We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointing”
Review of Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Home Hotel
Ranked #95 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for 2nd time and felt standard dropping. Very noisy throughout the night due to club downstairs. Breakfast is bad with small space .Cutlery, food and drinks not replenished. Disappointed and overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mumtravellerasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Ms Lin:
We sincere apologize the noise came from the clubs around the hotel area and caused you didn't have a good stay at the hotel. We are doing some minor sound block contruction and it will definitely help out the noise around the area during the weekend. Regarding the replenishment for food and drink, we will definitely have our associates to improve the speed of replenishment. We apologize for such inconvenience that we casued to you. Wish you have a wonderful holiday season! Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    159
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
55
19
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very retro, you walk into the room and feel like you've taken a step back into the 1970's. Rooms are large with great facilities. Only thing that was missing was the room service as there were a couple nights I had to work late and came back to the hotel famished.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTimez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Mr./ Ms:
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the room service part. In the near future might cooperate with restaurants in the same building. Hope we could provide more services toward all guests. Hope you had a great say and wonderful trip in Taiwan. Wish you have a wonderul holiday season and happy new year! Many thanks and Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have tried several hotels in Taipei and some have been good and some have been average. There are only a couple that stand out. I would definitely put this one in the "good", and possibly even in the "standout", category. It is very close to the Taipei 101 and in the middle of that commercial area that surrounds the 101. However, I like this area a little more than other Asian commercial districts as it is not as enclosed and thus, does not have the same claustrophobic feel. Yet there are many things to do and places to eat close by. I saw a couple of reviews that categorized this hotel as "boutique" and "chic". It definitely has a modern feel to it that could give the perception that it is a little less traditional. Yet it gives off a cozy vibe. I have stayed in a couple of other hotels with modern decor in Taipei that were much more aloof in feel. The staff was very nice and very efficient at check-in. I was also favorably impressed with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the room. The internet worked well for me. The morning breakfast was pretty good with a reasonable number of choices. Check-out was just as efficient as check-in. I thought the room rate was fair, especially for being in the 101 area. I would recommend giving this hotel a try if you are in Taipei.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Debbie:
Glad to hear you had a great stay with and hope everything was up to your standard. Hope will see you again in the near future and wish you have a wonderful holiday season! Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiberg in Mähren
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotels in the Xinyi area are expensive because they are close to Taipei 101, and Home Hotel captures this market. It is small - boutique is the marketing term - and has the kind of cool decor you see in magazine about cool people spending money on cool things. However, you know what is really cool? Food at breakfast. Being able to go to the breakfast buffet at 9am and not see empty trays where there should be food, and masses of package deal tourists. Even the water jug was empty. Having staff who manage seating, replenish the buffet and refill the water, now that would be cool. Obviously these things are too mundane for photographs. My fault of course for wanting to save usd$50 compared with nearby hotels. I could have walked outside and paid for breakfast of course but having paid for breakfast I had an expectation of some food. When it did arrive, it was meagre for Asian standard but comparable with a British BnB.
Oh, there is also plenty of nocturnal street action which is audible from your room thanks to the nearby nightclubs and cinemas. 11:30pm on Sunday night and people are lining up to enter a club? Do they not have work the next day?
Standard rooms are tiny. Much is made of the Taipei 101 view but you can see it when you walk outside so the value of a view is overestimated. Plenty of eating places around - mostly catering to young adults addicted to sugar and salt and oil but the sushi restaurant next door is good.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Psychochicken_Freud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mr./ Ms:
We are truly sorry everthing was not up do your standard. For the things you have pointed out,we will definitely manage well regarding on refill empty trays / food. Many thanks and Best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Location: Home hotel is located near Taipei 101. It's just a 3-min walk to the 2nd tallest building in the world. It's part of Xinyi district which is a very happening place from 11am until wee hours in the morning. A lot of teenagers and young professionals hang out in the area because of the big shopping malls and cinema beside it. I guess it would be better if the subway was a little closer. We had to walk around 15mins to the nearest subway - City Hall station. Though, it seems like there's construction going on for a new station in Taipei 101 itself. If you ever get lost, just go back to Taipei 101 and you can find your way home.

Service: Excellent! From the chauffeur to the front office crew, Home Hotel has made checking-in easy breezy. If you have a prior reservation then you can go straight to your room already. Also, since it was a bit rainy when we were there they made extra sure we don't forget to bring their umbrellas which I must say is very chic too! You can also change your USDs in the hotel at an okay rate, even better than some of the malls we've been too. But of course, banks are the place to change for the best rates.


Food: I think food is so-so. Buffet breakfast from 7-10am. Just say your room number and you're good to go. There is also a cafe/bar at the GF so you can hang out there and meet a lot people.


Additional Info: Since we were far from the station, we rode taxis a lot. It's fast, easy and the fares are not that bad. If you ever been in Manila, then probably the same value for your ride.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Taipei 101 are the best and the priciest. The view from our end on the right side was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orange_clouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mr / Ms:
Thank you for staying here with us. Hope you did have a great time. We are looking forward to serve you again in the near future and wish you have a wonderful holiday season! Many thanks & Best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I spent four nights at this hotel and when I'm back in Taipei I have no reason to look for another place to stay.
The hotel and rooms are very clean, well equipped and designed. Free wi-fi available. Connection worked perfectly, was fast and reliable. You get what you pay for - taking in the account the quality of services - the room price seems to be reasonable. The only thing I would consider worthy of improvement - the TV programs available. Most of them in Chinese, mostly karaoke, more news or movie channels would be appreciated.
The staff was great, beginning with the concierge, the people at desk to waiters at breakfast. All services they provided were great. I have to say I have not experienced very often comparable attention given to a customer even at much more expensive and fancier hotels. Unlike some of other reviewers I didn't have problems with any noise from the street and boy that there was a lot of noise and loud music down there in the adjacent areas when I walked through. I stayed on the 11th floor which might have been an advantage I would recommend to everyone wishing having quiet and undisturbed sleep.
Another advantage is a very short distance from 101. The hotel is also very close to subway and other public transport.
The Marsalis Home is another great amenity - a huge selection of whiskies, nice music, great atmosphere and perfect service. No more words are needed, a personal experience recommended!

Room Tip: I recommend to ask for a room on an upper floor. It can provide more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeSouches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mr / Ms:
It's glad to hear you had a great stay with us. Hope will see you again in the near future. Wish you have a wonderful holiday season! Many thanks and Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you are after an overall great place to stay in Taipei, then this is it.

Nice, new, clean and great service.

Very close to the Taipei 101 too if you are into shopping.

Very nice whisky bar! Which is great after a long day of meetings. It is a homely feeling hotel, which is a nice change if you are used to staying in larger establishments line the Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Os_Ishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Ishmael: Hope everything was up to your standard during your stay and we are looking forward to see you again in the near future. Best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.3 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#56 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.5 mi away
Home Hotel DaAn
Home Hotel DaAn
#76 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sparkle Hotel
Sparkle Hotel
#239 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Madison Taipei Hotel
Madison Taipei Hotel
#73 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Taipei
Le Meridien Taipei
#57 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.7 mi away
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#40 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel

Property: Home Hotel
Address: No.90 Songren Road, Xinyi District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
+About HOME HOTELNo Place Like HomeTravels are composed of happy memories and wonderful experiences, and to encounter a place like home during your travels is especially precious. Even though the design of home varies across different cultures, the meaning and the perception of home is beyond boundaries. Our goal is to create a place that is welcoming, comforting and relaxing, a place you can call home to in Taiwan!Home Hotel is truly proud to be MIT (Made In Taiwan), therefore we co-operated with various Taiwan specialty and design brands to provide a platform for our guests to experience and learn more about the creativity, innovation and traditions of Taiwan. Taiwan has abundant natural wonders, inspiring cultures and surprising creativity! We would like our guests to open their hearts to new discoveries and new experiences while staying with us and we hope through our creativity and services, you can experience all the wonderful things Taiwan has to offer! +We are proud of MIT (Made in Taiwan)What does MIT (Made In Taiwan) mean? To Home Hotel, it represents quality Taiwan Brands.Our goal is to create a Home at Taiwan for our guests, since it’s a home in Taiwan, there should be many Taiwanese things in it! Therefore we invited famous Taiwanese interior designers to design the hotel and we also invited Taiwanese Artists Jeff Wang and Nicole Teng to design our corporate identity and guest amenities. To reinforce our goal of introducing Taiwanese brands to our guests, we’ve co-operated with numerous Taiwanese design or specialty brands to create cross-over products for the room, including brands such as Zenique Tea, MRKT, CHIMEI, O’Right…etc. We wish to utilize our rooms as a platform for our guests to better understand and enjoy what Taiwan has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing