We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
Ranked #16 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was my first time in Taiwan, and I am glad we chose this hotel for our trip. The hotel is located directly opposite the train station, with Ximending just 5 mins away. The staff were extremely friendly, always with a smile on their face, no matter how late or how busy they were. It made our stay there even more pleasant. They were also helpful with our endless questions on where we could go, what we could eat, etc.

The hotel has a basement area where the guests can relax, with computers, coffee machine, microwave, TV, and a washing machine, all FOC.

The room isn't very big but sufficient enough to walk around. There are cute designs in the room which make the room look bright and cute, instead of facing 4 plain walls whenever you are in the room. There's free wi-fi in the room and also a TV with almost 100 channels, including cable channels.

What impressed me most was the staff made an overseas call to us the day before we arrive to confirm our booking/arrival. And also informed us about the check-in time and that we could leave our luggage with them and head out of lunch nearby if we arrived before the check-in time.

Enjoyed the stay here and I would definitely choose this hotel again whenever I travel to Taipei. :D

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows, I believe you would have to make a request with them if you want a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxYinGxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard F, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Value Guest:

On behalf of all staff in CityInn Plus Ximending, I thank you for spending your precious time to leave this great review. It is our honor to have you as our guest while you were in Taipei. The informational review is going to be very helpful for the follow travelers on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your nice comments encourages us to be better. Our guests' satisfaction is our ultimate goal and we are trying our best to fulfill it.

Please visit us again if you were planing to be in Taipei again. We are all looking forward to see you again.

Sincerely yours,

Howard Fan
Hotel Manager
CityInn Plus Ximending
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    246
    34
    3
    3
See reviews for
318
294
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, location is very good and the convenient and the mrt entrance just opposite the hotel. The room is clean, everyday they will provide new bottle water, towel and even tibits. Nearby the hotel there is a famous beef noodle and you must try. Ximending area is happening at night with shopping and food. The hotel staff is friendly. I remember i ask for harder pillow and without hesitation they get the pillow from other branch of hotel. I will highly recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard F, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Value Guest:

Thank you for this excellent review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our honor to serve you.

The beef noodle soup around CityInn Plus Ximending is one of good eateries in Ximending area. If you had a chance to visit us in the future, we could introduce you more places to explore. Your comments are such powerful encouragement to us and thank you for keep us moving to the next level.

We wish to see you again in the near future. CityInn Plus Ximending is always your home in Taipei.

Sincerely yours,

Howard
Hotel Manager
CityInn Plus Ximending
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just back from Cityinn plus, stayed here in Early May 2012...this is my second stay in Cityinn plus and it will still be our number 1 choice if we are going back to Taiwan again!!

Cityinn plus is very near the MRT exit which is what i really like that i do not have to walk very far whenever we are back from a long day...and the hotel staffs are really courteous who always greet us whenever they see us or whenever we leave the hotel...there is wifi in every floor and reception is strong even in your room which is good if you need to research before you leave the hotel or at night

Complimentary mineral water is placed in our room everyday with 2 packs of titbits in the drawers...and they have many TV channels and Videos to watch...We stayed in the elegant rooms with bathtubs on both occasion, before we arrive i actually told them that we wanted the one with bathtubs but they told us it's still subject to availability so i think you can tell them if you want to have the one with windows you can call them and inform them in advance and they will try to accommodate you...

The room is slightly small but it's was ok for us since we already know that in the first time we went...and you can hear some sounds when your neighbour is bathing at night or morning when people walk past and talk loudly...but as we are not a light sleeper that is quite ok for us too...beds and cleanliness is good since i've sensitive skin, i tends to feel itchy if the rooms or beds is not clean but i always sleep comfortably in their beds or in the room!!

they have 2 computer to use in the basement and tables and chairs so that you can eat there, coffee machines and tea are also available there if you do not want to eat in your room...they also provide washing machine and dryer for you to wash your clothes if you need..

Only minutes to XMD shopping area, so location is really good...book early to avoid disappointment as this hotel is getting very populars with tourist...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starrie_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard F, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Value Guest:

Thank you for the very helpful comment and your precious time. It is our honor to have you as our guest. We are all very happy to know it is your second time to stay with us.

You benefit all the fellow travelers on Tripadvisor with your valuable review. Your encouragement is the best reward to all of us. We do try our best to provide a better service to all our valuable guests. On behalf of all the staff, I thank you for choosing CityInn Hotel Plus Ximending. It is great to learn that you have a comfortable experience.

We are looking forward to seeing you in the near future. CityInn Hotel Plus always welcomes you.

Sincerely yours,

Howard Fan
Hotel Manager
CityInn Hotel Plus Ximending
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I just stayed in this hotel last month with 3 other girlfriends. We got the room for four and the size is pretty good!!

The room is of good size and the bathroom is huge!! The whole place is very bright and we love it!! The bed is good and the pillow is not too soft. They are just nice. The free wifi in the room is pretty strong too! And there are many TV channels to choose from. There are also complimentary mineral water everyday.The stafffs at the reception are very helpful and always greet customers with a smile. We arranged for the airport pick-up from the hotel and paid about $1200NT.

The hotel is very close to Ximending (5mins walk) which is a shopping heaven and a KTV is just 2 mins walk away. Train station is literally less than 5mins walk away.

There are a lot of eateries nearby and you will never get hungry! We love the beef noodle just one block away from the hotel. It is old style and at the back of a lane. There is a Wego pineapple tart shop near the hotel (you'll pass by the shop when you head to the station) which has very good pineapple tarts. You should give that a try. Their tarts are always sold out by the end of the day. The hotel is also 15mins walk to the Taipei Train Station where we love its underground shopping street.

At the kind of room rate they are charging, it is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. If I ever get back to Taipei again, this is my number one choice.

Tip: They are always fully booked so make sure you make your reservations early. You can only book 3 months prior to your arrival date so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriskoh7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard F, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Value Guest:

We are so glad to have you and your friends to be our guests. Thank you for this helpful review and your precious time. Your review can help other follow travelers to understand more about the surrounding area and facilities of CityInn Plus Ximending.

You comments encourage us to be better and to accommodate our guests more smoothly. It is our honor to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Howard Fan
Hotel Manager
CityInn Plus Ximending
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here in February 2012 in a twin room at the top floor. The hotel is right opposite the train station (exit 3) so it was really convenient for us. Check-in was a breeze and the staff were all extremely courteous. My friend had lost the key to her luggage and the staff actually helped her saw the lock off!
The room was slightly small but that wasn't a problem since we were traveling light. Beds were comfortable enough and the lack of a window didn't bother us. The bathroom was large enough and came with many amenities including vanity kits. There was also a safe, a fridge, many channels on the TV and complimentary snacks (Doritos! Yum!) I didn't have a problem with the sound-proofing and slept like a baby.
The basement has this cool place for you to have breakfast, and they have free Red Bull in the lobby. You have to leave your room key with reception when you leave the hotel but the staff checks your name before handing you the key when you return, so safety isn't compromised. For the price you pay, this hotel is a really good deal!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylcxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard F, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Value Guest:

It is our honor to have you as our guest, and thank you for your precious time to leave this review. We are all very cheerful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was very proud to inform your comments to my staff and as happy as they were.

Once again, thank you for approving CityInn Plus Ximending. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Please visit us when you are in Taipei.

Sincerely yours,

Howard Fan
Hotel Manager
CityInn Plus Ximending
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

For my very first trip to Taipei, my girlfriend and I decided to choose City Inn Plus. Located at the heart of Ximending, City Inn offers great access to the Metro as well as close proximity to food and shopping at the very nearby Ximending. It is also pretty close to Taipei station; either a 15 minute walk or 1 stop on the Metro to get to Ximending.
On arrival, we were greeted by the very courteous and helpful staff. I concur with the other reviewers in saying that their service is top notch. There could be some room for improvement, but I shall get to that later.
At the reception, we were told that because our agent did not specify a double or a twin bedroom, we were given what was left. Unfortunately, only twin rooms were left. The receptionist did say that she would combine the beds the following day and that she would check whether there would be any double room available for next day.
We realised that it was not their fault and so we had no choice but to accept. We fully expected that they would not move us to a double room and this was what happened. But since the receptionist promised that she would check, it would have been nice of her to tell us that she couldn't get one. This is of course a very minor issue.
On arrival to our second floor room, we were greeted with an average sized room with plenty of amenities. Everything was clean and tidy. However, there was no window.
When we researched the hotel, we knew full well that not every room had windows. Having a window in the room was the top priority as we wanted to be able to check the weather outside as well as getting some fresh air in. We had booked the more expensive elegant room expecting there to be a window in the room. Our reasoning was, why else would it be more expensive? The elegant room was not much larger than a normal room and the amenities were similar. Also, the photos that we saw suggested that there would be a window in the room. Whether our expectations were reasonable or not is a separate issue.
I may be knit picking but I do suggest that this matter should be made clear on the City Inn website. I know most people couldn't care less, but I know for some, it is quite important.
Aside from this issue which may not apply to everyone who reads this. The stay at the hotel was enjoyable. The thin wall issue was not that bad. We only heard sounds of people washing, although be warned that the headboards of the beds of the neighbouring room is adjacent to each other.
Off the top of my head, the room came with a fridge, a safe, some hangers, a kettle and most helpfully, 2 pairs of slippers. There is a very comprehensive cable tv system with VOD as well as free wifi.
Inside the bathroom, there is a comprehensive selection of bathroom items.
I would wholeheartedly recommend City Inn Plus to any traveller going to Taipei. We paid around $600 HKD per night for an elegant room, which is very reasonable. If you are looking for a hotel which guarantees a window then look elsewhere but I reckon only a small minority of you guys would really care about this!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows and I don't feel that there is much difference between the standard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SorPigPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard F, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for leaving this comment and your precious time. First of all, I am sorry that you had some unpleasant experience during your stay. We will improve our S.O.P. to achieve a better service level. Regarding to the windows in our guest rooms, as you mentioned that not all our rooms have them. We will put more specific descriptions on our website to prevent this incident from happening again. Please advise us next time, we will try our best to arrange your room as requested.

On the other hand, I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed the facilities in CityInn Plus Ximending. And we are very grateful that you would recommend the other travelers to stay with us. On behalf of all the staffs, I thank you for choosing us. It would be our honor if you visit us again in the future. With your advises we will definitely improve the service level.

Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Howard Fan
Hotel Manager
CityInn Plus Ximending
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The customers service and hospitality is great at this location. They do whatever they can to accomodate you. Everyone here treats you with the upmost respect. With the places I have stay'd at, this is bar none the best place thus far for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khoa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard F, Manager at CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for this great review and your precious time. Hopefully you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we do. It is our honor to have you as our guest in CityInn Plus Ximending.

Please come visiting us again while you are in Taipei. There is always a warm welcome for you at here.

Sincerely yours,

Howard Fan
Hotel Manager
CityInn Plus Ximending
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Just Sleep Ximending
#23 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#5 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westgate Hotel
#39 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Swiio Hotel
#38 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Hotel Midtown Richardson
#111 of 565 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch

Property: CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
Address: No.63 Baoqing Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#7 Family Hotel in Taipei
#26 Best Value Hotel in Taipei
#60 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In pursuit of a high quality design standard, Cityinn Hotel Plus invited internationally renowned design studio “Architecture Interior” to execute its interior and exterior design. The artistic installations in the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms were jointly developed by street wear brand “Pizza Cut Five” and “Love Tomorrow Today” to reflect a chic lifestyle and environmental consciousness.Cityinn Hotel Plus offers you a better service standard in every possible way, whether for well-known tourist attractions or restaurants, we are perfectly familiar with your necessary information in hand, we can recommend you anything in your demand. We provide all area free wireless internet service, as well as fax, printing, booking restaurants, advance laundry service or travel information, the hotel staff will happy to serve you in every possible way and make you feel home again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn Plus Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing