We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible , not maintained and more like hourly hotel”
Review of Ximen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ximen Hotel
Ranked #391 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there on 25-27 July. Think this is the worse choice I have ever made. Building is rundown, rooms are old. Toilet certainly needs an upgrade. They should be called a hourly motel instead of hotel as they do take in hourly request and you could see the hourly couples sitting at the sitting area waiting for their rooms. The only consolation of this motel is the location. Certainly will not go there again.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Eve_Chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here by November 2013 for total 6 nites. We booked 2 room but we only get one room when the time we check in on 4pm. We have to wait until 7pm only get another room, very bad service. The room is not look alike what we saw inside the hotel website. The bath room condition is terrible. Room condition is acceptable. Location is good as it is close to MRT station and shopping street.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hweeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nites. The whole building looks very rundown. The carpet is very old. The bathroom is old. Feels horrible to walk barefoot in the room and bathroom. The door to the room looks old and and be kicked open anything without much effort. The building is also a fire hazards with things blocking exits. Don't think anyone can find their way out in the event of fire. Do not stay there if you can. Do your best to avoid this hotel. Only saving grace is the location. But then there are many other nicer hotels around the same area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sporty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had 2 Standard Double Room, the rooms were dirty, dusty and smelly... very old furnishing, their website stated like they renovated in 2012? Apparently not all their rooms are upgraded. The wifi connection is bad too, I cannot even received it inside the room, only along the corridor.... they don't pay attention to cleanliness, the extra blanket that I requested was stained and torned at the edges... These rooms only have double bed, no single bed available...unless you top up more cash. One of the bathroom was slightly better but the door lock was spoilt, cannot close. Yes the toilet bowl will get choked easily, be careful....

Room Tip: Wonstar II hotel is just a few steps away.... that will be a better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tlee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is not a hotel, but a hostel. Actually a quite run down one. Nightwear was taken with the sheets and thrown into the laundry, from which they did not return. Location is good though. That compensates for having no breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't even think of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WhereIsMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location was great. Just a few minutes walk from xi men station exit 6, however this is a 'love' hotel, dirty and not good for family. Toilet is old and need refurbishment. Old or stained bedsheet should be changed away instead of washed and reused. it is a short time hotel also ,not recomend for travel with young children. The room not cozy and can not sleep because of it

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon reaching the so-called Hotel, our trip was ruined by it. We booked online via agoda and paid the Superior Deluxe Room. When we checked in, the room was super small. Basically when you opened the door, it's the bed within 1-2 steps. And the first thing we saw was a thick collection of dust on the wall ledge. We checked the other areas upon seeing the dust and realised that the handle of the bathroom door was loose, some minor stains on the towels plus the dusts again, on the air ventilation in the toilet. The chair in the room was smaller than a normal stool. We were in fact calm about all these until we went to the counter. We asked if the room was standard room and the lady at the counter replied yes. We reverted very nicely that we booked and paid for superior deluxe and the reply was that every room is almost the same! We had one thought in mind then~WHY the different PRICE if all the room is almost the SAME? She offered us two other rooms for us to view and see if we wanted to change, we went to check...the room has no windows one thing which is not a big matter...the thing is,it stinks of smoke. The lady told us that they cannot control what the customers want to do in their room~ and while we are deciding if we should change rooms, the lady called and rush us to return the keys. In addition, she told us that we have used the room and because of that we cannot change room anymore. The sad thing is~we called Agoda and still they refused to refund us money or charge us standard room price. we have to pay for 2 nights stay although we only stayed for a night and we actually sourced for another hotel last minute. Totally felt being SCAMMED. There are alot more affordable and nice hotels out there people, just don't go to this hotel. Looking at those corridors remind us of those scary movie motels... and ya, only level 6 is newly refurbished i think...and the reception is located on the 4th storey. Definitely will not go back to this hotel nor will book hotel through Agoda again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janvierice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Wanhua District
Muzik Hotel - Ximending Xining Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wanhua District
East Dragon Hotel
East Dragon Hotel
#200 of 585 in Taipei
161 reviews
Just Sleep Ximending
#16 of 585 in Taipei
1,448 reviews
Wanhua District
Hotel Papa Whale
Hotel Papa Whale
#130 of 585 in Taipei
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ximen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ximen Hotel

Address: 2F., No.78 Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Taipei 10842, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Wanhua District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $42 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ximen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ximen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing