We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and reasonable pricing. Will definitely be back”
Review of Sharehouse 132

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharehouse 132
Ranked #32 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff speaks good English and is very helpful. Good knowledge of the city. We just don't like the fact that you have to climb stairs because it is a hassle when you have a lot of luggage. Location of hotel is very good, right outside the bus stop

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancingmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 153 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Travelled to Taiwan, Taipei from 17 - 19 Oct 2013.

IN THE ENSUITE ROOM

The room I had was not meant for 3 people but for 2 people. I was told that they had added one more bed upon my request since they ran out of beds for 3 people. The room was an oblong shape upon entry and the beds were arranged in a way which made walking around the room difficult.

They placed a table just outside the bathroom, next to the toilet. I was a little puzzled.

When I left the room to communicate with the staff further on other issues, my sister re-arranged the furniture. However, this time, the TV and fridge had to be put in a corner such that the wires were too short to connect to the switches. My sister was peeved after knowing there were no longer wires available and felt that we paid for things we could not make use of. Made no sense. Well, I was more than happy to switch off the TV because I really found it very noisy throughout the trip. Apparently, it was switched on but nobody was watching it!

We had a bathroom which was the best bathroom we had. No bathtubs to jump in and out. No dirty shower curtains. A mid-length mirror inside which everyone could see himself in the mirror at different corners of the bedroom!

The pillow was also too soft. I was sleeping on the bed as if there was no pillow. Yes, it was that soft.

There was also a dehumidifier in the room which was working. I like the dehumidifier best.

All in all, it was a cozy and comfortable room.

LOCATION OF HOSTEL

The hostel was located in a strategic place! It was located at about 5 minutes' walk away from Zhongzheng Metro Station in Zhongzheng District in Taipei and Zhongzheng Metro Station was one stop away from Taipei Metro Station.

The hostel was surrounded by boutiques and interest shops so I figured we were in a shopping district for the middle income groups. It was also surrounded by restaurants instead of lower-end eateries.

On exploration, you could find convenience stores within 10 minutes' walk.

OTHERS

The staff were young, vibrant, warm and friendly. They would gladly chat with you to provide any tour information you required.

There were a lot of Taipei maps, which were not available as brochures, on their walls. I was told they made the maps themselves. It would be good to take a look at the walls on Level 2 of No. 132 building where the reception was before you moved on for the day.

The only map available was an enlarged map of the sub-district this hostel was located and a neighbouring sub-district. I am impressed!

You had to pay a deposit of NTD 300 for their room key which would be refunded on the day you checked out.

The stairways were designed such that there were little hand grips. It was really a hostel meant for youngsters.

Happy to share about my travels: http://happyhealthysg.blogspot.sg/

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank dharmatraveller_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed in the female dorm for 4 nights - room was well maintained, albeit a little small (i think there is a larger dorm room though). Staffs were friendly and service was good! Excellent location - easily accessible from Zhong Shan & Taipei Subway Stations (both within walking distance); very central.

Oh, and I loved the steamed dumplings served in the alley near the dorm; 福大蒸餃, be sure to visit! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samethtio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in a private room (private bathroom) for two nights. The staff was very welcoming and nice! Our room was large for hostel standards, and bathroom was clean and looked new!
The best thing about this hostel was the breakfast, this was the only place during our Asia trip where they served whole wheat bread and four types of fresh fruit! (grapefruit, peaches, guava and tasty apples!). They also had great art hanging on the walls!
Location is close to Taipei Main station, and it is in a lovely part of town. Shops are all around.
Would definately stay here again if I visit Taipei.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Star's location is excellent very close the MRT, the service was friendly and it is well maintained. The rooms had everything you would need, good internet connection, places to charge your electronics. The breakfast is very healthy which is very important to me. Star is the only place I'd stay in Taipei.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I booked a single room and stayed twice for a total of about 7 days. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The common areas were spacious and clean. Especially the lounge area near reception. Good internet connection and also a computer in the lobby for those without their own with a great connection. Breakfast was healthy. The location cannot be beat, walking distance to the metro, one stop away from the central train and bus stations. The neighborhood is quite posh with a Louis Vuitton store across the street. There is also an artsy film house in a colonial building with beautiful outside sitting area / cafe / garden just up the street. Staff arranged for a mango shaved ice party one Friday night. Although I am not always extroverted, I had a great time, met many friendly fellow guests, and had wonderful mango shaved ice. Taiwan is one of the friendliest countries I have ever been to and the friendliness shines in this clean, budget-friendly hostel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for 6 days with 3 other friends for a holiday in Taipei. We all agreed that the accommodation, cleanliness and service were excellent. Our only nitpick was that our 4-person room was slightly small but considering the price, it was quite reasonable.

The hostel also happens to be a in a great central location close to public transport to travel to everywhere in Taipei (just ask the very helpful staff for directions). There are also many interesting shops and great food in the vicinity of the hostel that are helpfully highlighted on a map in the common area (again, just ask the staff).

Definitely recommended for anyone looking for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Taipei on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChewXYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.3 mi away
Flip Flop Hostel - Garden
0.4 mi away
Star Hostel - Taipei Main Station
0.5 mi away
Starbox Hostel
Starbox Hostel
#29 of 278 in Taipei
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mono'tel
Mono'tel
#37 of 278 in Taipei
34 reviews
3 mi away
Sleepy Dragon Hostel
Sleepy Dragon Hostel
#11 of 278 in Taipei
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meander Taipei Hostel
Meander Taipei Hostel
#2 of 278 in Taipei
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharehouse 132? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharehouse 132

Address: 2F, No.132, Section 1, Zhongshan North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly H132 Hostel)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Neihu District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range: $16 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
【SHAREHOUSE 132-Zhongshan MRT (中山站) on Red/Green line】 ************************************************************* 【rooms、rate、available from...】 We now only provide room reservation for over one month(over 30 days) 【Price Include】 -Spacious living room -Contemporary private ensuite rooms with flat screen TV -Dorm with shared bathrooms -Free wifi -Fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwaves, oven, toaster, electric kettle and sink -Coin-op washer and dryer and space to hang dry your clothes -Air conditioning in all rooms -Cozy common area with TV 【Location】 We’re located on the beautiful tree-lined Zhongshan Boulevard, just 3 minutes away from MRT Zhongshan Station and 10 minutes away from Taipei Main Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sharehouse 132 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing