We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is key”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NiHao @ Taipei Hostel
Ranked #23 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed a total of 5 nights at this hostel. The first 3 nights we stayed on the 4th floor in a double bunk bed room with shared shower. The 4th floor is equipped with 2 showers/bathrooms, and the tap has a small device that converts the tap water into drinkable water, which was a nice touch and very convenient for us. However, the remaining 2 nights (we took a break between to stay in Chiufen) we stayed in a twin bedded room on the 5th floor. This floor only had 1 shower, which meant at any one time there were at least 5 other people you had to share the shower with. There was no device for drinking water, was disappointed us.

Both room types on both floors were equipped with standard room lights, small mirror (panel mirror for 5th floor and round mirror with magnifying side on the flip side for 4th floor), hairdryer, a box of tissues, television and bed lights, as well as power sockets near each bed, which was nice. The beds were comfy and bedding/comforter very comfy.

Service-wise it really depended on your luck- the hostel hires undergraduates to man their counter, which is open 8am-11pm daily. The first few days we had a swift check-in and the counter staff were friendly and chatty (one bespectacled tall-ish girl was particularly helpful and nice) but the second time we arrived they were training a newbie and seemed more interested in chatting with him than us, which put us off. Also, we had arrived at 3:50pm, only to be told to wait 10 minutes as the check in was at 4pm. Inflexible much, huh? At 4pm I stood at the counter waiting, and it took them quite a while to remember and realize we wanted to be checked in.

On the other hand, the winning part about this hostel is really the location. Once you step out of Taipei main station M3 metro, just walk straight for 3 minutes and go into the building next to cosmos hotel, level 11 and you’re at nihao @taipei. The location is so convenient to get around town, out of town, and to and fro from the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor seem to be better than the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrabbyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 198 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

The value of money you pay you will expect to have a small double room. ( I am staying in double room with private bathroom and toilet). However the room is very clean and quite and night.

The location is just half minutes walk from the metro exit and very easily find. You can also easily find a good place to eat hearby.

Staff in here is very helpful and you really enjoy to chat with them. You can find a lot of info in common room and you can serve yourself a free coffee if you want. Common room is really a good place to stay.

The only thing is you need to buy yourself a tissue roll because the cleaning lady did not help us to refill a new one after we use them up. Luckily I had some reserve in my luggage otherwise I will have a problem.

Anyhow, this is only a minor thing and I am very satisfy for this hostel and will recommend this to everyone go to Taipei with budget

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

First of all, niaho is a hostel type place of stay. D not expect the room or bath to be huge. However the location is excellent and the place is clean. make sure when you stay there do not make a mess in the room as there is no room service available. You can only check in at 4 in the afternoon but you can leave your luggage there. The service is friendly and there offer super cheap laundry service. Clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Take room ensuited with private bathroom if you do not like to share bathroom with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank StevenChiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My mum and i stayed in Nihao from 9 to 14 mar in a twin room with ensuite bathroom. The location is fantastic, right next to Taipei main station exit M3. The room is a bit small but just right for me and my mum. The bathroom was really small. I can hardly bring in my clothing as there is no shower curtain to separate the shower area. Nihao gave me two 'broom' which i can use anytime i need them to makeup the room. One for change of bedsheet and one for sweeping the Floor.

Nihao does not provide free towels but you can rent from them for NT50. Even though, no breakfast was provided, they provide free coffee tea cereal and biscuits. Breakfast was not an issue as there is a nice coffee place- ikari coffee which is located a few steps fr the commercial building.

Two negative point which i can point out is that the bed is too soft and walls are too thin.

Overall, i will recommend Nihao. The staff makes my stay a memorable one. They are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10PiPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

From Taipei Main station MRT, look for exit M3 Cosmos hotel, and you are right at the doorstep within a few steps. Is an ajoining commercial building with the hotel. Take the slow elevator to 11 floor for check-in. Modern bath facilities and pantry. Ratio of bunk of 6 pax to 1 bath: complete with rain shower, basin, toilet. Spacious double deck wooden bunks with huge lockers, individual bed reading lights and international power outlet. 200 metres or one block away, Express bus (1 hour) to Taoyuan airport runs every 15 mins, NT120. The cons is that you will be awaken with late nite check-in guests and noise from lockers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moshimoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nihao@Taipei is a good choice for budget traveller. It is very close to Taipei Central Station so it is convenient for travelling around Taipei.
Staff are very nice and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and equipped with hair dryer and worldwide plug!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wkhkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 twice for a night each in both the 6- and 8- female dormitory.

ROOM
The rooms were kept warm in the winter, something other places in Taiwan lack, and the 2 showers/toilets in each dormitory were enormously helpful for 6 to 8 girls, especially with two additional sinks and toiletry storage space in the 8-room dorm. Plenty of privacy with the screen and curtains. Hair dryer in room, and a washing board/pail for anyone needing to clean their clothes.

SECURITY
Security is pretty alright with room access only by card, and even though the rooms are located near other offices, cameras are placed outside the rooms and presumably monitored round the clock.

LOCATION
Near Taipei main station with trains (both HSR and otherwise), bus stations, metro and shopping malls within walking distance. Along busy part of town but actually really quiet in the rooms.

SERVICE
It was a pleasant stay and the staff are friendly and helpful, and allowed me to keep one of my bags for a couple of days. Used their laundry service and clothes came back clean and folded neatly, which was great. Reasonably priced considering the time I saved not looking after said laundry!

No breakfast is provided, but this is Taiwan! They do have free coffee/tea the entire day. It is a little pricier than most hostels, but considering the quality and location, it is pretty value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leepypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.7 mi away
We Come Hostel
We Come Hostel
#9 of 290 in Taipei
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Work Inn TPE
Work Inn TPE
#36 of 290 in Taipei
110 reviews
1 mi away
Meander Taipei Hostel
Meander Taipei Hostel
#1 of 290 in Taipei
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taiwan Youth Hostel & Capsule Hotel
0.5 mi away
Space Inn Hengyang Branch
Space Inn Hengyang Branch
#11 of 290 in Taipei
237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taipei Discover Hostel
Taipei Discover Hostel
#15 of 290 in Taipei
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NiHao @ Taipei Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NiHao @ Taipei Hostel

Address: 11F-5, No.41, Sec.1, ZhongXiao W Road, Jhongjheng District, Taipei 10041, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range: $19 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NiHao @ Taipei Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NiHao @ Taipei located right next to Taipei Main Station, the hub of transportation in Taipei and Taiwan. You can freely get on any kind of public transportation systems. It offers stylish dormitories and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hostel has a lounge with computers and a TV for guests to enjoy.NiHao hostel is a 5-minute walk from Shin Kong Mitsukoshi Shopping Complex. Another business hub of Taipei is located at ZhongXiao FuXing Station, just 3 metro stations away from Taipei Main Station. Shida Night Market is a 10-minute drive away.Each room and dormitory comes with a personal locker for each guest. A personal reading light is located next to each bed. Stylish shared or en suite bathrooms come with toiletries and a hairdryer provided.Luggage storage is available at the hostel’s front desk. Fax and photocopying services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your NiHao @ Taipei Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing