We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location but 'Hostel' Furnishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
Ranked #67 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Concurring with most comments here, this hotel has one of the best location in Ximending. Lots of shops around, right above a small shopping mall and is next to a busy road with abundant of cabs. Easy to locate, easy to move around.

This hotel has very innovative 'touches'. Had a good laugh at myself when finally discovered that the "Do Not Disturb" sign is a door magnet- fun & cool concept! Washer and dryer on the 6th floor is a good value add but didn't get to use, as they were used by other guests during the few times I tried my luck. The ginger range bath foam and shampoo were great. Staff was mostly helpful, polite and efficient.

On the other hand, (Not that I did not expect it -but to help manage the expectation of those who are evaluating this hotel), the layout was terrible. The sink and toilet cubicle (with door) were almost right in front of my bed with no separator (probably no choice due to the small room size). I felt like lying on a bed in a public toilet, facing the sink with a cubicle next to it. Everything else in the room feels like a student's hostel. Most walls felt like gypsum boards and not real walls. Soundproofing is as good as none. Not sure, if I was just unlucky, but if you are thinking of booking this hotel, try to ask for better rooms (if any and if available). Breakfast has almost the same menu everyday- only 2-3 types of changes.

Overall, I think the stay was ok as I was out most of the time and only there to sleep bah! High chance that I will not return to this hotel, unless the room's layout and soundproofing improve.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your recent amba experience with us.

First of all, thank you for your general recognition towards our location, concept and amenities chosen exclusively for our friends from around the world. Yet, I am truly disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectation with our room layout and breakfast selection. Your valuable comments have been taken note and will surely deliver to departments concerned for any future improvements needed.

Thank you once again for your precious feedback. We are always here to welcome you back whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.


Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 695 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is located in the midst of the hustling and bustling Ximending of Taipei yet it is quiet and calm inside. The room is not big yet reasonable. The design of the hotel is unique with a modern taste of its own. The staff is courteous and efficient. The food of its restaurant is surprisingly good - fresh and delicious though you can find all kinds of eateries near the hotel. If you are crazy about shopping the hotel is just above a four-floor department store building in addition to shops around in the area. Staying here gives you a good taste of old city centre of Taipei. There are always things happening outside the hotel, including street performances. You won't be disappointed if you have a liking for night life!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waihang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

It is and always has been our utmost goal to bring the most enjoyable stay to our valuable guests staying with us. And I am truly delighted to learn that our team is making this happen during your time with us from your every word shared. Your generous recognition is, by all means, the greatest encouragement and inspiration to the entire amba team.

Thank you once again for your kind words toward amba. We look forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.


Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I booked the balcony room at their website, they do offer a special rate if you booked early, the room was spacious and comfortable, very uniquely design i might add. The reception is located at the 5th floor of a shopping centre, the entrance was quite hard to notice but they do have a very BIG "AMBA" sign on the building so at least you wont miss it. The service is great, the cleaner is also very friendly. The breakfast like everyone says " ITS GREAT!", it offers a great variety so you wont be bored of the food or out of choices. There's always have activity at their "TING" ba cafe, do drop by if you have spare time. I'll come back if I going to Taipei again. The hotel is located at Ximending which is just beside 2 cinemas and a comfortable distance from MRT Ximen.

p.s : remember to take the flipflops!


Stayed the for a week from 19/11/2013 - 26/11/2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerdsnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for sharing your recent amba experience with us.

I am truly delighted to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us. Your high recognition is indeed the greatest motivation to keep us on striving for a higher standard of service provided to our valuable friends from around the world during their time us. Thank you for such a wonderful encouragement and inspiration!

We look forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.


Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My family and I stayed with the Amba Hotel in May for 3 nights before heading home to Singapore. Overall, we were satisfied with the services and facilities of the hotel. The first impression of the hotel was good from the Reception to the coffee house to the rooms. Amenities were sufficient, rooms were cleaned and nicely decorated and location of the hotel was great as within walking distance to the malls and local food centres. We would recommend this hotel to our friends/colleagues/relatives. Hope to be back again in the near future...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RM_GWSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for sharing your recent amba experience with us.

It is a true happiness to learn that you had an overall enjoyable yet satisfied stay with us. Your wonderful feedback and recognition is very much appreciated and will surely be shared with the entire amba team, whom I believe will be highly motivated.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.


Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in amba for 3 nights and the room was very spacious and comfortable with good air con and wifi. The room came with the usual toiletries but also toothbrush and toothpaste and slippers in which the hotel actually encourages guests to take them home (and I did as they were trendy!). The shower room and toilet were separate which was good as there were three of us sharing a room.

The breakfast buffet was great with a good variety of choices (try their hash browns!!) The stylish, cosy restaurant and bar is a must for those who likes to chill.

In terms of location, amba is centrally located with shops and restaurants right by the door step. The nearest metro station is only a good 5-10 minute walk.

All in all, a nice trendy modern hotel with friendly staff and if I return to Ximending, I would definitely head back to amba.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your recent amba experience with us.

It is truly happy to learn your general recognition. It is and always has been our utmost goal to bring the most enjoyable yet memorable time to our valuable guests staying with us. And I am truly delighted to learn that our team is accomplishing this during your time with us from your every word shared…

Thank you once again for your precious feedback. We look forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.


Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is the same building of Eslite Ximenting but different entrance when getting in the hotel. The lobby is not ground floor and the impression is modern & stylish.

The room size is enough. The washing basin and bench is outside the toilet and bathroom. I like this bench because of long and spacious for me to put things on it. Toilet and bathroom are separated. The flip-flop provided by the hotel is so cute and lovely, I really love it so much. The hotel provided 2 bottles of water in free everyday.

Since the hotel is located Ximenting and there is plenty of food we could eat. The transportation is convenient. When you leave the hotel, just find way to walk to the center of Ximenting and then you can see KFC, then Ximen MRT station is on the left.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idasweetdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for sharing your recent amba experience with us.

It is a true happiness to learn your wonderful impression with amba regarding our design and room layout. Moreover, I am delighted to know that you like the slippers that specially designed for our friends staying with us from around the world. It is, by all means, the greatest encouragement to the entire amba team knowing that our aim to bring small yet fun surprises to our valuable guests has been well-received…

Thank you once again for your precious feedback. We look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.


Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Taipei for almost 7 days. And we love Amba! Rooms are clean and simple. By Taipei standards, room size is decent. Free wifi and decent speed. Staff is freely and love the "BA" concept to it. Located only 8 mins to Ximen MRT station. Since it is in Ximending, it's very lively area and convenient. Breakfast spread is decent and staff is overall very friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank ThomasChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your recent amba experience with us.

It is truly happy to learn your recognition towards amba regarding our rooms, breakfast and location. On top of all, I am most thrilled to know that our staff could make prompt assistance during your time with us. Your kind words will surely be shared with the entire amba team, whom I believe will be very much appreciated.

Thank you once again for your precious feedback. We look forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei.


Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
WESTGATE Hotel
WESTGATE Hotel
#53 of 582 in Taipei
1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#13 of 582 in Taipei
1,414 reviews
0 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#28 of 582 in Taipei
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
amba Taipei Zhongshan
amba Taipei Zhongshan
#74 of 582 in Taipei
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Midtown Richardson
Hotel Midtown Richardson
#129 of 582 in Taipei
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#42 of 582 in Taipei
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to amba TAIPEI XIMENDING? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Address: 77 Section 2 Wuchang Street, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — amba TAIPEI XIMENDING 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
amba Taipei Ximending is located in the heart of trendy Ximending shopping and entertainment area in Western Taipei, just five minutes’ walk to the Taipei Metro Ximen Station, one metro stop from the Taipei Main Station for high-speed rail, and only 20 minutes’ drive to Taipei 101. Nominated as one of the best hotel openings by Wallpaper* magazine in 2012, amba Taipei Ximending occupies levels 5 to 10 of the fashionable Eslite shopping complex on Wuchang Street, junction of Kunming Street. This hip, eco-friendly hotel features free high-speed WiFi access hotel-wide, 160 contemporary guestrooms with separate rain shower, and free use of a self-service laundry room. Extra large rooms, loft rooms and balcony rooms can accommodate up to four adults, ideal for friends and family to share. Dining options include chiba – an international all day restaurant for fun dining, tingba - a retro chic music lounge, and tianba – a bakery with an alfresco courtyard. Best of all, there are many locally inspired fun elements awaiting for your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your amba TAIPEI XIMENDING reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing