We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but might not stay again if given a choice”
Review of Swiio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiio Hotel
Ranked #25 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A new hotel with a youthful concept: lounge reception area with large projector screen (similar to hostels), pantry area for guests' usage. They have rooms from level 5 & above. Reception is at Level 6 (Note: a nightclub is within the same building, accessible by a separate lift. Front desk staff assured us that it only operates till 10pm). Each level (except reception) can only be accessed if u scan your room keycard.

SERVICE
Pretty good and prompt service and staff were polite as well. They even allowed us to leave our luggage overnight with reception (even though our check-in date is the next day). Changing of reservation was also promptly attended to.

Bad experience 1: Staff told us our room was not ready when we arrived at 2.45pm to check-in (although check-in time is 3pm). When questioned, they say it's because we mentioned (the day before) that we would be leaving our hand luggage when back in Taipei and be back by evening. To be honest, this sounded more like an excuse as they should have sufficient time to clean the rooms between 12pm-3pm. Nevertheless, we had no choice but to come back at a later time even though tired from the journey back to Taipei.

VALUE
Given the rates we paid, we would have opt to stay at JustSleep Ximending instead (but they were fully booked).

SLEEP QUALITY
We slept soundly and quite comfortably (surprisingly) so either we were too tired or there was absolutely no noise at all. The bed and pillows are comfortable and room humidity was just right.

CLEANLINESS
Hotel is new hence cleanliness isn't an issue here. Basically the room was kept in pretty good condition and we see no stains on the sheets as well. But do note that despite being a non-smoking hotel, the smell of stale smoke exists in both the rooms we have come across (although the 2nd one was much better as the smell is not as strong as the 1st).

LOCATION
Right in the heart of Ximending (one street away from Rainbow Hotel). There is a 7-11 within short reach and shopping easily available downstairs. MRT exit is also within short walking distance.

ROOM
Honestly, this is one of the smallest room I've come across in Taipei (other rooms I've stayed previously were larger than this). But surprisingly the small area can accommodate a small lounge corner and space for our luggages and such. There is no window but isn't a big issue since we were outside most of the time.

Electric kettle, free snacks, shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush+paste, comb, shower cap, razor were provided. Wardrobe is just a metal pole (open concept). Free wifi available (even ethernet cable is provided).

Bad experience 2: Staff told us the hotel does not allow smoking within its premises but when we entered the room, the smell of stale smoke was quite distinct (I have very sensitive nose), we immediately called the front desk to ask for a change. Luckily another room is available hence we were moved over promptly.

OTHERS
The safebox can be moved! (believe someone else commented also). The mini fridge is totally useless (could be damaged) as the temperature does not go below 27 degrees.

Hotel offers private car service to the airport at pretty good rates but the car which came to fetch us was dirty and even had a small dead cockroach at the backseat (but the driver is friendly and chatty though).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window if you tend to feel claustrophobic without one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swiio, 經理 at Swiio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay . We are so delighted that you were satisfied with our service and facilities. Additional, we are very concerned about your experience at our hotel. We are improving the issue.

Thank you once again for your advice and we are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards

Neo Lin
Supervisor
Swiio Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 750 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Although our room was fairly basic, the hotel does have a good size comfortable lounge/reception area if one wants to enjoy his/her complimentery coffee while taking a break. Complimentery coffee is of good quality. There is also a little kitchenette with a microwave in the same area. Staff is helpful. We really like its youthful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luch209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swiio, 經理 at Swiio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear valued guest,

We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at SWIIO Hotel Taipei. Thank you so much for visiting with us and taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and share them with our staff,It helps to motivate the staff and it lets them know their hard work pays off. Once again thank you for staying with us. And we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely

Neo Lin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Since our Scoot tickets were cheap, we decided to splurge a little on a hotel that cost slightly more than our usual budget and happened to find Swiio. After looking at layout plans and sizes we decided to go for the Deluxe Double rather than the Standard or Superior. The rooms and decor are exactly as pictured on their site. For the price I found the room wonderfully nice and spacious despite some of the reviews saying it was small. Location is also excellent. There wasn't anything that we didn't like about the place and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The only strength I could think of this hotel is the location. Located in the heart of 西门町。but the room rate is expensive. Room are small. Be careful what u say because next door can hear it. Decor is beautiful. Wifi coverage still need improvement. Staff service behavior still have improvement. The most annoying part staying in this hotel is to alway bring the key card to activated the floor u want to go. Wireless speaker is a plus the room it need time to know her! Unless I really need to stay in 西门町 and other around hotels are full, I will then consider it.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank sarrono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As mentioned in the any reviews, the room is really small. However if you travel around Taipei , why do you spend time in the room? Xi men ding is till crowded a 1 midnight , so it is good even if you return after a visit to one of the fabulous night markets round. The train station is on the major blue line and you can easily transfer to other lines or the main trains. If you prefer the local food, the eatery like 365 snacks 2 mins away will fill you . Morning breakfast like soya bean is also around the corner. The staff at the reception make you feel young and it is. Just enjoy the hospitality of the people , spend time to talk to them and you will appreciate that even the cashier have time for you. The prerequisite is some basic Chinese and you will be able to figure out by asking especially at the mrt train station .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank holidaymanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in the hotel.
We took scoot and arrived really early around 5AM+ at the airport. So knowing the late check in timing of the hotel, we took out own sweet time to get to Wan hua area.
When we finally checked into the room we got a shock.
The Hotel lobby and the room walkways were nicely decorated. The room we got was so tiny for the amount of money we paid for.

It was ridiculously small, once you opened the door you just walk less than 3 feet you can get ONTO the bed. There wasn't any space to put the luggage except right infront of the bed.
The space was just nice for the luggages to lie flat.
The toilet was small and the water temperature is not consistent. It gets really hot for no reason then when you turn it down, it becomes ice cold. So throughout the trip I could only either shower with extreme hot or cold water.
The soap dispenser was faulty and it even came off throughout the five days.
Another point was that the walls were paper thin. I could hear the next door television program playing.

I wouldn't recommend paying the price to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank batengtengteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It can easily happen to get room without windows and room is very small. Staff will not give you warning about this fact and after you ask them if you can change the room, they said that hotel is fully booked. Staying in the room is very claustrophobic. Good thing is location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
0.3 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#40 of 587 in Taipei
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Relax 5
Hotel Relax 5
#14 of 587 in Taipei
425 reviews
0 mi away
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
#66 of 587 in Taipei
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiio Hotel

Address: 10F., No.72, Sec. 2, Wuchang Street, Ximending, Taipei 10844, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $63 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SWIIO hotel is located in central Taipei’s Ximending area, just 300 metres from Ximending MRT Station. Located 1 km from Taipei Main Station and Longshan Temple, the hotel offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and an iPod dock. Modern rooms feature soothing pastel colours and come equipped with a flat-screen TV with cable channels. Tea and coffee-making facilities and a safety deposit box are provided. Hotel SWIIO is 1.5 km from Huashi Street and 6 km from famous landmark, Taipei 101. The hotel offers laundry services. Fax and photocopying is also available upon request. Luggage storage facilities are provided at the 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing