We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are really paying for the Environment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kitchen Table

The Kitchen Table
Ranked #3 of 12,518 Restaurants in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You are really paying for the Environment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Before you read this review, understand that this establishment only receives four stars because of its ambiance and environment. The dining experience at the Kitchen Table was a positive experience. Once you enter, the courteous staff greets you and escorts you to your table. The buffet is not the only food available. This establishment also offers very tasty orderves. My favorite appetizer was the Curry Egg Salad on top of a piece of Naah topped with salted caviar. I would describe the establishment as very vibrant and inviting. The Kitchen Table is one of those places where one can sit for hours with their friends and delight themselves with entertaining conversations for the entire morning or evening. Best of all, you will have an endless supply food. This includes: Sashimi, Yorkshire Pudding, small cakes, an assortment of Teas, and Lattes. So, it makes for a great place to sit, relax, and enjoy the moment. This is especially welcoming in the dutch oven known as Taipei during the summer time. But, the food really is not spectacular. It is above average and comparable to a acquiring a High B borderline B+ in a school grade. You can acquire much fresher Sashimi in other Japanese restaurants. The best coffee I have ever the privilege of tasting was in Bali, Indonesia at the Doomba Shop and the Lattes we ordered were just a level above Starbucks' quality.

However, despite the above mediocre level of the food, the environment and the ambiance was still great. It is still more preferable than paying for Marco Polo in the Shangrila Far East Hotel. That place is purely ambiance and extremely average Italian food which could not hold a candle to a local pizzeria back in America. If it was the food alone, this place would have received three stars. However, the decor, environment, and the welcoming aura that it exudes will cause me to state, This place is worth the money you pay for. However, if you are showing up for extremely wonderful taste bud scintillating cuisine, you will be sorely let down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDL980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at The Kitchen Table, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear DDL980,

Thank you very much for your details and insightful review toward our restaurant -the kitchen table. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the vibrant and inviting ambiance, courteous service, a wide selection of food, and also our signature pass-around service. Your comment toward the food quality in the restaurant had been addressed by our Beverage and Food team. We’ve taken note and will make immediate improvement in order to offer our valuable guests an A+ dining experience. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    151
    60
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast with interesting setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

There are many big tables for sharing so this is rather unique.

The breakfast buffet has a good spread and the service is excellent there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ultrakenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at The Kitchen Table, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello ultrakenzo,

Great thanks for sharing your wonderful experience at our the kitchen table buffet restaurant. We are glad to know you enjoyed the food selections and service at the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again to bring you another unique experience!

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

outstanding breakfast buffet, in the W-Taipei hotel on the Lobby level facing the pool. Also good for fast dinner selections.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at The Kitchen Table, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello Thomas D,

We are so thrilled to receive your wonderful comment on our breakfast at the kitchen table, and this restaurant is surely an ideal place to have a quick bite for dinner, too. Look forward to your next visit for another “Breakfast Feast” soon!

Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice restaurant and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Their breakfast is good with nice layout but little pricey. Location is good facing the swimming pool which view is comfortable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at The Kitchen Table, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello Alice C,

Thank you for your cheerful feedback! We are happy to know that you enjoyed our restaurant, delicious food and the view facing the swimming pool. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“breakfast haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

love the juice bar, they have some special dishes that were being served around by the waiters. There is a taiwanese section which I appreciate

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Per5ephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at The Kitchen Table, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello iKusuma17,

Thank you for the cheerful comments! We are glad that you enjoyed the juice bar, Taiwanese delicacy section and our signature "pass-around" services at the kitchen table. Look forward to your next visit to the “Breakfast Heaven” soon!

Best Regards, W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Table also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing