We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taipei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pig' Home ('minsu')
Ranked #389 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I went on a 10 days travel around Taiwan and among all the minsus we stayed, we didn't really like this minsu very much.

Firstly, I think they are not allowed to operate their minsu in the building. We did not know this prior to booking over email. And after payment is made, the management sent a lengthy email which told us not to talk to people in the building or answer any questions they ask. Not an issue initially until I heard some lady commented," they are tourist." Felt like we just committed a crime for being tourist :O

The next issue I have is the mattress. Because we booked a quad room and was allocated the room with stairs (sort of), the mattress at the second floor is very thin. It's just a thin mattress and not a proper bed. This made sleeping very hard.

Then the horror story was. We were locked out of our door. Their door is pin operated and one night the door just wouldn't open. We tried calling the management at 10pm but no one answers the call. Luckily after 15mins of trying the door opened. Couldn't imagine what will happen if it doesn't and we couldn't get any help. (They forbid us to talk to anyone rmb)

And lastly, the management is late in coming to reclaim the keys. We were going to the airport so it's especially annoying. By right we can just leave the key on the table and leave. But because they took 1000nt deposit from us on the first day(not sure why also, they didn't explain) we have to wait for the person to arrive.

They left this book in the room for people to write their reviews and was reading it through with my friends. And most of them didn't have a good experience as well. One of them commented that towels isn't changed for 5 days :O

I will definitely not return to this minsu. Oh ya if you want to drop your luggage after you check out, you got to lug it to another building which is a distance away. That's where their office is.

Previously when I stayed in taipei, I stayed in cityinn. Although small, I felt more homey because the staff is really more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank JaneTan1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Most reviewers rave about the location, and i have to admit, the locations is totally fantastic. I stayed in a quad room with my friends. I stayed in irish coffee (direct translation) and ning jing can feng. i wild say, tt i prefer the can feng as it is actually larger than the more expensive irish coffee. The irish coffee just has an addition PC which we barely used, so no point paying an extra 200NT.

The washing machine is another plus point, especially when we just came back from touring around the whole of taiwan and bringing a limited set of clothes. however, they cld do with a dryer though. they also provide limited washing powder, probably the amount needed for 3 washes at max. so do bring extra if u intend to wash more.

but the bad point was tt the office is actually a 4-5 min walk away and tucked away in a small buildng on the 7th floor. we got a transfer from the airport, so at least the driver wld drive us straight to the office. so do consider getting a transfer, especially if you are travelling in 4.

Towels are not changed also. another bad point. but o well, you dun change your towels daily i guess? especially not when one is travelling.

i would most definitely consider this place to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terence17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed in an apartment for 2 persons for 5 nights.

The good points:
- Rates are reasonable.
- They own more than 20 apartments in the same building in Q Square Mall, suitable for 2-6 pax depending on your needs. Location is good, short walk from Taipei MRT/TRA/HSR/bus stations, essentially the transport hub.
- Near eateries (in Q Square Mall, along Huayin Street or cross the road to the other side of the Taipei Main Station (TMS).
- Lots of shopping opportunities, in the mall, area around Taipei Main Station and the underground mall
- The apartment is quite new, nicely decorated, clean. Besides the usual toiletries, towels, hair dryer, water boiler, TV, wifi, fan, air-con, they also provide cooker, utensils, washing machine and fridge.
- They can help you keep your luggage after you checkout, to be collected before 7pm.
- Good security, you will be issued access card to enter the entrance (next to Starbucks in Q Square Mall) to the residential area of the building.

The not-so-good points:
- Since this is not a hotel, don't expect daily housekeeping of rooms. They will come and replenish supplies like toilet papers, tea bags, 3-in-1 coffee on Tue, Thu and Sat, but no cleaning/housekeeping/changing of towels is done. They will help you clear your trash.
- If you want to store luggage with them after checking out, you need to bring the luggage to their office, which is located a distance away from the apartment/TMS (near exit R4). Though it's a 5-10 min walk, but it can be a challenge if you have lots of luggage. Same thing if you are bringing your luggage to be stored in their office before official check-in time (4pm). For those who are checking in earlier than 4pm, try to ensure that they send someone to meet you at Q Square Mall (possible after 12pm, you are supposed to be able to leave bags in the room), rather than making you walk to their office with your luggage in tow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mrslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is my first trip to Taipei on free & easy. Been hearing lots from friends about Taipei hotel, I decided to stay in this so call minsu after browsing thru their blog. It was quite risky as they don't even have a proper website. But why I decided to stay there was due to the reasonable rate and good location. The first time to stay there you may find it very troublesome but believe me, it's so convenient as MRT, bus station, train station are just at the basement. Apartments are clean, come with washing machine and balcony to dry our laundry. Will stay there again the next time I'm going Taipei.
Ps: for those who are taking cab, give the address as Hua Ying street no. 63, the main door just opposite this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank AmyTan769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This accommodation was recommended by my friend who stayed there. It's a small self contained apartment which and depending on the size, comes with a stove, fridge and washing machine. Some apartments have loft rooms too! There's free WIFI as well.

Pros:
- It is located above the the Taipei Bus Station which in turn is linked to Q Square Shopping Mall, Taipei Main Station (MRT, High Speed Rail and Overland Rail) as well as the huge underground shopping mall. One could simply drag your luggage from the bus/train thru the underground links.
- There are a couple of 24 hrs convenient stalls located at Taipei Bus Station. There are 2 huge food courts at Q Square (basement 3) and Taipei Main Station (level 2) that proves useful during rainy weather which makes it unsuitable to visit the night markets.
- Security is 24 hours and there is a police station located next to the lobby of the apartment.
- Even though the check-in time was at 4 pm, Pig Home allowed me to check-in much earlier at no extra charge as I had just flew into Taipei on an overnight flight with my young 3 yo boy.
- Pig Home also loan me an electric socket adaptor for free after I had forgotten to bring mine.

Cons:
- The apartment is located among offices and other private residences. So it can get very quiet during weekends and at night,
- Housekeeping is done every tuesday, thursday and saturday and that is only for the clearing of trash. No changing of towels etc.

Recommendation:

- There is a 四海豆浆大王 nearby which sells fantastic soya bean milk, fried fritters, steam dumplings etc. It is located on Chang An West road and is only a 5 minute walk from the apartment.
- Arrange your airport transfer through the the guys at Pig Home. It is much cheaper than flagging down a cab. Pig Home charges NT950 onwards for a MPV. A sedan cab would have cost you NT1200-1600 depending on your bargaining skills.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank altivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My first time in Pig Home after getting recommendations from friends who have made this their base travelling within Taiwan. It is located above the HSR, MRT, THR, and main bus station. The Taipei West Bus Station is just across the road if you want to take a bus to North Taiwan.

I got really lost when trying to locate the meeting spot to get my keys to the room as the landmarks in the confirmation email sent had changed. This is the direction I took when I got off the HSR (with help of locals I met).

- Alight from the HSR and take the escalator up 1 floor.
- Follow signs that say "Civic Blvd"
- Follow "Civic Blvd" until it starts to show "K Underground Mall", "QSquare" or "Taipei Main Bus Station"
- If you follow signs that say "K Underground Mall" or "Taipei Main Bus Station", continue until you reach the sign "Qsquare"
- If you are following "QSquare", you will come across a sushi shop on your right. The sushi shop is those where you pick and choose your sushi, pay and leave. If you don't see the sushi shop, concentrate on the words "Qsquare" on the overhead boards.
- After the sushi shop, there will be a short flight of stairs on your left through a door. This door is normally kept open and it leads directly into Qsquare.
- Follow the crowds and you will see an escalator past a row of vending machines and colourful lockers. Take that escalator to the 1st floor and you will face Hsin Tung Yang ( 新東陽), Watson and Hi-Life convenience store.
- If you do not see the escalator, follow the sign which says "Taipei Main Bus Station", then look for Hsin Tung Yang or Watson.
- Call PigHome to pick you up.

The room comes with:
- Washing machine with washing powder. Great for long stays.
- Towels
- Shampoo and bath gel
- Hair dryer
- Free wifi
- Coffee and tea making facilities
- Filtered water from the tap
- Plates, chopsticks and cups
- Heater in the toilets
- In door slippers
- Security system so you can see who is ringing your door bell

House keeping comes every alternate day so be sure to keep your room clean. They do not replace the towels (do you wash your towels everyday at home?) and do minor cleaning like taking out the trash and cleaning the toilets. Since you are paying for a budget service apartment, you can't expect much. Nevertheless the rooms are cute, clean and you feel really comfortable here.

Security is great for the solo traveler as there is a 24 hour guard at the lobby, a key card that only accesses your floor and a password to enter your room. PigHome changes the password every time a guest checks out. The inconvenience of a single key card is that if you have more than 1 to a room then others will have to wait for whoever is holding the key card to come back.

You can keep your luggage with them if you are travelling out of Taipei and returning to the apartment after that. If you have more than 6 luggage, you have to pay NT200 for storage. It has airport transport service for a fee,

When you checkout, you have to call PigHome at least half an hour earlier to remind them and leave by noon. A staff will meet you at the lobby to return your deposit. If you leave later, NT150 will be charged for every half hour that you are late.

It's quite quiet at night as the apartments look like offices from the outside but you won't get banging doors or people walking down the hallway like other hotels.

After staying there for 6 nights, it is a great place to rest after a long day of exploring Taipei. If you are not on a budget and looking for time to spend in a hotel room or relax in a tub, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank nilingzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staying here during my last trip to Taipei on 2/Apr to 10/April/2012. This is my 2nd time staying at this Mingsu.

Like:-
1.) Very Convenience locations as it is attached to Taipei Main Station which you can access to HSR, MRT, Bus & Taxi easily.
2.) Fantabulous for Shopper. There is shopping center, Q-Square offer high end products just fewsmin walking distance. or you can ops for cheap & alots of cloth/shoes/toys at their underground Mall.
3.) Q-Square did have a food court which offer various Taiwan food. Taste is sper good + Price is affordable.

Dislike:-
1.) A little bit slow in replying e-mail
2.) The ceiling of their duplex unit is very low. i got knock on my head several times :(
3.) They only provide 1 'Chip' for you to access your room thru lift.
4.) Less choice of Breakfast shop nearby.

Room Tip: They did provide Airport transfer service with affordble charges, i always use their service as i do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WingsHeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0 mi away
Say Love Hotel
Say Love Hotel
#309 of 587 in Taipei
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri - Taipei Station Branch
0 mi away
Click Hotel - Taipei Main Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CityInn Hotel - Taipei Station Branch I
0.3 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#15 of 587 in Taipei
1,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Via Hotel
Via Hotel
#40 of 587 in Taipei
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pig' Home ('minsu')? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig' Home ('minsu')

Address: No.211 Section 1, Shimin Avenue, Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pig` Home (`Minsu`) Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing