We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark, but very clean”
Review of Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Home Hotel
Ranked #99 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for business last week. Room was really large with nice new fixtures in the bathroom and all was very clean. The room desperately needs some lights though as it was quite dark. Location is quite central. Given the rate, room is a bit over priced in my opinion as you can stay at one of the big chains for the same price with better rooms. The high school staff that check you in could use some training.

Room Tip: Stayed in the magnificent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Consultbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, Front Office Manager at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We are honored that you spent quality time to write us comments. Regarding the room cleanness, we’re proud providing comfortable rooms for our valued guests; on the other hand, the lighting problems, we have been changing light bulbs in order to make all the rooms brighter. Lastly, you mentioned that the staff checking you in needs some training, could you give us more details about this issue via email info@homehotel.com.tw, we’ll be glad to hear from you. Thank you and have a good day!

Sincerely yours,

Bert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 329 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was our first time in a Taipei and it was great. Our hotel was an hour away like most hotels from the airport. It was finely located,easy access to train stations and lots of nearby food and shopping establishments. The rooms and other amenities were great like the breakfast considering the price. The staff were also friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, Front Office Manager at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments and are pleased that you enjoyed staying at Home Hotel. Your words are a great encouragement to us, we hope to see you soon in the near future. Lastly, if you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Thank you and have a good day!

Sincerely yours,

Bert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed in the Extraordinary room during our 6 days in Taipei. The room is clean, comfortable and big enough for our family of 2 adults and 3 children, with one extra adult bed added.

Location is excellent, just about 3-5 mins walk to Taipei 101 MRT station, and the hotel is surrounded by shopping malls, bookstores and a cinema.

We are very pleased with the standard of the hotel service as well. We will definitely stay at Home Hotel again when we visit Taipei in future.

Room Tip: Extraordinary rooms are perfect for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloryspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
Regarding your comments, which is a great encouragement to us, we will further improve our services to reach and even exceed guests’ expectations.
If you have any further concerns, please feel free to contact us. Thank you and have a good day.

Sincerely yours,

Bert Hsu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The convenience of being in such a great location makes this a good business choice - and the helpfulness of the staff compounds this.

However:
1. The breakfast was appalling: a hotel of this calibre should feel uncomfortable about such offerings ... orange cordial? Dried out breadstuffs? Limited fruit selection? Not good enough for a country with such good fresh produce, or a hotel that regards itself as "boutique"

2. A hard bed - the sleep quality and the bathrooms are always the real test of a hotel, and I slept, but uncomfortably with almost unyielding mattress and pillows

3. Mean! - why no kettle with a tea or coffee bag to make up for the disappointing breakfast? Most hotels in the big cities across Asia I've stayed in manage this, no matter what their quality.

Add to this the ubiquitous grey decor and low lighting and trying to locate your belongings can be frustrating experience.

I loved Taipei, I loved seeing 101 out the window, I loved Home's really helpful staff, I loved its position in the area of Taipei - and I'd probably stay again for that Which is why they're unlikely to care about their shortcomings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments. Regarding the breakfast, we have been improving its qualities in order to satisfy all our valued guests; for the bed mattress, we will go through this issue. Moreover, you mentioned that there is no kettle with tea or coffee bag to make up for disappointing breakfast, could you kindly tell us that this incident was happened in the room or at breakfast. Additionally, we have been changing light bulbs in order to make all the rooms brighter and thank you for the compliments in terms of good services. If you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to tell us via email: info@homehotel.com.tw. Thank you and have a good day.

Sincerely yours,

Bert Hsu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review for this hotel for months, as I really wanted to share how great it is with everyone who visits Taipei. We were working at a conference being held at the W and I would choose to stay here over the W anytime. Comfortable and spacious rooms (we were in suites), huge stylish bathtub, fantastic service and some of the best coffee I've ever had in the really cool lounge in entrance of the building.

Within 3 minutes of checking out, the concierge immediately came over to let me know I had left one of my purchases behind in the room and that my colleague had left one of his beers in the fridge. They happily offered to bring both items down immediately.

I've been recommending this hotel to everyone and will definitely return next time I go to Taipei.

Room Tip: The suites were huge and had a fantastic bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereisjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments which make us really happy. All the services we’ve done is to satisfy or even exceed guests’ expectation. Lastly, if you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,

Bert Hsu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of it in Taipei you cannot go wrong with the Home hotel. With a discreet location, great service staff and very nice rooms you will be happy with everything...except for breakfast...maybe I am a bit picky on breakfast but the Home hotel does so many things well that this was truly a disappointment. Specifically; fake OJ, very subpar coffee and espresso offerings, under cooked bacon, no potatoes or hash browns but we did get french fries and chicken nuggets ? and other serious infractions. If you attend trade shows or seminars breakfast becomes a very important meal in Asia because sometimes you just don't know what you are going to end up with for lunch. On the bright side the bed was very good, pillows of very good quality, great flat screen LED TV, very smart lighting system ( sometimes these can be so complicated in Asian hotels that it gets really frustrating) very nice bathroom with decent amenities, good closet space with wooden hangers and above all very quiet. I stay here when I am Taipei which is fairly often. But I eat breakfast somewhere else ; )

Room Tip: Around the corner within staggering distance is Bar Code which is a killer night club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetlaggard59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments. Regarding the qualities of the breakfast, we are really sorry it’s not reached your expectation, actually we have been improving breakfast in order to satisfy all our valued guest. Apart from this issue, we are happy to hear that you’re satisfied with our services and facilities, all the services we’ve done is to satisfy or even exceed guests’ expectation. Lastly, if you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,

Bert Hsu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

It seems that Taiwan in turning into the leading destination for great boutique hotels. The latest discovery is this nice place - right around the corner of 101 and a boosting club and shopping area. Beside the perfect location almost everything else is also perfect - the design, the spacious rooms, the (really) high speed free internet, the breakfast, the staff...nothing to complain about. Simply nothing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlR_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear guest: Thank you for staying at Home Hotel and we hope you had a great stay and wonderful stip while you were in Taiwan.
Many thanks and best regard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Humble House Taipei
#60 of 578 in Taipei
446 reviews
Home Hotel DaAn
#86 of 578 in Taipei
228 reviews
Sparkle Hotel
#247 of 578 in Taipei
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Taipei
#59 of 578 in Taipei
569 reviews
Pacific Business Hotel
#53 of 578 in Taipei
651 reviews
Xinyi District
AT Boutique Hotel
AT Boutique Hotel
#287 of 578 in Taipei
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel

Address: No.90 Songren Road, Xinyi District, Taipei, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $156 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
+About HOME HOTELNo Place Like HomeTravels are composed of happy memories and wonderful experiences, and to encounter a place like home during your travels is especially precious. Even though the design of home varies across different cultures, the meaning and the perception of home is beyond boundaries. Our goal is to create a place that is welcoming, comforting and relaxing, a place you can call home to in Taiwan!Home Hotel is truly proud to be MIT (Made In Taiwan), therefore we co-operated with various Taiwan specialty and design brands to provide a platform for our guests to experience and learn more about the creativity, innovation and traditions of Taiwan. Taiwan has abundant natural wonders, inspiring cultures and surprising creativity! We would like our guests to open their hearts to new discoveries and new experiences while staying with us and we hope through our creativity and services, you can experience all the wonderful things Taiwan has to offer! +We are proud of MIT (Made in Taiwan)What does MIT (Made In Taiwan) mean? To Home Hotel, it represents quality Taiwan Brands.Our goal is to create a Home at Taiwan for our guests, since it’s a home in Taiwan, there should be many Taiwanese things in it! Therefore we invited famous Taiwanese interior designers to design the hotel and we also invited Taiwanese Artists Jeff Wang and Nicole Teng to design our corporate identity and guest amenities. To reinforce our goal of introducing Taiwanese brands to our guests, we’ve co-operated with numerous Taiwanese design or specialty brands to create cross-over products for the room, including brands such as Zenique Tea, MRKT, CHIMEI, O’Right…etc. We wish to utilize our rooms as a platform for our guests to better understand and enjoy what Taiwan has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing