We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for traveling around”
Review of Swiio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiio Hotel
Ranked #29 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As mentioned in the any reviews, the room is really small. However if you travel around Taipei , why do you spend time in the room? Xi men ding is till crowded a 1 midnight , so it is good even if you return after a visit to one of the fabulous night markets round. The train station is on the major blue line and you can easily transfer to other lines or the main trains. If you prefer the local food, the eatery like 365 snacks 2 mins away will fill you . Morning breakfast like soya bean is also around the corner. The staff at the reception make you feel young and it is. Just enjoy the hospitality of the people , spend time to talk to them and you will appreciate that even the cashier have time for you. The prerequisite is some basic Chinese and you will be able to figure out by asking especially at the mrt train station .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank holidaymanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 692 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in the hotel.
We took scoot and arrived really early around 5AM+ at the airport. So knowing the late check in timing of the hotel, we took out own sweet time to get to Wan hua area.
When we finally checked into the room we got a shock.
The Hotel lobby and the room walkways were nicely decorated. The room we got was so tiny for the amount of money we paid for.

It was ridiculously small, once you opened the door you just walk less than 3 feet you can get ONTO the bed. There wasn't any space to put the luggage except right infront of the bed.
The space was just nice for the luggages to lie flat.
The toilet was small and the water temperature is not consistent. It gets really hot for no reason then when you turn it down, it becomes ice cold. So throughout the trip I could only either shower with extreme hot or cold water.
The soap dispenser was faulty and it even came off throughout the five days.
Another point was that the walls were paper thin. I could hear the next door television program playing.

I wouldn't recommend paying the price to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank batengtengteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It can easily happen to get room without windows and room is very small. Staff will not give you warning about this fact and after you ask them if you can change the room, they said that hotel is fully booked. Staying in the room is very claustrophobic. Good thing is location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

While the location of the hotel is right smack in the Ximending district, the design first seems funky and engaging but once you get to the rooms and the halls, it turns somewhat claustrophobic once you leave the lobby at the 6th floor.

When we arived on 4th May 2013, we were told that our room would only be ready at 3.00pm since we had booked a triple room instead of the normal double bed. So we waited for the extra hour and walked around Ximending (Which isn't that huge either), when we got back, we were told we needed to wait ANOTHER hour because the last guest checked out late and they had no time to clean it up.

4 hours of walking on the streets was really too much and we asked if there were other rooms avail to which we were told they only had ONE triple room and it was the biggest etc etc. When pressed for a solution, they offered to:

1) Switch to a double bed at the same price with no refunds
2) Receive a pair of slippers worth TWD700 (That's what they think it's worth) as compensation.
3) Continue to wait.

It was ridiculous because we had waited and it was not our fault to have to bear for the other guests but the staff made it in such a way that we had no other choices but to either downgrade and NOT get any refund of difference or just wait on at the lobby.

When we saw the room, it's really a joke that they call it the largest room since it was just 3 beds squeezed into one really small room. There was no view to speak of unless one has a fetish for air-conditioning condensers. The air-conditioning was on Alaska mode and could not be adjusted nor switched off so we were basically freezing. Unfortunately, due to the increased number of tourists allowed to travel to Taiwan from China (From 5000 to 8000) we had not much of a choice of hotels as even the hotel of our first night was already fully booked and we weren't allowed to extend.

The novelty of this hotel wears off very quickly once you settle into it. This is more for student travelers or friends on a budget trip.

Room Tip: Don't bother with window rooms, there isn't much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located at Ximending and is just a 5 mins walk to the MRT station. The entrance is a little discreet, but just keep a lookout for TGIF and walk a few doors down. The lobby of Swiio is actually on the 6th floor of the building, while the rooms occupy the higher floors. Only hotel guests are allowed to go up to the room levels with the key cards, so there is no need to worry about security. We arrived at the hotel in the wee hours of the morning and it was way too early to check-in, so we deposited our luggage bags with reception until we returned at night.

To be frank, I would not recommend this hotel for families as the rooms are very compact (i.e. small). We could barely fit our 2 luggages into the room! The rooms are also a bit dark and our toilet smelled a little.. weird. But nonetheless, the room and toilet was clean and the convenience of this funky hotel has won me over. There is also A LOT of good food and shopping in the vicinity, which is a major plus point for us.

P.S. If you feel that the room is small and you want to hang out with your group of friends for a beer or supper, the lobby is a cosy place for that! There is also a pantry at the lobby for storing your food items/ getting a cuppa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank painaulait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler to Taiwan & this time around, i brought my family along & i brought them to a tragedy instead. n this trip changed my whole impression to the Taiwanese 'service culture'
.

the stay at this hotel on 13 Feb 2013 was a truly horrible experience. Around 11:10pm, the fire alarm rang, asking everyone to evacuate & escape thru the the fire/emergency exit. my whole family comes with elderly parents & kids in primary school. we all ran to the nearest emergency exit to escape. We stated on the 10th floor.

As we ran down, the stair case has no lights, we have to turn on the torchlight apps from our phone for some lights then we realize that there is a button on the wall that we have to turn on the ceiling light manually. my parents couldn't take the stairs anymore. i then ask them to wait for me, me & the other hotel guest ran down all the way from 10th floor to basement, we try to open the fire escape door for each floor, conclusion is ALL THE DOORS AT EVERY LEVEL ARE LOCKED!!!! there were 1 door on a floor was even sealed with some kind of partition board!

we ran up to meet my family n went up again to try the other emergency exit, same thing.... only this time, the emergency exit at 5th floor is not lock, so we went inside n notice that the lift is working. With a desperate hope to seek a chance to life, we took lift to 6th floor (where the lobby located), hoping to meet any hotel crew to show a way to for escape. & we never expect to see this scene...

the front desk (2 male) standing at the counter, smiling at us n saying that this is just a false alarm. we confront them what exactly happened then they say the alarm was triggered because a guest smoke in his room. so the alarm only rang for the 10th floor. we confront them again if they are sure about this, n the reply are truly 'amazing'.

the hotel staff: "yes we are, because we do not see any fire so we assume that this is the case, furthermore"

us: "don't you check the fire system that it should show which room trigger the alarm & don't you bother to check room by room on that floor?"

the hotel staff: "unfortunately we can't check & as we do not install CCTV in the room n so we coud not verify as well. u don't have to worry because if it is a real fire, the sprinkler will work."

i couldn't believe my ears.. we went thru all those crap n this is the reply & attitude we get. they are telling us indirectly that we are stupid to run right after hearing the fire alarm n broadcasting that asking us to escape, because that little sprinklers are the true indication if it is a fire & that little sprinklers will save the world!!!

us: "Why are all the doors locked from 9th floor down to basement?"

the hotel staff: "that is impossible because we never lock the doors."

us: "we just went thru each floors, why not we go now, together, floor by floor to verify is what we say is true?"

the hotel staff: "we don't normally do that but if u insist, we will do it later, at night. we are sure that the doors are not lock"

if they are soooo sure, why can't go with us? the counter has 2 male staff, 1 of them can go with us to verify who are telling the truth.

so what? we ran up n down to all the floors to have this kind of joke with u at this hour???
what is it was a real fire????
we wont even have a chance to voice this incident out, n the news title will be "the hotel was on fire, all the hotel guests did not make it out though all the escape route are clear, doors are wide open, but they did not run for it!!!"

Those freaking irresponsible attitude freaking pissed us off.
They literally locked every check-in guest in a trapped building.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank PCHAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located on top of shops. It takes awhile to find the lift.( So pls take noted the lift is just beside TGIF)
Hotel size is just nice for couples. Room is carpet and have a nice cushion bed head for you to seat up and watch tv.
The only bad point about this hotel the toilet smells sometime( guess is from the sewage )

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#51 of 578 in Taipei
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
0.3 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Swiio Hotel Daan
Swiio Hotel Daan
#4 of 578 in Taipei
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#109 of 578 in Taipei
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#17 of 578 in Taipei
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiio Hotel

Address: 10F., No.72, Sec. 2, Wuchang Street, Ximending, Taipei 10844, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $61 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SWIIO hotel is located in central Taipei’s Ximending area, just 300 metres from Ximending MRT Station. Located 1 km from Taipei Main Station and Longshan Temple, the hotel offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and an iPod dock. Modern rooms feature soothing pastel colours and come equipped with a flat-screen TV with cable channels. Tea and coffee-making facilities and a safety deposit box are provided. Hotel SWIIO is 1.5 km from Huashi Street and 6 km from famous landmark, Taipei 101. The hotel offers laundry services. Fax and photocopying is also available upon request. Luggage storage facilities are provided at the 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Swiio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing