We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable artsy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
Ranked #68 of 584 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Amba ximending during our stay November, which was an excellent time to travel, weather was dry and cooling- thoroughly enjoyable.

The hotel is actually within a shopping mall and located about 7min walk from the nearest ximending station. Not a far walk as you would be surrounded with lots of shops and restaurants along the way.

Hotel staff spoke fluent English and were very polite and helpful. Overall great service from the reception staff. The interior design of the hotel were really funky and artsy from the reception area to the bar and dining to the room corridors. Really cute!

The rooms in Amba were of a minimalistic design, brightly lit and very clean. We were impressed with the slippers provided as there were of good quality which can be taken back with you. Amenities provided were of a local brand sold and can be bought at the reception area if you like.

Despite Amba being within a shopping mall it had made an effort to design the rooms with a window that overlooks the foyer and dining area downstairs. This made for a nice design.

We would definitely be coming back the next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear amba guest:

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and spare time to highlight your amba experience with us.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location and hotel design that you had an enjoyable time with us.

Most importantly, I am delighted to know that our staff could be of assistance and made prompt response to your needs during your time with us.

Thank you once again for choosing ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back again to Taipei!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 694 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd time staying at Amba (feb 23-3 March 2013).This trip I n my family 5 of us staying in one big room,same as last yr the big room we stayed.(9 march-16March 2012).I n my family member love this hotel very much. We really find out this is the best hotel in ximending .to wat I know this hotel guest & hotel staff all r youngster.If I come back Taipei , still Amba no other choir ...Amba ...还是..你吧!!! 别无选择。。。。住吧!!! Amba hotel.I will be back....看吧!!!等吧!!!来吧!!!
明年...见吧!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorismiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear amba guest:

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and spare time to highlight your amba experience with us for the third time!!
I am glad and touched to learn that you had yet another enjoyable stay with us. Your gracious support is by all means the greatest encouragement and inspiration to the entire team.

Thank you once again for choosing ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back again to Taipei! amba 等您來吧!!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my bf visited taipei for the first time . The hotel was excellent . Staff were very friendly and helpful . Room was very clean . But if there was a bathtub , it would be better .location is very good , 5-10mins to Ximen mrt station . We felt very safe staying in AMBA hotel for 4 nights .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear amba guest:

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and spare time to share your amba experience with us. I am happy to learn that you had an overall enjoyable time in Taipei and with us.

It is and always will be a pleasure to receive genuine feedback from our valued guests and I am thrilled to learn that our staff could be of assistance and made prompt response to your needs during your time with us.

Thank you once again for choosing ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next (and more) trip brings you back to Taipei!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my first time visiting Taipei and I loved every minute of it thanks to Amba. This hotel is smack in the middle of Ximending which is really where you want to be as a tourist. I loved how modern and simplistic the rooms are. There's nothing fancy here which is perfect if you just want to catch some shut eye before embracing another day's worth of adventures. The breakfast is delish! We had a small glitch with our room safe and had to call concierge for help. Sure enough, staff arrived in less than 5 minutes. No complaints here! Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear amba guest:

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and spare time to share your experience with us. I am glad to learn that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable one.


It is and always will be a true pleasure to receive genuine feedback from our valued guests and I am thrilled to learn that our staff could be of assistance and made prompt response to your needs during your time with us.

Your positive feedback and observations regarding our convenient location and room decor will surely be shared with the entire team whom I believe will be highly encouraged.

Thank you once again for choosing ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Modern hotel in the middle of Ximending. Nice decor throughout, good friendly service. Decent sized room (large double) with separate toilet room, walk in shower, corridor with sink and clothes hanging space (see picture) with curtain divider to bedroom. Nice toiletries provided and good quality flip flops too for use around the hotel and also to take home. Aircon, flatscreen TV, safe, tea/coffee making facilties. Bedroom has absolutely huge bed and small window (no decent view from my room). All in all a very nice, clean and modern room. My only gripe with this hotel is the timing of breakfast. It closes at 10am every day, so if you have a late night on Saturday chances are you will miss Sunday breakfast because at 10am they actually start to clear away. The breakfast I did get on Monday morning was pretty good, decent choice and set in an interesting laid out and decorated cafe with a few quirky touches. I like this hotel for its location and its style.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and spare time to share your experience with us. I am glad to learn you enjoyed our convenient location and unique style that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Your positive feedback and observations regarding our location and decor will surely be shared with the entire team whom I believe will be highly encouraged.

Thank you once again for choosing ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a bright, happy and prosperous Year of 2013!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Location is in the middle of XMD, on a pedestrian street. One would need to walk approximately 100m from the road to reach it.

Hotel is clean and bright, with a minimalistic decor that reminds one of the Japanese brand Muji.
Checking in was prompt and service was great, which is what the Taiwanese are famous for.
However, the 1st corner room we were led to on the 5th floor had such a strong smell of cigarettes. It was fresh cigarette smell, and obviously the housekeeping tried to mask it with a generous spritz of lavender room spray- which didnt help a single bit at all. The room also look smaller than what we had booked.
After voicing our dissatisfaction over the counter, we were given another room on the 8th floor, which look slightly bigger and of couse, smells much fresher.

Overall stay is great, with great food around the hotel. Few popular hotpot restaurants which opens up to 4am is nearby too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, General manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is a true pleasure to receive genuine feedback from our valued guests and I am glad to learn that our staff could be of assistance and made prompt response to your needs during your time with us.

Thank you once again for your support towards ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a bright, happy and prosperous Year of 2013!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is in good shape and have central location in Ximending. It is in a middle of a shopping area for young people. All the shops and restaurants in the are are for young people. You reach the Metro in a few minutes. Our room was large but had only one small window.

It is a good hotel but the restaurant is not good. The restaurant tries to be "Upmarket", both the food are more lika fast food and the service is slow and not syncronized. We had dinner for three persons. Our food took between 20-40 minutes! And one person got his main course after 20 minutes and the last of ous three got his after 40 minutes. The main courses we ordered was a burger and two different types of paninis.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, General manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location during your stay with us.

Further to your concerns regarding the service in the restaurant, I have met with the department manager concerned to highlight the issues and urge improvements needed. Thank you for your kind reminder.

Thank you once again for choosing ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a bright, happy and prosperous Year of 2013!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
WESTGATE Hotel
WESTGATE Hotel
#54 of 584 in Taipei
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#13 of 584 in Taipei
1,411 reviews
0 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#29 of 584 in Taipei
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Midtown Richardson
Hotel Midtown Richardson
#127 of 584 in Taipei
628 reviews
1.3 mi away
amba Taipei Zhongshan
amba Taipei Zhongshan
#73 of 584 in Taipei
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#43 of 584 in Taipei
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to amba TAIPEI XIMENDING? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Address: 77 Section 2 Wuchang Street, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 584 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — amba TAIPEI XIMENDING 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
amba Taipei Ximending is located in the heart of trendy Ximending shopping and entertainment area in Western Taipei, just five minutes’ walk to the Taipei Metro Ximen Station, one metro stop from the Taipei Main Station for high-speed rail, and only 20 minutes’ drive to Taipei 101. Nominated as one of the best hotel openings by Wallpaper* magazine in 2012, amba Taipei Ximending occupies levels 5 to 10 of the fashionable Eslite shopping complex on Wuchang Street, junction of Kunming Street. This hip, eco-friendly hotel features free high-speed WiFi access hotel-wide, 160 contemporary guestrooms with separate rain shower, and free use of a self-service laundry room. Extra large rooms, loft rooms and balcony rooms can accommodate up to four adults, ideal for friends and family to share. Dining options include chiba – an international all day restaurant for fun dining, tingba - a retro chic music lounge, and tianba – a bakery with an alfresco courtyard. Best of all, there are many locally inspired fun elements awaiting for your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your amba TAIPEI XIMENDING reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing