We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and tastefully decorated”
Review of Swiio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiio Hotel
Ranked #29 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great location and tastefully decorated. The hotel is located at the edge of Ximending, thus not as noisy as those located within. The hotel is nice and the staff are helpful too. Room was compact with a double bed, flat screen TV, mini fridge, sofa, bedside tables and a bathroom. The hotel is about 10 mins walk to Ximending MRT station and just a stone throw away from 7-11. There are dedicated lift to the rooms using the hotel room key, thus non hotel guest are not allowed go up to the room levels.

Room Tip: Clean room, security and within walking distance to Ximending MRT Station.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hansolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Swiio Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 689 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for good location, money for value and nice staffs. The room is not very big but it is cosy and just nice for couples. It is in the heart of xi men ding so it is very convenient and within walking distance to mrt. the hotel is quite new and the design is very stylish. rooms are very clean as well. will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaldwinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

the hotel offered me a free upgrade to a bigger room, but the room is still quite small. the decoration is new, and it's clean. the room i stayed without any windows but i prefer to have. the hotel location is excellent but it's inside a building with lobby at 6/f. easily missed the entrance. about 5 mins walk from ximen metro station. staff are nice and helpful but the check-in time is quite late (15:00) and there is a penalty for late check-out, even they have vacant rooms. this is one of the best option for budget hotel and i will consider to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms without windows. Please specify to the receciption if you would like to have o...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed there together with one other friend from 19th Sept to 25th Sept 2012. We were pleasantly surprised when we received our room. Thankfully, we got one with the window.

We stayed in the Ximending branch and it's very accessible. From Taipei Main station to Ximending, it would only cost you around NTD $16 to 20. To locate the hotel, after you have come up from the MRT station, turn right. Baleno should be on your right. Then carry on walking until you see KFC. After which, turn left. Then keep walking until you see Rainbow Hotel. After that, turn left and walk until you see TGI Fridays. Take note that the hotel lobby is on the 6th floor and only the middle and the right lifts service guests from the hotel.

What I like about this hotel apart from the appearance is the fact that amenities are plentiful - they replace them everyday. In addition, you get to enjoy free coffee from their coffee maker in the lobby. Lastly, their service is great; they really try their best to provide you with information that you need. One thing they can improve on is to smile more though.

One think bad about this hotel is that the walls are really thin. I could hear laughter coming from the other room at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

SWIIO has an excellent location and offers fantastic value for money. It is located right in the heart of the Ximending area popular with the younger generation, and with plenty of food options. A 5-10min walk will take you to the Ximen metro station, or the Red House, and round the corner are good breakfast and massage places (Thai massage but unexpectedly good).
There are a few downsides as with all budget places. Nothing unexpected, but it is good to remember that no breakfast nor meals are provided (and why bother with offering breakfast when there is fantastic soya bean drink, Taiwanese milk tea, porridge and fried dough sticks round the corner!).
We stayed in a triple room, the only one they have, and the room isn't quite as small as the double rooms. There is indeed a window for this room, and the rooms are very clean. However, the opaque sliding glass doors for the bathroom are not really suitable for friends and families with grown up children as the bathrooms are very small and being near the door cannot be avoided! The sliding door in that room is particularly difficult to manage. The walls are thin if you have noisy neighbours.
As noted by other reviewers, the reception is on 6th floor while the rooms are on the 10th, which is apparently rather common for hotels in Ximending.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are bigger.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsWanderLust227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We travelled in a group and took 3 rooms for a long weekend to Taipei. It was my first holiday trip totaipei and I chose ximenting as I read it was kinda hip and fun. Ximenting is great location for holiday and SWIIO was a nice surprise. A bit difficult to find.poor signage . It is on the 5 th floor of a very old building that had seen better days , I think the swiio was on a floor that was an old cinema. Lots of old businesses on other floors. A little weird. But hotel is kinda new , small rooms and tiny windows , reasonable pricing and kinda "Japanese sized rooms"
You need to like your room mate as the rooms are very cosy, you cannot swing a cat in. And the bathroom is a wonder in space management and privacy in bathroom is also compromised with ineffective blinds . However it is in a brilliant location. And the price very affordable .lots of eating places, good shopping at your doorstep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopherong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We split our accommodation between Swiio Hotel and Hotel Puri when we went to Taipei. Swiio hotel is not as well located as other hotels in Ximending, however the staff speak very good english relative to the other hotel.

We were fortunate enough to have a room with a window, which was appreciated as the vent/exhaust in the bathroom isn't particularly effective. The definite plus is that the shower is a waterfall shower head!

The only let down was the walls in the room. We heard the alarm go off in the morning, thinking it was our alarm - only to realize it was next door!

Tip to find hotel: Walk into the arcade straight after TGIs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!
Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank VFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
0.1 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#49 of 573 in Taipei
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Swiio Hotel Daan
Swiio Hotel Daan
#5 of 573 in Taipei
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#14 of 573 in Taipei
1,276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel 73
Hotel 73
#22 of 573 in Taipei
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiio Hotel

Address: 10F., No.72, Sec. 2, Wuchang Street, Ximending, Taipei 10844, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $59 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SWIIO hotel is located in central Taipei’s Ximending area, just 300 metres from Ximending MRT Station. Located 1 km from Taipei Main Station and Longshan Temple, the hotel offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and an iPod dock. Modern rooms feature soothing pastel colours and come equipped with a flat-screen TV with cable channels. Tea and coffee-making facilities and a safety deposit box are provided. Hotel SWIIO is 1.5 km from Huashi Street and 6 km from famous landmark, Taipei 101. The hotel offers laundry services. Fax and photocopying is also available upon request. Luggage storage facilities are provided at the 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swiio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing