We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with Your Food.”

Din Tai Fung (101 Branch)
Ranked #13 of 12,646 Restaurants in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
323 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Fun with Your Food.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After exploring Taipei 101 mall and observatory deck, we headed to the basement food area and easily found Din Tai Fung. At 4:30 pm there was no wait and we were seated within minutes. We were given menus in English and given instructions how to order by checking off what you want on the order slip. If you’re not sure what you want, just select a variety of their signature dishes but you must have the signature pork XiaoLongBao dumplings. A side note – we were told that the chefs experimented with different variations but the best is each dumpling weighs exactly 21 grams and has 18 folds. The shrimp and pork potstickers were a favorite and so were the sesame and taro buns.
All the staff speaks English and are very helpful in assisting with your order, showing you how to properly eat, refilling your tea, clearing plates, timing your orders so your table is never empty and your desert comes at the end. We were seated right in front of the window into the kitchen and it was very interesting watching them make the dumplings. The bill for our family of 4 came to 1500 NT$. Do not miss this great dining experience-we had a lot of fun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lightningboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,838
    1,082
    249
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delish, but did you know you can go in Seattle?”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Fun atmosphere with green tea pouring in my cup after each sip. The girls working were eager o help with menu selections and anything else you may need. Clean, clean, clean restaurant. Enjoyed the dumplings and the beef noodle soup. I just might look them up in Seattle!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colorado626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dumplings at its best avatar - Soup filled dumplings”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was on a business trip, my partner and his wife suggested to show me Taipei 101 and said they'll make me eat best dumplings of my life.

We arrived at the place as per the booking made. We were seated at the place and 1st thing came was obviously the hot green tea. I gave full authority of ordering to my partner as they were locals n frequent to the place.

One after another around 10 different dihes came in 5 types of dumplings, 3 types of rice and the crispy fried packet (one of which is uploaded in pics by another viewer)

Normally am not a fan of Chinese Cusine but this was best ever experience, I ate like monster that evening......my stomach was full but heart still wanted more.

Their signature dish is this liquid filled dumpling, this hot soupy liquid ooez out of the dumpling as you puncher it in your mount. Absolutely fantastic cuillinary experince.

Will be visiting this place in every Taipei visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDPharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent service with their signature dumplings”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Having tried Din Tai Fung in Singapore before, we definitely took the chance to come down to this outlet at Taipei 101 when we were in Taiwan last December to see if there were any significant differences, since Din Tai Fung originated from Taiwan itself before expanding elsewhere in recent years.

And my verdict? I would say the food served is more or less consistently of the same standard, but the service given by the staff are even better than what we had experienced in Singapore. When we entered the restaurant after about an hour's wait due to the long queues, the waiter helped us to cover our belongings with a white cloth. They also helped us to take a picture for us together without even us asking. Very excellent service indeed.

As for the food, the dumplings (xiaolongbao) is a must-try, as this is their signature dish. The beef noodle and fried rice are also highly recommended as well. You can get to see the chefs at work while you eat since the kitchen can be seen through transparent glass panels. Be sure to come a bit early or do reservations first since the queue can be rather long on weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“when in taipei, this place needs to be visited”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

long queue, full of tourists, situated in the corner of a mall food court...
but great restaurant with delicious dumplings.
perhaps due to the fact that we queued up quite late we waited less than half an hour before we were shown to our table.
their portions are quite substantial so try to order in small quantities to try everything.
i believe there are other branches but if you are not familiar with taipei, this branch is the easiest to get to without speaking the local language.
a must when in taipei.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fortysomethingmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung (101 Branch) also viewed

 

Been to Din Tai Fung (101 Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing