We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best buffet breakfast selection in Taipei”
Review of Regent Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Taipei
Ranked #22 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best buffet breakfast selection in Taipei”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good location, excellent buffet! Not to mention with Chrome Hearts store just outside the hotel and Sadaharu Aoki outlet at the basement of the hotel, this is the hotel to stay when you are in Taipei!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybabelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Sunnybabelove, Many thanks for posting "Best Breakfast Selection in Taipei" we appreciate the recognition and look forward to seeing you again soon.
With kind regards
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    497
    102
    25
    24
See reviews for
615
361
122
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had stayed at Regent Taipei 2 nights for 2014 CNY with my family. I had been upgraded to the Tai Pan Room, which is nice, elegant and comfortable room with a firm bed.

Nice rooftop swimming pool but a bit short and small. It doesn't feel good if there are more than 5 people in the pool.

Great breakfast buffet with variety of options, and great service, too.

Parking is a problem, always need to wait for a parking space, and always have to wait for the elevator because there's only one elevator could go down basements to the parking lot from the lobby.

I would say it's a nice hotel to stay in Taipei if you don't drive. ZhongShan MRT station is very close (5-10 mins walk) to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Michelle C, thank you for your comments and we are pleased to hear you and the family enoyed the Tai Pan floor and the rooftop pool. We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.
With kind regards
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the regent for 3 nights in January . The experience was fantastic . Since I faced some language issues I ordered the car from the hotel for pickup . The service was great . I had a hotel rep pick me up after customs and take me to a S class Mercedes. What impressed be more was that limo was wifi enabled . I immediately used it to download my emails and do FaceTime with family .

Before I reached the hotel the limo guy called the hotel so I had a representative waiting for me who took me straight to the hotel room and I was all set signing a few things in my room .

One tip if you don't speak Chinese always take the visiting card from the hotel lobby they have all major tourist attractions mentioned on it on the back in English and Chinese so you can tick it to tell the cabbie where to go .

I wanted to pick. Traditional Chinese tea set and asked the lobby the attendant gave me some options closeby which was walkable with a map . I came back empty handed as I did not get what I wants this gentleman actually did some research found some options and wrote the address in Chinese for my reference .

I liked the breakfast platter I ate in Regent . Good mix of oriental and continental options . Had a huge variety to choose from . I also liked the coffee shop ala carte I are for dinner . They also have a live music and live singer which makes he mood great .

The staff ha overall very friendly and help you with all you need .

I would surely stay if I go next to Taipei .

I

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank imswaminathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Imswaminathan, thank you for posting your encouraging comments about the hotel and team. We are pleased to learn that you had a great stay and you enjoyed the oriental and continental options at the breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
With kind regards
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Have been visiting Regent hotel for at least 20 nights within past one year. Due to its good location, brand-new renovation, great gourmet and excellent service team, I would highly recommend this hotel. Especially thanks to the deputy manger, Jamie during my stay from 1/23-1/26. She not only offered much help when my roommate, an Japanese friend, bumped into the front door and wounded but also sincerely followed up the recovery situation. We all sensed Jamie's hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tseng-Wei-Hao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Tseng Wei-Hao, thank you for your review " Excellent Hotel with Considerate service team" we appreciate that you have recognised the team and given special highlight to Jamie. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
With kindest regards
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent hotel and I have been upgraded to their Tai Pan Room which is very comfortable and luxurious. The hotel is just located about 5 to 7 minutes walk from the Taipei subway and is convenient to everything. But the most important Gem is actually the Concierge. You can throw anything at them and they just return you with an answer which often exceed what you originally requested. Special thanks to Mr. Lai their Chief Concierge for his generous hospitality and congratulations to the hotel of having such an extraordinary Concierge team.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevenpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review "nice hotel, nice location and excellent concierge" We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate that you have given particular attention to our concierge team and our leader Mr Alex Lai. We trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
With kind regards
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

breakfast is amazing, dining options are amazing. The buffet on the first floor is one of the best in town. There is a very upscale shopping area downstairs. The lobby is impressive, especially around Christmas. The area around the hotel has lots of upscale shopping, but it caters mostly to Japanese. It is a great area to walk around with many dining options and shopping areas. The rooms are five star, but not huge. If you can afford the suites, you won't find any better anywhere on the island (Michael Jackson stayed here).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w44566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for posting "best in town" and look forward to seeing you again with us.
With kind regards
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed briefly on a business trip and pleased to see the lobby has been renovated, but other parts of the hotel do need an update, especially the gym where the equipment is really showing its age.

Apart from that, the breakfast buffet is excellent and the rooms are very spacious, if a bit dated.

Overall, a good experience - but with newer hotels to choose from in Taipei, the Regent does need to spruce up the interior to stay up with the best that the city has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil-HK-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for writing your review and that overall you had a good experience with us. We continually look for ways to update the facilities and currently we are planning some soft refurbishment work in areas of the hotel. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.
With kind regards
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Taipei
#11 of 575 in Taipei
2,365 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#42 of 575 in Taipei
1,564 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#34 of 575 in Taipei
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Taipei

Property: Regent Taipei
Address: No.3, Lane 39, Section 2, Chungshan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly The Regent Taipei)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#7 Business Hotel in Taipei
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Family Hotel in Taipei
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regent Taipei has 538 of the most spacious and attractively designed rooms in Taiwan. Standard amenities include the pressure relieving Wellspring Bed, a pillow menu, feather duvet, large marbled bathroom with deep soaking tub and separate shower, 24-hour room service, complimentary wireless Internet, satellite TV, stereo, in-room safe, and mini-bar. On the top floors of Regent Taipei is TAI PAN Residence & Club, an all-butler hotel that coalesces the traditional Oriental milieu with contemporary comfort, where one can Experience Modern Chinese Lifestyle. Also found in the hotel are the Wellspring Spa urban resort, the state-of-the-art Health Club & Sauna, complete meeting and banqueting facilities, a rooftop pool, the Regent Galleria that provides a world-class shopping venue to cater to the needs of global luxury travelers, and eight world-class restaurants that offer traditional and innovative cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing