We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Italian in Taipei”

Osteria by Angie (Guangfu shop)
Ranked #432 of 12,518 Restaurants in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Osteria serves truly authentic Italian cuisine , cooked with passion by chef and co-owner Giorgio Pappalardo. Osteria offer a sleek and simplistic interior that comprises a surprising element which encourages social interaction with a brand new dining concept. Focusing on communal dining, dishes at Osteria come in sharing portions so guests can enjoy an informal dining experience and sample more tantalizing creations by the chef.
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian in Taipei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The most polite staff serving real deal Italian in a wonderful setting. Beautiful room, beautiful food. One of the best filets we've ever had anywhere - melt in your mouth good.??the prawns were out of sight. Desert was homemade and amazing. Get the sampler. Head chef is from Florence and available to chat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    53
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“義大利廚師不懂義大利菜?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

高檔價位及裝潢,供應三流食物。低估台灣人對義大利菜的認知。去了兩次,都很失望,以為終於有了好吃的義式料理,但都敗興而歸。
Hello, Angie, you might as well take off your name! Or take off?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gmabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O.C., California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Service does not reflect the price..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice atmosphere in an up and coming chic area of Da Zhi, Taipei. Walking in the hostess was very friendly but lacked just that tad of professionalism. A restaurant trying to achieve four star rating, they lacked in staff experience. The linens were old and ragged, our waiter albeit very nice and friendly seemed very nervous and inattentive. We had two bottles of house reds which came to over NTD4000. When we finished the first bottle our server only removed one my friend's glass but never offered to check if we would like another bottle. Food was very average to below... I was actually quite disappointed in their risotto. I had the risotto funghi and my friend had the ox tail. Mine was over cooked, under flavored, her dish was under cooked, no flavor. It actually looked more like creamy polenta yet tasted like under cooked rice. And yes I do know what risotto should taste like. The only dish truly great was the Caprese salad. The fresh buffalo mozzarella was delicious with a modern addition of avocado slices. The house reds were very nice as well but maybe slightly over priced for house. To sum things up the service and food was not worth the price paid. Ambience was nice but is always only the cherry on top for restaurants, the food should always be the main focal point. Try Danny and Company one or two streets across.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happyme899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Western Food we had in Taipei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food at Osteria was top class. It is more expensive than the normal restaurant but the food is of very high quality. Some of the staff were a bit weak in English but they were very professional and others spoke good English

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank R0bSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Good Food, Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I invited another couple to join us at Osteria for dinner - our first time there. The food was outstanding and the wine selection substantial, with some very nice choices. Pricing was not cheap, but OK relative to the fare. Based on those two alone, we would go back. But... the service was terrible. The wait staff was exceptionally slow and uninformed - didn't understand their own menu... and overall, they interfered with us enjoying our meal. Based on the poor service we won't be back. Good food, good drink, horrible service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hlshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria by Angie (Guangfu shop) also viewed

 

Been to Osteria by Angie (Guangfu shop)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing