We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY HOTEL WITH PATHETIC SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
FX Hotel - Taipei Nanjing East Road
Ranked #113 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DIRTY HOTEL WITH PATHETIC SERVICE”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Visited this hotel on a weekend at afternoon 2 pm.... waited at the reception for check in about 45 minutes .... the staff at reception was extremely as if they were doing favours on us ...when i asked them to please check me in fast ...she says we are very busy and not having ...weve not even had our lunch....after a long wait then we know that the rooms are there but not cleaned ...so we had to leave our lugguage a go out ....we came back at 8 pm ...the room was cleant .... but i still found it not pleasant ....bathrooms were stinking ....walls had dirty marks in many colors ...red...black ....room sizes are very small .....its cheap ....it on a good location...but no use for my next trip and would not recmmend to anyone else either.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rakesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    255
    60
    28
    11
See reviews for
60
102
58
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

<5 min walk to Nanjing East Road Metro Station.

Very clean!! Housekeeping does a wonderful job daily.

Plumbing awesome.

Shower is amazing.

Bed is comfortable.

Quiet.

Modern decor.

AC works wonders.

Free wifi.

Because it is relatively new, some taxi drivers don't recognize the name. Tell taxi driver it's next to the Westin, which they know well.

Didn't try hotel restaurant nor its other amenities.

Would definitely stay there again.

Strongly recommend for travelers of all purposes.

Staff speaks good English.

Very helpful staff when I needed directions.

Non-smoking rooms. Didn't have any cigarette smell which you often find in many hotels around Asia.

Small refrigerator in room.

Free in-room safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willwu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights and here is the breakdown of our stay:

1. Location: Central but not within walking distance to any sights or shopping malls. Our cab driver from the airport knew the location of the hotel but, as other reviewers have suggested, if your cab driver doesn't know FX hotel, try mentioning the Westin and direct the driver to the building next to the Westin hotel. There are local eateries scattered all around the hotel but it is not possible to walk to Taipei 101 area in the hot, humid weather. We had to always cab to place we wanted to go to during our stay which was a bit inconvenient, especially compared to the latter part of our trip when we stayed at the W Hotel and everything seemed to be within walking distance. FYI - it takes about 40 minutes from the airport to the hotel with no traffic and costs about 1,100 TWD.

2. Rooms: Modern and very clean. The room has an open-concept bathroom so it lacks some privacy but the overall layout of the room was pretty good. The bed was comfortable and there was a separate shower and bath tub. The walls are a bit on the thin side, especially when the housekeeping staff are talking directly outside the room but it was not overly distracting. The water pressure in the shower was awesome.

3. Service: Good. Not spectacular nor friendly but acceptable. We did not have any communication problems even though we speak very little Mandarin. There is a map near the elevators that you can take with you to get an idea of what is around the area. We used the map to get to the HSBC nearby to withdraw cash and hotel staff was helpful in clarifying directions to get there.

4. Amenities: Wi-fi in the room worked fine without any problems. The exercise room is quite small with only a couple of machines and no free weights or space to stretch out. Breakfast was included in our daily rate and we only ate breakfast once because the food selection was terrible and there are better places to eat breakfast including traditional Taiwanese breakfast consisting of soy milk and fried doughnut. Ask for recommendations from the front desk at the hotel and try local places.

Overall, this hotel is a good choice if you can get a cheap rate and you've been to Taipei before. If you are first-time travelers to Taipei, I recommend paying more and staying at the W Hotel if you want to be within walking distance to a lot of different sights.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenApple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on my weekend trip to Taipei. Since I flew in to Songshan airport insted of Taoyuan, this was an excellent hotel to stay. It took about 10 minutes from the airport and was within a walking distance from the MRT. The hotel is close from the city center and there are nice restaurants and stores near by. The hotel was in a big office building occuping only few floors and the locals did not know about the hotel. But since this hotel is right next to the Westin Taipei you can tell the taxi driver to take you to the Westin. Also a starbucks is located in the Westin for coffee lovers and a MOS burger is just across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pooky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I stay 3 nights. Taxi driver normally don't know this hotel. But when u mention Westin Hotel, they will surely know where to go. Because FX hotel located just next to Westin. So mention Westin hotel to taxi driver if he doesn't know where is FX. This hotel is actually taken up a few floors in an office building. Location is quite good which is around 300m to metro station. Lots of small shops around for food as well. Liaoning night market is nearby but this night market is so small that there you can walk through it in 1min. Only food stalls in this night market and nothing else. The concept of this hotel is funky and modern. I mean they decorated it like a disco or a night club. Black color for almost all furniture and walls. Even the light looks like a disco itself. The room is clean but got one smell when enter. But after awhile we get use to it. There is no bath tub but there is a big office table in the room. They should remove this table and make way to larger toilet or room. Wireless is strong and smooth. LCD TV hidden in wall cabinet. Bathroom shower is excellent. For trendy room, u will have curtain covering the bathroom rather than a wall. Mean u can see people showering when curtain remove. Overall, hotel stay is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigtupai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

“for the price i paid, roughly half price off the rack rate, it was simply awesome and couldn't ask for more!!” if there's good promo for this hotel (which i got), try it out and it's definitely worth the $$$ paid! very very helpful front office staff and although i won't be expecting 5-star service like the neighbor (westin), they were still available to aid if you have any questions at all .... from food to forex (forex limited to very few places, so be warned). superb for business, couples, singles and those who are looking for gd value when there's a superb offer like i got!

Room Tip: new (open end-2011), trendy and convenient to mrt (subway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed in FX Hotel Taipei for 2 nights. It was our first time at this hotel, and at booking, we were attracted by its reasonable price, trendy furnishings and being fairly new. We were not disappointed.

FX Hotel is situated right alongside Westin Taipei. A lot of the taxi drivers have not heard of the hotel (as it is new), so telling them it is besides Westin is an easy way to direct.

The hotel is situated within 7 mins walk to the nearest MTR station, which connects easily to the shopping belts of Taipei (like Ximending, Zhong Xiao, etc)

The hotel shares the same building with an office block, and the lobby is relatively small.

The staff are helpful. The rooms are fairly spacious, and comes with warm and trendy furnishings, a lounge chair, and a study table in each room.

The bed is very comfortable, and the room layout is efficient, and yet more than enough room for all our luggages.

Full toiletries are provided, and their shower gel and shampoo are amongst the best quality we have used in Taiwan (and we have stayed 3N in Sheraton Taipei too).

The breakfast at the hotel is a disppointment, though. Limited variety and below average in terms of quality. We decided to have breakfast at Din Tai Fung on our second morning instead.

All in all, for the price of the rooms, its comfort and good location. We'd recommend to our friends, and would also stay again for our future trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerdayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 576 in Taipei
1,367 reviews
Swiio Hotel
#32 of 576 in Taipei
667 reviews
Hotel 73
#20 of 576 in Taipei
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Suites Taipei Nanxi
#95 of 576 in Taipei
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FX Hotel - Taipei Nanjing East Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FX Hotel - Taipei Nanjing East Road

Property: FX Hotel - Taipei Nanjing East Road
Address: No.131 Section 3, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — FX Hotel - Taipei Nanjing East Road 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FX Hotel Taipei Nanjing East Rd is conveniently situated in the hub of commercial region in Taipei City of the ZhongShang district. Hotel rooms are inspired by Baroque elements with a classic and trendy design. Features of the hotel include the integrated "Connect 7" which can be found on the top floor, where guests can feel technology and relaxation at once. If Connect 7 does not fulfill your needs we have a VIP conference room which offers spacious seating up to 80 people, and customization is available upon the guest's request. On the ground floor you can experience your senses and indulge in our contemporary Chinese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your FX Hotel - Taipei Nanjing East Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing