We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite W”
Review of W Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Taipei
Ranked #9 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Favorite W”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in four W hotels and visited a handful more and have to say this is my favorite one. Unlike some of the Ws where I think they try too hard to project a hip image at the expense of functionality, the W Taipei works. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, lobby and bar are nice and where I enjoy hanging out. The location is convenient. The gym is really nice and many people may not know that there's a very big changing room on that same floor with saunas, steam room and a few hot tubs! My only complaint is that the pool staff are a little lacking. The one day I spent by the pool I had to ask the staff twice for literally everything - they were not proactive in basic things like bringing us towels, opening umbrellas, after asking several times for the menu I then had to ask several times to order something. A shame!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CSW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Candy S,

Thank you for staying at W Taipei and sharing your review with us. We are glad and proud to be your favorite W hotel with the convenient location and a fabulous work-out environment at FIT gym. It's a pity that our service at WET pool didn’t meet your expectation and have already taken actions to enhance it. We appreciate your valuable feedback and please do come back again to see our improvement.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,608
    461
    103
    34
    28
See reviews for
371
475
148
649
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nothing much to say, but just perfect !! Couldn't have imagine it any better and I have 0 tolerance ! Just Simple Awesome !!!!

Service is excellent very accommodating to my needs and they truly did their best and exceeded my expectation to fulfill my needs !

You don't need to go out of W Taipei you can just spend the whole day there and be quite satisfied, but still location is very central and there is always taxis standing by and it's 1 min walk to the MRT or Metro (City Hall Station).

Room Tip: King bedroom with Taipei 101 view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Ferrekha,

Great, great appreciate for your excellent review on us. We are thrilled to know that you had an awesome time during your stay! For us, there is nothing more wonderful than providing our lovely guests like you a perfect stay experience. Thank you for your love and recommendation, and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was my first experience of staying at a W and it is brand that I suspect you will either really like or not. The pitch is clearly to be aggressively trendy with loud music thumping out at all times. It was certainly my first experience of being addressed by my first name by the hotel porter who took my bags to my room after check-in. Looking beyond the garish colours and the new interpretation of "service" the actual product is not very good especially given the room rates. The rooms and bathrooms are small with diminutive furniture. There are insufficient staff in the coffee shop at busy times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear PJW22,

Thank you for staying and sharing your valuable feedbacks with us. Our passion is to deliver wonderful music, fashion, design and great service to our guests and it’s a pity that what we have provided didn’t meet your expectations. We wish to impress you next time if we may have the second chance to welcome you back.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We found the W Taipei to be a very cool and professionally run hotel with a great vibe. The service across all areas of the hotel during our 7 night stay was excellent. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and efficient when we had a question or request. The hotel décor through out is modern and edgy but very functional. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. We would definitely stay in this hotel again due to the good location (close to all shopping, MRT, tourist destinations but close to 'local' Taipei), the stylish and comfortable rooms, good in hotel dining options, excellent concierge and above all, amazing service.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of Taipei 101, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Bronwyn M,

WOW, 7 nights in a roll! Thank you for staying with us and givining us sunch an excellent review! We loved that you enjoyed a lot for our great service, the edgy yet functional hotel décor, spacious rooms, the good location and dining options. Really appreciate your comment and we are definitely looking forward to seeing you again soon!

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Was here for 1 night only celebrating a friend's birthday. Check in at 3- room not ready but late check in given the next day and as we were at pool no problem really. Room keys given before hand. We had friends staying and they couldn't put us on same floor but we could access floor using extra lift card, nice touch.
Spa area is great, well maintained and tranquil. Pool area not busy, really nice place to sit. The room had a good view of 101 and was the usual very high W standard. Housekeeping good, very fast and friendly.
Drinks and dinner at the hotel were very good too. It's a buffet style dinner, lots of choice. Quite a low corkage for bringing our own wine. Service good throughout. German F&B manager present, very busy and helpful- he also whizzed around breakfast time too!
Breakfast is very very good. Service excellent and friendly. great choices. Lots of young children which I wouldn't have thought was the ideal for a trendy W hotel but all seemed happy.
The best thing about the W is the trendy public areas and the fantastic staff. All very fast, efficient, friendly and helpful.
The only confusion was in the spa. We tried to buy a spa voucher for a Taipei friend and there was much confusion there - apparently it takes 5-6 days to process a voucher? So no gift certificate bought there, we could have been lost in translation but a Chinese speaking friend couldnt clear it up either. Spa attendant very nice but couldn't ultimately issue a voucher for treatment in the future. A very gay friendly hotel which suited us fine too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear TadgeHongKong,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you had a great time celebrating your friend’s birthday, and enjoyed every aspect during your stay! We had shared you feedback regarding the spa voucher purchasing process to the concerned department and immediate actions for improvement have been executed. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to continue providing great service to our valuable guests like you. We are looking forward to welcoming your next return so to bring you another trendy W experience.

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had such a great time at the W. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Everyone speaks English (which was helpful). The design of the hotel is trendy and fun. The rooms are well appointed, and we loved the Bliss products. The single beds are actually the size of fulls in the US. The lobby had the most delicious muffins, croissants, and coffee each morning. They have a Jura espresso machine with the best coffee I have had in a while. I wonder what kind of beans they use?

The pool area was nice and well attended, and the locker rooms were beautiful. The location can't be beat. The hotel is attached to a large department store, with an MRT stop below that. Super convenient to get anywhere in the city from there. Overall, a great experience. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFamUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear TravelFamUtah,

We love your review as well. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with our well-appointed rooms, the morning refreshment with the best coffee, our unbeatable location which is easy to explore the fun city. And most importantly, our talents are dedicated to creating a wonderful stay for each of our guests, just like what you had experienced. Thank you for your kind words, and we definitely look forward to welcoming you and your lovely family again soon.

With the best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Starting from the friendly greeter at the airport and comfortable trip to the hotel in a Porsche, W Taipei offered the best hotel experience I've had so far.

Hotel is located in city centre (just beside train station) without too much hustle bustle outside (great balance!) Lobby is nicely located upstairs so you'll feel exclusive without many city guest.

Hotel room was well-appointed and bed was extremely comfortable. Blackout curtain works really well hence guarantee good sleep! Concierge offered very good advice on restaurants base on our needs. Japanese, chinese or hotpot - you name it, you get great recommendations!

Service at Woo Bar was fantastic as well. While cocktails can offer higher consistency (taste differs from bartender), the experience has always been delightful! Same experience goes to Chinese restaurant at the top. Its exclusive and offers great view. Food was delicious apart from dessert, which was a miss.

Breakfast at Kitchen Table was efficient and food was tasty. Variety were extensive and staff were very attentive!

Generally, everyone and everything in W Taipei met or even exceeded our expectations. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxJw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear LuxJw,

Thank you for such a delightful review! We are thrilled to know that you had by far the best overall experience with us and enjoyed so many aspects during your stay, including our convenient location, well-appointed rooms, the helpful concierge service, and the tasty food. Your comments toward the cocktail consistency at WOOBAR and the dessert quality at YEN Chinese Restaurant had already been shared with the concern departments and immediate actions for improvement have been taken place. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback, and we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#30 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#26 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
The Okura Prestige Taipei
#29 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Taipei

Property: W Taipei
Address: No.10 Section 5, Zhongxiao East Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#9 Business Hotel in Taipei
#13 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#21 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Xinyi District, home to W Taipei, there pulses a neon current, creating a sanctuary where serenity meets energy. Here, an endless stream of people, ideas and technology fuses Taipei's rural surroundings with its urban core. From the vibrant markets, theatres and nightclubs to the iconic Taipei 101, everything-even the sky- is electrified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Taipei Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing