We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost paradise in bustling Taipei city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landis Resort Yangmingshan
Ranked #224 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located in Yangmingshan National Park which is a short drive from the city centre, this is an ideal resort for a weekend getaway from the city. Cosy rooms with tatami, tea set and interesting disposable slippers you need to figure out how to use! Spacious common hot spring areas area can be filled with locals who are club members. Meeting room facilities also make this a resort popular for company meetings and retreats.

Wake up to the mountain morning mist and chirping of birds. Almost paradise...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for The Landis Resort Yangmingshan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 87 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staffs we encountered were not smart nor experienced, they looked like college student doing summer job.
But we LOVE the room design, the tatami, the hot spring tub, the kettle set, the lighting, just splendid!
The breakfast was quite good, but again, the staffs were kinda aloof.
The pool was closed due to maintenance when we were there. In the evening a lot of old ladies living in the area came to use the hot spring as their bath house and chat room.

Room Tip: If you were to stay there, choose the rooms with hot spring tub in the room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wonderful experience. Great escape from the metropolis of Taipei. A short half hour by cab from the heart of the city. Extremely helpful staff, they couldn't do more to help. They even located a bar for us playing the Lions v Australia rugby game for my husband. Great base for hiking. Lovely pool and hot springs.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Jaime J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I only stayed a night here (unfortunately) but really enjoyed it. Not particularly prepossessing upon first acquaintance its raison d'être soon becomes apparent – hot springs…

In the basement are two well-appointed hot spring rooms, one large with huge steaming baths; the other more intimate and with views over pleasant Zen-style garden features. The rooms are swapped every day between men and women, meaning one eventually gets to try both. I spent as much time there as possible, loving every steamy, sulphurous and relaxing moment of it. Do however be aware that, as with most such hot springs in Taiwan (i.e. modeled in the style of Japanese onsen), one needs to be comfortable being naked in the company strangers and one’s own same-sex companions (friends, family – or, in my case, colleagues). Leave your inhibitions at the door and you’ll have a wonderful time. But if that’s all a bit too much, rooms (such as mine) with private plunge-pool baths also are available.

Set along a long corridor, the rooms are (again) modeled after a Japanese onsen resort, right down to the tatami mat and futon bed. Bathrooms – standing shower and plunge-pool bath – are set next to windows with a wonderful view of lush green mountains. Great place to soak and unwind.

Beyond the hot spring action, other hotel highlights include a large (and clean) outdoor pool (bring a shower cap, just in case), restaurant (my entirely-acceptable breakfast was served here) and efficient fuss-free staff. Not a lot of English is spoken but enough to deal with all the basics. Staff are, as with most Taiwanese, unfailingly friendly, courteous and attentive.

I liked this place and would happily stay there again. I still smelled slightly of sulphur when I got on the plane to go home :-)

Room Tip: Room 311 is very nice...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoamingNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business, running a workshop in the hotel conference space.

The conference space is very good, though some of the equipment is a bit tired. The high humidity had caused rust in some of the chars we had for attendees.

Conference staff messed up the catering, and were very reluctant to accomodate any changes.

My hotel room was comfortable, and a little eclectic, feeling more like traditional style than a standard hotel. Bar service is very slow, with most staff seeming not to understand how hotel systems, which seem mostly manual, work; they are preoccupied with the paperwork over serving guests.

I went looking for an iron at one point and was told by the desk staff that the hotel was unable to supply one.

I'm sure the hotel and its hot sulfur springs are popular for that purpose, and if I'd come on that basis, I think I'd have been much happier with my stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the valley. I looked out on a back street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trib22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean, and everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because as a previous reviewer mentioned, it's not easy to get to, and you have to depend on taxis. We ventured out and took the subway (we're experienced subway users!) and we were able to get to everywhere we wanted. The main thing is having a good local map handy and a metro line map. All subways have signs in english, so we didn't have a problem arriving at our destinations. We were able to get along fine, so if you're adventurous and have maps handy, this hotel is perfect. We also had the buffet breakfast-brunch, and our picky-eater-boys were able to find food that they enjoyed, and everything we had was fresh and very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melovechocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is located on Yangmingshan which is not the easiest to get to if you don't have a car. The hotel can run a bus shuttle down to the city then this hotel will definitely deserve "excellent".

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and had a late check-out. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in getting us taxis and provide pointers to neighboring eateries. Our hotel room faced the mountain, we could sit in the private hot spring tub and watch the mountain and rain. It was a very relaxing and romantic weekend. In a weekend, we filled up the hot spring 3 times and fully took advantage of the view and the room facilities. I highly recommend this hotel especially if it is on sale around (150-180) for a room facing the mountain.

Be sure to budget taxi rides up and down the mountain or figure out the bus schedule so you can visit different places. There are only a few restaurant options in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taipei
Jingshan / Wanli District
Tsuwu Hot Spring Hotel
Tsuwu Hot Spring Hotel
#22 of 182 in Xinbei
56 reviews
Silk Valley Resort
#226 of 574 in Taipei
41 reviews
Beitou District
Hotel DOUBLE ONE
Hotel DOUBLE ONE
#55 of 574 in Taipei
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Gaia Hotel, Taipei
#87 of 574 in Taipei
192 reviews
Hotel Royal Beitou
#129 of 574 in Taipei
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landis Resort Yangmingshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landis Resort Yangmingshan

Address: No.237 Gerzhi Road, Yangmingshan, Beitou District, Taipei 111, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $173 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landis Resort Yangmingshan 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Landis Resort Yangmingshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landis Resort Yangmingshan Hotel Taipei
The Landis Hotel Yangmingshan
Landis Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing