We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Home Hotel
Ranked #86 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice, clean boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights a few days ago.

Taxi ride from Taipei airport costed 1200NT.

Greeted by a concierge who spoke english, and who showed us to the third floor for check-in. Check-in was quick and easy.

Room had a good size for a boutique hotel. Nice and very clean. Large window overlooking the city (and Taipei 101, which is an approximate 10-15 min walk from the hotel). The bed was firm and comfortable with comfy pillows (4). Many lights in the room, and are easily turned on/off (all or one by one) by control buttons near the bed. Ipod/Iphone radio dock/alarm clock was well-appreciated, quality of sound was actually pretty good! What I loved most about this room was the shower. Nice and big, made out of big ceramic tiles, it had a "rain" type of shower head as well as a hand-held nozzle. Water pressure was great!

Since there are bars in the area, you do hear a little noise at night, but it's to expect when you're in a such busy area. Maybe not the best if you're the kind to wakeup to every single sound and not able to fall back to sleep! For me, it wasn't a problem.

Didn't use the concierge service or front desk that much, but each time we passed by we were nicely greeted.

Breakfast was very western-type of food. Choices were: spaghetti, vegetables, scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon, fried variety (chicken fingers, hashbrown potatoes, fries, chicken wings), fresh fruits, fried rice, hot dog. There was grape juice, milk, water but best was the coffee, where you could have either regular filter coffee, or have either an americano, latte from an espresso machine. Nice touch. The bar had a good selection of drinks. Bartender was very friendly and spoke good english. Was also making impressive drinks!

If you're looking to find yourself submerged in an unfamiliar surrounding, this hotel isn't for you. It's in a very shopping area, where you will find a ton of high-end brands like Chanel, Gucci, Burberry. Very modern. Lots of bars in the area also.

All in all, I had a good experience at this hotel and would recommend it, if the description above fits your needs!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    158
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
55
18
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great location if you are looking to shop! Good business hotel with free wifi, rooms with separate sleeping and working areas. Friendly and efficient staff. A decent range of Whiskies in the bar, including single cask malts from the Scotch Malt Whisky Society; always a good sign! Breakfast is slightly idiosyncratic but no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whishkyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I had a pleasant stay at the home hotel. It is situated very central in taipei a couple of hundred meters from Taipei 101. The only thing I wasn't to keen on was the breakfast. That was subpar. But.. My business partner who stayed in another room had a different experience. He had problems with loud noises all night from the drugstore/supermarket next to the hotel.

The gym was also very nice. Though you had to walk through a parking cellar to get there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danishdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Honestly, this is a boutique hotel standard but the decor is absolutely normal. Unlike other boutique hotel, their decor and style are only "new" but not "stylish".
The most downside are breakfast quality and there limited TV channels for foreigners. Examples: hot dishes like sausage & beacon were cold due to their turn off the warming device almost 30 mins. earlier than the closing time of breakfast (I stayed here for 6 nights so I can tell its the same circumstances every morning !).
For that money value, I think there're other choices better.
The only advantage, I think, of this hotel is the location for night life. There're disco and night entertainment surrounding the hotels and you may get back to the hotel easily after hangout.
I'll pick other hotels if paying this price, especially for business trip purpose.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goodmankl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel is nearby a few shopping centers and 101.
About 10 mins walk to the nearest MTR (City Hall).
Staff are very polite and helpful.
Room is spacious, clean and neat.
Finding food late at night is not a problem as food stores in the cinema building opens till quite late.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidNite23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Nice hotel, very clean, very modern, very cool. Thought the breakfast wasn't great but was adequate. Great location and a decent base to get around from.

Room Tip: get up high for the best view of the 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simsanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed 4 nights recently at Home Hotel. Marvelous location if your activities are in Xinyi area and you prefer to get around Taipei by taxi. Subway station is not near but the walk was pleasant.
Although the hotels is new, the decor looked a little dated and cold. There were some noise problem from the bar/restaurant on the ground floor during weekend. It was great that the side window could open for some fresh air. Breakfast in the bar area on the 3rd floor was fine.
Reception staff were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.3 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#54 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.5 mi away
Home Hotel DaAn
Home Hotel DaAn
#79 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sparkle Hotel
Sparkle Hotel
#174 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Madison Taipei Hotel
Madison Taipei Hotel
#81 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Taipei
Le Meridien Taipei
#62 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.7 mi away
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#36 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel

Property: Home Hotel
Address: No.90 Songren Road, Xinyi District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
+About HOME HOTELNo Place Like HomeTravels are composed of happy memories and wonderful experiences, and to encounter a place like home during your travels is especially precious. Even though the design of home varies across different cultures, the meaning and the perception of home is beyond boundaries. Our goal is to create a place that is welcoming, comforting and relaxing, a place you can call home to in Taiwan!Home Hotel is truly proud to be MIT (Made In Taiwan), therefore we co-operated with various Taiwan specialty and design brands to provide a platform for our guests to experience and learn more about the creativity, innovation and traditions of Taiwan. Taiwan has abundant natural wonders, inspiring cultures and surprising creativity! We would like our guests to open their hearts to new discoveries and new experiences while staying with us and we hope through our creativity and services, you can experience all the wonderful things Taiwan has to offer! +We are proud of MIT (Made in Taiwan)What does MIT (Made In Taiwan) mean? To Home Hotel, it represents quality Taiwan Brands.Our goal is to create a Home at Taiwan for our guests, since it’s a home in Taiwan, there should be many Taiwanese things in it! Therefore we invited famous Taiwanese interior designers to design the hotel and we also invited Taiwanese Artists Jeff Wang and Nicole Teng to design our corporate identity and guest amenities. To reinforce our goal of introducing Taiwanese brands to our guests, we’ve co-operated with numerous Taiwanese design or specialty brands to create cross-over products for the room, including brands such as Zenique Tea, MRKT, CHIMEI, O’Right…etc. We wish to utilize our rooms as a platform for our guests to better understand and enjoy what Taiwan has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing