We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best quality hotel in Taipei”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent Taipei
Ranked #29 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best quality hotel in Taipei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at there one night for business trip. Everything was awesome : Reception staff, concierge, room quality, service, hospitality, foods and drinks, everyting must be top of quality in Taipei area I have ever stayed.
I really recommend the Regent Taipe if you visit Taipei for any purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takabayacchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear takabayacchi
Many thanks for posting your positive comments about our team and quality of service. Please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next business trip to Taipei, so that I may assist with your reservation.
With kind regards
Morton Johnston
morton.johnston@fihregent.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    463
    94
    24
    23
See reviews for
499
317
108
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My first time to stay at the Regent I'm Taipei and I'll definitely stay there again. The location is great, the staff was wonderful. Great value and an overall better experience than the very high-end hotel that I usually stay at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Scott G
Thank you for reviewing the Regent hotel and team with a “Great Experience”. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. All the best for now.
With kind regards
Morton Johnston
morton.johnston@fihregent.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My 3 nights at the Regent Taipei were outstanding. The hotel is first class with great food, outstanding service and excellent facilities including the gym. The staff were extremely attentive and responded immediately to my lost key request.

I will definitely stay at the Regent on my future trips to Taipei

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear jim B
Thank you for your review “Outstanding Property and Service” We look forward to seeing you again shortly and please let us know in advance so that we can take care of your room arrangements.
With kind regards
Morton Johnston
morton.johnston@fihregent.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Originally we were planning to stay in Tokyo but changed to Taipei after last minute change of plans. After looking at many hotels in Taipei, all the global brand name hotels in Taipei (Starwood hotels, Hyatts etc) are very expensive. For the budget we have in mind (about 200-220USD), we were choosing between Okura Prestige, San Want Business, and The Regent, we chose to stay at The Regent Taipei for 4 nights.

After booking Superior Room via Hotels.com (they have specials with buffet breakfast package), we contacted The Regent and they preallocated a cot for our 9 month old baby.

When we arrived at the hotel on 6 September, we went through the side entry because the main lobby was on the final day of renovation. So there was a small temporary check-in desk. As a result of the renovation at lobby they offered us: Access to Hospitality 519 lounge, free newspaper, free welcome gift (in my case it was a box of The Regent Taipei Oolong tea leaves), free mini bar per stay (not refilled), and laundry allowance of $300NTD per day. This was very good gesture from them, and was most appreciated by us, especially that next day morning the new lobby opened anyway and we were not really affected in this stay. We certainly used the free mini bar option, and also used the laundry credit to wash some clothes!

The hotel itself was formerly a Four Seasons hotel, before becoming Regent Taipei. Location wise it is good in the middle of Zhongshan area, with short walk to Zhongshan Metro station. It is not as touristy as Xinyi/Taipei 101 areas where most new Starwood hotels and Grand Hyatt are located. However there are still a lot of shops around The Regent. There are buses that get to The Regent Taipei from Taipei Taoyuan Airport but we caught the taxi there to/from airport (around 1200NTD each way).

From the outside, doesn't look as grand as other major brand hotels, but once inside, you could feel the class of the hotel from the new lobby and the open bar/foyer area. At night there were constantly a lot of people eating and drinking with live music and singing. This place oozes with class and elegance.

The Superior Room is the lowest category but it was 39sqm which was really big! The room style is classic and not those modern design but it was very elegant. The marble bathroom is huge! The room is certainly very comfortable, and even with the very nice wooden cot, there were still a lot of rooms left! Now some people commented that the room is dated and needs renovation, but I believe that it is more of the hotel maintaining the classic design, and some people prefer the modern hotel look. Our room has the view of the park and also Taipei 101 from afar.

The service in the hotel were exceptionally wonderful. They were very courteous, and always willing to spend time to explain everything, but also not too professional to not include small talks. This allows the service to be much more intimate than other standard 5 star hotels I have tried.

The buffet breakfast at the Brasserie was fantastic: It had Taiwanese/Chinese, Japanese and Western breakfast options provided. The range were great and very delicious. Unfortunately we did not have opportunity to try out other restaurants at The Regent.

At the underground level there are The Regent Galleria where it has many designer shops for shopping. There are also gyms and also swimming pools but we did not have time to try them out.

This place is truly wonderful and we have amazing time here. It is definitely a true 5 star hotel, with total elegance and class that beats many international brand 5 star hotels that I have tried. Very highly recommended and I will have absolutely no hesitation to stay there again when I come back to Taipei.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, and ask for room with a park view. Check for rooms with buffet breakfast package...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kamchatsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear edisondownunder
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of the Regent Taipei. The team appreciates your kind comments regarding their personalized service. We look forward to welcoming you and all the family on your next visit to Taipei. I trust you will let us know in advance so that we can make the necessary arrangements. Once again many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you soon.
With kind regards
Morton Johnston
morton.johnston@fihregent.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

in paying a friction of the price which you would need to pay for other 5 stars hotels in taipei, this is a great choice and I highly recommend because of i trust you will find this is truly, value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Raymond L
Thank you for reviewing the Regent as a great choice in Taipei. Let us know the next time you will be returning. Hope to see you again soon.
With kind regards
Morton Johnston
morton.johnston@fihregent.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived at the hotel the hotel was being renovated and the driver had to circle the hotel to find an entrance. The lobby was very nice despite the fact that they were renovating. There was a small of resin which was powerful. The hotel did it's best to make my stay very pleasant despite the construction. The room was very big and I loved the pool on the roof.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Richard A
Thank you for staying with us during our renovation period which has now been completed and the hotel is back in full operation again. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope that we will have an opportunity to make this up to you on your next visit. Please contact me personally and I will ensure your room arrangements are upgraded to our executive floor.
With kind regards
Morton Johnston
morton.johnston@fihregent.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is simply ... GREAT! Absolutely perfect, the rooms are big, wonderful and fully equipped with everything you may need, the personnel is very kind and qualified. It has a well organized conference center (I used it). Highly recommended for business purpose (the price is high :-).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Marco P
Thank you for highly recommending the Regent Taipei for business trips and for recognizing our experienced team. Please do let us know the next time you will be visiting Taipei and we will be pleased to assist with making a good deal for your room arrangements.
With kind regards
Morton Johnston
morton.johnston@fihregent.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#28 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
1.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#11 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#49 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#46 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Taipei

Property: Regent Taipei
Address: No.3, Lane 39, Section 2, Chungshan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly The Regent Taipei)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Taipei
#7 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Family Hotel in Taipei
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regent Taipei has 538 of the most spacious and attractively designed rooms in Taiwan. Standard amenities include the pressure relieving Wellspring Bed, a pillow menu, feather duvet, large marbled bathroom with deep soaking tub and separate shower, 24-hour room service, complimentary wireless Internet, satellite TV, stereo, in-room safe, and mini-bar. On the top floors of Regent Taipei is TAI PAN Residence & Club, an all-butler hotel that coalesces the traditional Oriental milieu with contemporary comfort, where one can Experience Modern Chinese Lifestyle. Also found in the hotel are the Wellspring Spa urban resort, the state-of-the-art Health Club & Sauna, complete meeting and banqueting facilities, a rooftop pool, the Regent Galleria that provides a world-class shopping venue to cater to the needs of global luxury travelers, and eight world-class restaurants that offer traditional and innovative cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing