We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, great hotel”
Review of Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Home Hotel
Ranked #94 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing service, great hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review for this hotel for months, as I really wanted to share how great it is with everyone who visits Taipei. We were working at a conference being held at the W and I would choose to stay here over the W anytime. Comfortable and spacious rooms (we were in suites), huge stylish bathtub, fantastic service and some of the best coffee I've ever had in the really cool lounge in entrance of the building.

Within 3 minutes of checking out, the concierge immediately came over to let me know I had left one of my purchases behind in the room and that my colleague had left one of his beers in the fridge. They happily offered to bring both items down immediately.

I've been recommending this hotel to everyone and will definitely return next time I go to Taipei.

Room Tip: The suites were huge and had a fantastic bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereisjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments which make us really happy. All the services we’ve done is to satisfy or even exceed guests’ expectation. Lastly, if you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,

Bert Hsu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    163
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
43
57
19
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of it in Taipei you cannot go wrong with the Home hotel. With a discreet location, great service staff and very nice rooms you will be happy with everything...except for breakfast...maybe I am a bit picky on breakfast but the Home hotel does so many things well that this was truly a disappointment. Specifically; fake OJ, very subpar coffee and espresso offerings, under cooked bacon, no potatoes or hash browns but we did get french fries and chicken nuggets ? and other serious infractions. If you attend trade shows or seminars breakfast becomes a very important meal in Asia because sometimes you just don't know what you are going to end up with for lunch. On the bright side the bed was very good, pillows of very good quality, great flat screen LED TV, very smart lighting system ( sometimes these can be so complicated in Asian hotels that it gets really frustrating) very nice bathroom with decent amenities, good closet space with wooden hangers and above all very quiet. I stay here when I am Taipei which is fairly often. But I eat breakfast somewhere else ; )

Room Tip: Around the corner within staggering distance is Bar Code which is a killer night club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlaggard59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments. Regarding the qualities of the breakfast, we are really sorry it’s not reached your expectation, actually we have been improving breakfast in order to satisfy all our valued guest. Apart from this issue, we are happy to hear that you’re satisfied with our services and facilities, all the services we’ve done is to satisfy or even exceed guests’ expectation. Lastly, if you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,

Bert Hsu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

It seems that Taiwan in turning into the leading destination for great boutique hotels. The latest discovery is this nice place - right around the corner of 101 and a boosting club and shopping area. Beside the perfect location almost everything else is also perfect - the design, the spacious rooms, the (really) high speed free internet, the breakfast, the staff...nothing to complain about. Simply nothing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlR_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for staying at Home Hotel and we hope you had a great stay and wonderful stip while you were in Taiwan.
Many thanks and best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It was a 3 days biz trip. Easy for taxi driver to locate the hotel (airport to hotel TWD1200)
Check-in- Fast
Welcoming- Average.
Location- Average, if you are taking MTR, it will be a long walk (10-15 mins). Otherwise, easy to hop on taxi. This hotel is very near to Grand Hyatt (4 mins by walking), so if you don't want to stay at the Grand Hyatt, choose this one!!!!
Breakfast- below average
Room- Nicely Done, (4 stars)
Noise- Windows are not sound proof (luckily, i travel with earplugs)
Bathroom- Clean, big

Room Tip: Request for earplugs (windows are not sound-proof)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ka333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for staying at Home Hotel. We apologize for the noise that caused by the near clubs / lounge bars. Please kindly let us know if you are planning to return, so we could assist you to assign on the high floor room. At this moment, new MRT line just started. There is a closet MRT station which is only 3 mins walk to hotel. We will suggest you could take the new line to our location. Regarding breakfast, could you kindly provide us more detail about it to the following email address if it's possible: info@homehotel.com.tw. We hope you had a great stay and a wonderful trip while you were in Taiwan.
Many thanks and best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Good Location = at the right heart of night life area, and also the business district in day time.
Small Room = The result of good location
Noisy environmen = Nearvy are bar and clubs, many people drunk outside
Slow Internet = in my whole stay of 3 nights, I tested the internet speed and ask the staff to fix it
Professional gym = free access to a fitness centre which is among the best, just next building.

Before fix speed : 2M upload, 300Kbps download => can not dp Video conference such as Facetime or sype. Lag and always disconnection
After fix speed : 2M upload, 1M upload = Can do Video conference with slightly lag and disconnection

I can not imaging this kind of speed still exist in the country where produce most of the IT product. I think at least a 5M/2M service is minimum for business people travelling in this area. It is hardly to make a quality point to point video conference, dont even mention multiple group video.

Breakfast is simple and ok. The juice quality is poor which is the sugar and flavour added low cost juice. They do not check coffee machine and obvious do not check to reload the beans daily. (As the 2nd morning it is very full but 3rd morgning is it empty at 9am)

Food on the 1st floor is terrible. Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: A 101 view room is small and without bathtub. Book a marvelous room if you can afford which is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments. Regarding the noise issue, we have been negotiating with nearby clubs to lower the volume, if you come back to Home Hotel next time, you can request higher floor in order to avoid noises. In addition, actually we have been working on this technical issues to increase the speed of the internet, we know the speedy internet will help a lot for business travelers. Moreover, the qualities of the breakfast, we are really sorry it’s not reached your expectation, and we have also been improving breakfast in order to satisfy all our valued guest. Lastly, if you have any further concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us. Thank you and have a good day.

Sincerely your,

Bert Hsu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Love the hotel for its comfortable bed, quilt, and pillows. Thoughtful gestures like providing 2 types of pillow (soft/firm), & a full range of toiletries including mouthwash, as well as Eco-friendly practice of providing refreshing antioxidant shampoo and shower gel in big refillable bottles, make this a comfortable & pleasant hotel to stay in. Service staff is efficient, polite & accommodative. They arranged a late checkout at short notice when our friend fell ill & needed a room to rest in. Breakfast variety & quality is good, & include Asian delights like porridge & condiments, steamed buns, as well as Western selection like bacon & eggs.
Location is convenient & within walking distance to Shin Kong Mitsukoshi & Taipei 101. Nearest MRT is a good 10-15 minute walk though. Lighting in the hotel & room is a bit dim. It also needs to improve on the sound proofing of the room. We stayed on the 5th floor with view of Taipei 101, & could hear laughter & shouting on the streets even at 1am.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floors to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments. Regarding the noise issue, we have been negotiating with nearby clubs to lower the volume, if you come back to Home Hotel next time, you can request higher floor in order to avoid noises. Apart from that, we’re happy to hear that you’re satisfied with our services and facilities, all the services we’ve done is to satisfy or even exceed guests’ expectation. Lastly, if you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,

Bert Hsu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in Home Hotel for 2 nights in mid Oct. First of all, the room is relatively small. Secondly, the service is bad. We followed the instruction to request for change of bed sheet but they didn't. On our check out date, the front desk staff has agreed to extend our check out time to 12:30pm but they did not mark record and called us to check out at 12:00pm. What's more, they have two café with uncovered seat areas. Due to the sound insulation is not good, we can hear clearly the noise from the café in the night. The breakfast is bad too.

However, the location of the hotel is good. 5 mins walk to 101 and 3 mins walk to superstore.

Room Tip: We booked the room with 101 view. But due to the short distance with 101, the view is not nice and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Home Hotel as your home when you were away from home.
We really appreciate that you spent quality time to write us comments. Regarding the change of the bed sheet and late check-out service, we’re sorry that we didn’t reach your service standard, we have been working on these issues in order to avoid the same incidents happened again. Moreover, the noise issue, we have been negotiating with nearby clubs to lower the volume, if you come back to Home Hotel next time, you can request higher floor in order to avoid noises. The qualities of the breakfast, we are really sorry it’s not reached your expectation, we have also been improving breakfast in order to satisfy all our valued guest. Lastly, if you have any further concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,

Bert Hsu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.5 mi away
Home Hotel DaAn
Home Hotel DaAn
#86 of 574 in Taipei
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#58 of 574 in Taipei
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sparkle Hotel
Sparkle Hotel
#240 of 574 in Taipei
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Taipei
Le Meridien Taipei
#69 of 574 in Taipei
543 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madison Taipei Hotel
Madison Taipei Hotel
#65 of 574 in Taipei
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Business Hotel
Pacific Business Hotel
#54 of 574 in Taipei
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel

Property: Home Hotel
Address: No.90 Songren Road, Xinyi District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
+About HOME HOTELNo Place Like HomeTravels are composed of happy memories and wonderful experiences, and to encounter a place like home during your travels is especially precious. Even though the design of home varies across different cultures, the meaning and the perception of home is beyond boundaries. Our goal is to create a place that is welcoming, comforting and relaxing, a place you can call home to in Taiwan!Home Hotel is truly proud to be MIT (Made In Taiwan), therefore we co-operated with various Taiwan specialty and design brands to provide a platform for our guests to experience and learn more about the creativity, innovation and traditions of Taiwan. Taiwan has abundant natural wonders, inspiring cultures and surprising creativity! We would like our guests to open their hearts to new discoveries and new experiences while staying with us and we hope through our creativity and services, you can experience all the wonderful things Taiwan has to offer! +We are proud of MIT (Made in Taiwan)What does MIT (Made In Taiwan) mean? To Home Hotel, it represents quality Taiwan Brands.Our goal is to create a Home at Taiwan for our guests, since it’s a home in Taiwan, there should be many Taiwanese things in it! Therefore we invited famous Taiwanese interior designers to design the hotel and we also invited Taiwanese Artists Jeff Wang and Nicole Teng to design our corporate identity and guest amenities. To reinforce our goal of introducing Taiwanese brands to our guests, we’ve co-operated with numerous Taiwanese design or specialty brands to create cross-over products for the room, including brands such as Zenique Tea, MRKT, CHIMEI, O’Right…etc. We wish to utilize our rooms as a platform for our guests to better understand and enjoy what Taiwan has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing