions with our team for further improvement. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. Your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our premises again.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for work. The room was large and had everything, but was old and looked a bit like my parent's bathroom in the 1980s. On my floor there was a large group of young men who were very noisy, running up and down the corridors and banging on the doors at all hours. The hotel itself is nice though and the staff were very friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank CherylSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardPlazaTaipei, Manager at Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei. We sincerely appreciate your review and comments.

We are really glad to receive your compliment about our service. At The Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei, we always put customers at the center of everything we do. Your generous support is greatly appreciated.

However, we apologize for any annoyance that you may experience during your trip. It's our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

Once again, thank you for your support. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Taipei Hotel
Park Taipei Hotel
#55 of 586 in Taipei
694 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sherwood Taipei
The Sherwood Taipei
#50 of 586 in Taipei
967 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#122 of 586 in Taipei
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eclat Taipei
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#10 of 586 in Taipei
892 reviews
2.3 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 586 in Taipei
1,906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei

Address: No.160 Section 3, Ren'ai Road, Da'an District, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Taipei
#16 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#38 Family Hotel in Taipei
#39 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $140 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 606
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Plaza Taipei
Taipei Howard Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing