We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top experience!”
Review of W Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Taipei
Ranked #10 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder Creek, California
2 reviews
“Over the top experience!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I've stayed here every June (for Computex) since this hotel opened and the service seems to get better every year. I'm a platinum SPG member and I can't say enough about the treatment and service I've received. Out of all the SPG hotels I've stayed at around the world, this one is top notch.

I rolled in from the airport, greeted at the car by a front desk rep. Up to the front desk area to switch elevators and greeted personally by the revenue manager Matt. He welcomed me, gave me his business card, had me skip the front desk check in and have the rep take me straight to my room. As we walked away he said enjoy your stay & room, you'll be pleased with it.

I sure was, upgraded to a Wonderful corner suite (as in past years) and on the top floor. The rep took my CC & passport info, gave me a long stay package (maps, dining & shop info, etc) and the bags showed up a few minutes later. Also waiting for me was a snack plate of bread, cheese and nuts, all of this very welcome after a 14 hour flight.

The great service continued throughout my 11 night stay. The hotel manager greeted me personally at breakfast and gave me his business card. When I went to happy hour on the 31st floor, the bar host greeted me continually by my first name w/o asking who I was.

Rooms and facility are very nice, beds are comfortable and location is good, right on top of the City hall MRT. On top of all of this, I continually received complimentary turn down "goodies" scattered throughout my stay: Macaroons, fruit plate, cheese plate, iced micro brew beers, and of course the little bags of gummy bears on my bed every night. Matt, the revenue manager emailed me twice during the stay to check on things as well as a follow up after I got home. I have never received over the top service like this at ANY hotel (and I've stayed at quite a few worldwide). Good job guys, keep it up!

Room Tip: Corner Wonderful suites are just that, wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear MikeGeeeee,

You just made our day. We are all overwhelmed by learning the excellent stay experience that you shared with us, and we feel truly grateful that you granted us this opportunity to present our hospitality to you. Nothing is more wonderful than providing all our precious guests the top notch stay experiences. We will surly keep sharpening our service with the genuine care and prompt assistant. Sincerely thank you for your constant stays. We would definitely love to see your back again and again.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,694
    475
    107
    36
    30
See reviews for
380
494
159
696
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited for a weekend get-away from Hong Kong in May, we weren't sure what to expect as we'd both never stayed at a W hotel before and we both said what a wonderful surprise it was to have chosen to stay here! The car that was booked for us arrived promptly (this was a surprise for me as it was a Posche!) and the driver was very friendly. We were able to check in very quickly and liked that there was a special "whatever" desk that we could approach if there was anything we wanted to know (indeed we used this later on in the weekend to ask about night markets). The bar area was more like a sophisticated club and we went there later and sat by the pool with cocktails and snacks- the bar staff were a little slow but once they realized where we were sat they were more attentive. Our room was fabulous with really quirky style details - like a red gorilla in the corner, white noise player and a chaise for reading right by the picture window. I also loved the huge bath and we appreciated the well-stocked mini-bar!The next two days we went for Brunch and breakfast respectively and agreed it was just perfect- there is everything you could wish for and more to eat and drink as well as really friendly staff and a relaxed setting - We'd totally love to go back or try out some more W hotels!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor and there was wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetterHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear JetsetterHongKong,

Really, really thank you for sharing such a wonderful stay experience that you had in W Taipei with us! It’s our honor to be your first-ever W Hotel, and it’s also our pleasure to provide you a perfect stay from the beginning to the end. Your lovely review has been forwarded to the related departments, and we sincerely believe it would definitely encourage all of us to keep providing the warmest and attentive service to all our precious guests. Thank you again, and we would definitely welcome you back again to explore more fun in this happening city!

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

W Taipei is located in the downtown and most modern part of Taipei. It is conveniently located next to the metro and also walking distance to the most popular clubs and bars in the city. Its woobar on the 11th floor is also one of the more popular bars for anyone living or visiting Taipei - certainly one of my favorite places to start the night ;). Aside from that of course it has all the amenities and service is excellent. Language is not an issue there. So if it's your first time to Taipei (or even if you have been before) I highly recommend choosing this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Andrew S,

Great thanks for your recommendation! It is such a wonderful thing to know that you had a great time in your first trip to Taipei while staying with us. We are also thrilled to know how you love W Taipei and our convenient location, happening WOOABR and excellent service. Please do come back and stay with us again and let us grant you another perfect stay!

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited and stay in the W hotel in end of may with my family. Upon reaching the check in was smooth and fast.. the laundry service was prompt, laundry received by crew and i received within the day. Room dining food were tasty too. My kids enjoy every bits when they are in the hotel and kept pushing us back to the hotel when we are out.

Thumbs up for the effort and service we had..... goob job.....

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nelson Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Nelson Q,

Great, great, great thanks for your lovely review. You just made our day! It’s our pleasure to provide you and your family a fabulous stay with the prompt service, the luscious food and everything you have experienced. Once again we appreciate your recognition and recommendation, and we sincerely look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I came to this hotel a couple of times for dinner during a long business stay in Taipei and loved it. I tried both the "international" restaurant at lobby level as well as the Cantonese on the upper floor and both cuisines were outstanding.

A notable highlight is indeed the pool where you can enjoy drinks in the evening, a great place where to unwind after a busy day at work.

Wine selection was very rich as well, which is quite rare in Taipei, but most of all I really appreciated everyone speaking perfect English which, again, is something very, very, very difficult to find in Taiwan even among 5 star hotels.

I will definitely consider come back for more than just dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frandrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Frandrake,

Thank you so much for visiting our the kitchen table and YEN Chinese restaurant and sharing your review with us. It’s our pleasure to provide you outstanding dining experiences with the wonderful environment and the great services. You are most welcome to come back not only for exploring more dainty cuisines but a comfy and enjoyable stay with us.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A great place to spend a few days in Taipei. Close enough to the main sites that you can get out and see things but lovely to spend hours by the pool or in your room relaxing / partying. They had a pool party of sorts when we were there and it was great fun! Probably not ideal for families or people wanting peace and quiet - that said we could not hear noise from our room.

Room Tip: Away from the pool is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassInHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear CassInHK,

Thank you for staying in W Taipei and sharing this wonderful review with us! It is such a great thing to know that you had a luxurious fun time during your stay. And we also appreciate how you enjoyed our Sun-kissed summer pool party. Please do come back again, experience another lovely stay and explore more fun in both our hotel and this city!

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Everything from the service, design, experience, location and breakfast, I can't find any fault of this hotel. Just surprises, perhaps.

If not for the razor which is quite basic in quality, I will give this hotel 100 marks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Taipei 101 should be the first choice as it offers good view of Taipei city. Floor leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Good_Partner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Good_Partner,

We are so thrilled to know that you had a perfect stay with us and enjoyed almost every aspect at our hotel. The feedback of the razor has been passed to the service department for future improvement. Thank you for your inspiring review, and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

With the best,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#31 of 571 in Taipei
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,894 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 571 in Taipei
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Taipei

Property: W Taipei
Address: No.10 Section 5, Zhongxiao East Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#9 Business Hotel in Taipei
#13 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#21 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Xinyi District, home to W Taipei, there pulses a neon current, creating a sanctuary where serenity meets energy. Here, an endless stream of people, ideas and technology fuses Taipei's rural surroundings with its urban core. From the vibrant markets, theatres and nightclubs to the iconic Taipei 101, everything-even the sky- is electrified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Taipei Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing