We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
Ranked #68 of 584 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is nice. I like it especially cos the internet is given free even in the rooms. The connection is great! They provide with almost everything. Towels, soap, shampoo, shower gels, toothbrush, toothpaste and even slippers. You are allowed to bring the slippers home. They provided breakfast too. Since I am a muslim, can't eat the food except for the bread and cereal. At least there is something rather than nothing. The ambience is nice. :-)

Stayed: March 2012
Thank SafiahArshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for chossing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!
We are so glad that you like amba and enjoyed your stay with us. Just as what you mentioned, instead of throwing used slippers away, you are very welcome to bring them home! amba is an environtmental friendly hotel and would like to invite our guest to join us. Many thanks once again for your valuable comment and support.
Whenever your travel brings you back in Taipei, we are always looking forward to seeing you again at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 694 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed at the Amba as part of a conference group this March. Conveniently located in the heart of Ximending, the hotel is close to lots of shopping, food, transportation, and bars at the Red House. Amba is tastefully furnished with spacious double rooms, though, for colleagues, the double beds may be placed a little too close for comfort and the frosted glass doors for the toilet and shower may still feel much too transparent. The breakfast buffet is delicious with both Chinese and Western treats for you to pile onto your plate(s) -- congee, doujiang, noodles, omelets, sausage, bacon, ham, salad (?), pastries, yogurt, and cereal. The fresh squeezed juice and fruit was great as well. Reception, dining, and the lounge were all very pleasant to spend time in. Lastly, for Chinese speakers, the pun reproduced throughout the Am-ba will be sure to charm as well -- wen-ba (reception), chi-ba (dining), xi-ba (laundry), chuan-ba (guest slippers), etc.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comradetaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear amba guest,

Greeting from amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!
It's our pleasure that you and your colleagues choosed to stay at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING. If you need any assistances or more information about amba, please don't hesitate to contact us!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and truly look forward seeing you soon !

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I n my 3 friend check in 12/3 out 19/3 8dys.This hotel is not first i wan ,because this week is high peak no more hotel in ximending.I got no choice n except.Is not easy to find this hotel if u r new,because this hotel also new.almost all the taxi driver dont know.if u dont know chinese worst...but wen we step in the hotel we love it very much.the hotel room is so clean,huge n modern.can sleep 4 to 6 person,the bed is so comfortable aircon n wifi is good....all the staff there r very friendly n helpful.And i find that this hotel specialty is all young staff.one of the staff Michael i would like to thank him .wen we check out that day the driver dont know the way to drive in because we got 11 luggage n is raining day he really help us alot.Amba hotel is the best in Ximending good shopping n sourrounding area got alot of 小吃 dont worry u will lost,because is in middle of Ximending.Amba hotel i will come back again n highly recommended to all my friend.I will teach them in chinese not hotel name (意舍 ) is 诚品武昌街二段比较容易.only this problem u all hv to slove it n also easy for the taxi driver.ya one more thing to mention,most of the taxi driver r good n patient.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorismiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear dorismiko,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your experience with us.
We appreciate for your valuable feedback.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and will definitely provide clearer directions on our website and will work closely with taxi drivers to ensure greater accessibility.
Your feedback is a big motivation to our staff and we will definitely share this with Micheal and amba team.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, Whenever your travel brings you back in Taipei, we are always looking forward to seeing you again at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This hotel has just opened it's door in February 2012. It's brand new and it's very modern and funky.

First of all, it's recommended to ask the hotel to arrange airport pick up as ordinary taxi drivers don't know this new hotel (It only costs $1300 NTD). It's actually situated on top 6 levels of a department store.

When I arrived, there was a friendly hotel staff at the ground floor escorting me up stairs to level 5, where the lobby it. It is very spacious hotel lobby with funky and modern decorations. This is where the hotel bar and restaurant is. Breakfast is included and it has a great selection of western and Taiwanese breakfast (I have to say it is much better than the buffett breakfast in some of the 5 star Australian Hotels).

I have the median size single room which is spacious enough for me with large bath room (and a large modern shower head.... so comfy) and a large toilet.

The bed is so comfortable and the room is very modern. Hotel also provides free wifi.

Staff is extremely helpful and friendly (and warrants 5 star rating).

Location is unbeatable. It is right in the middle of Ximending where all the action is, cinemas, restaurants, department stores, fashion stores, cafes. MRT station is only a short 5 min stroll.

I highly recommended this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear Canberra ,

On behalf of the on-site staff and the Management Team, it has been a pleasure for us to serve you for your stay in amba TAIPEI XIMENDING.
Thank you for staying at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your valuable comment with us, it is guests like you who took time to provide us with feedback truly allow us to improve our services and facilities.
Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you and we all sincerely looking forward to serving you in the future!

General Manager
Teresa HUANG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed @ Amba Hotel for 2 nights and was blown away by how good this hotel is. Was a bit confusing for the cab driver as they can't actually drive up to the front door and the hotel is very new, but apart from that this place had everything. Make sure you have the directions in Chinese to make it easier for the cabbie.

The rooms were huge - myself and a friend stayed in two King Size rooms and they were true to their name. The bed was massive and could have fitted 4 people comfortably on it. And relative to other hotels in the area, Amba seemed quite inexpensive and excellent value for money.

The hotel itself has some very nice touches and funky design put into it, and this is very evident in the restaurant/bar. We ate breakfast there one morning which had a great selection of foods. We also ate dinner there one night and it was incredible and excellent value. Stayed for some 2 for 1 cocktails in the bar and relaxed in this very funky place. The staff throughout are very friendly and speak good English and were most accommodating.

The surrounding area is great for shopping too and the hotel is right in the heart of it all. It's about a 5 minute walk from a train stop and cabs are cheap anyway and readily available. This was my first trip to Taiwan and if and when I do come back, I'll be checking into the Amba Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear ipcollins ,
We would like to say thank you for your encouraging comment. There is nothing better than a satisfy guest that has stay with us! Your compliment will definitely be passed along to our staff who will be much honored.
Just as you mentioned, amba TAIPEI XIMENDING is certainly the best location to be near all the action of Taipei - including the nightlife, bars, restaurants, shopping malls, even museums and other Taipei sightseeing.
Whenever your travel brings you back in Taipei, we are always looking forward to seeing you again at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!
Teresa HUANG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have 3 persons in family and wanted to try a new hotel. Chanced upon AMBA and how glad we were staying there! The room was huge...in fact the large twin could have accomodate 5 persons! It come with huge sofa - depends on the room configuration. The toilet and shower are separated which is good if you have more people in the room. And ample moving space. And the breakfast spread is just fabulous. I would definately opt for AMBA Ximengding when I visit taipei again!

Room Tip: We have tried large twin with two different room configuration. Both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karan_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Dear Karan,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your experience with us. Your compliment will definitely be passed along to our staff who will be much honored.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whenever your travel brings you back in Taipei, we are always looking forward to seeing you again at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!

Teresa HUANG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reonarwhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
WESTGATE Hotel
WESTGATE Hotel
#54 of 584 in Taipei
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#13 of 584 in Taipei
1,411 reviews
0 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#29 of 584 in Taipei
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Midtown Richardson
Hotel Midtown Richardson
#127 of 584 in Taipei
628 reviews
1.3 mi away
amba Taipei Zhongshan
amba Taipei Zhongshan
#73 of 584 in Taipei
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#43 of 584 in Taipei
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to amba TAIPEI XIMENDING? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Address: 77 Section 2 Wuchang Street, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 584 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — amba TAIPEI XIMENDING 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
amba Taipei Ximending is located in the heart of trendy Ximending shopping and entertainment area in Western Taipei, just five minutes’ walk to the Taipei Metro Ximen Station, one metro stop from the Taipei Main Station for high-speed rail, and only 20 minutes’ drive to Taipei 101. Nominated as one of the best hotel openings by Wallpaper* magazine in 2012, amba Taipei Ximending occupies levels 5 to 10 of the fashionable Eslite shopping complex on Wuchang Street, junction of Kunming Street. This hip, eco-friendly hotel features free high-speed WiFi access hotel-wide, 160 contemporary guestrooms with separate rain shower, and free use of a self-service laundry room. Extra large rooms, loft rooms and balcony rooms can accommodate up to four adults, ideal for friends and family to share. Dining options include chiba – an international all day restaurant for fun dining, tingba - a retro chic music lounge, and tianba – a bakery with an alfresco courtyard. Best of all, there are many locally inspired fun elements awaiting for your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your amba TAIPEI XIMENDING reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing