We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time W experience - now I'm hooked.”
Review of W Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Taipei
Ranked #11 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First time W experience - now I'm hooked.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay at W Taipei was our first W Hotel experience. We stayed here whilst visiting Taipei on business and loved it so much we returned 2 months later for leisure. We did have some issues with room type etc on check in on our first trip which took a bit of arguing to sort out but they eventually were and the manager then helped us out hugely with our next visit including a small birthday cake and champagne for some of the guests in our party. The staff at the Whatever/Whenever desk on the ground floor were very helpful and friendly - all staff spoke perfect English too which helped. Amazing breakfast....

Room Tip: Rooms facing Taipei 101 naturally have the better view but you'll enjoy any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeMcCarthyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear LukeMcCarthyNZ,

We are glad that you are “hooked”! Happy to know that our talents have been helpful and made an impression during your stay. WHATEVER/WHENEVER is our service promise and we aim to deliver the best stay experience to every guest. Always our pleasure to welcoming you back for either business or leisure!

Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    480
    109
    36
    30
See reviews for
387
497
161
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cool Design, great location, good vibe and most of all amazing staff. Above average good looking guys and girls, with genuine smiles who are extremely eager to please. Very knowledgeable about the city and what's going on, taking initiative and truly interested to make your stay in Taipei a unique experience. The best W Hotel I have stayed in and one of the best managed hotels I know. Loved it! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear captainkirk1,

We love your review as well! Thank you for the compliments of “the best W Hotel you’ve stayed” and we are happy to know you found our hotel great in design, location, and most of all with amazing staff. Your wonderful comment is not only inspiring but also a great motivation to our team! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to provide you another unique experience in Taipei!

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First, this is like most other W hotels elsewhere in the world, it is a drinking hole that happens to have hotel rooms upstairs. The rooms are on the small side of the scale - given its location and relative height, almost all rooms have great view. Then again, Taipei is never known for its view of the city. As it is at a relatively high price making low value, I would go for the nearby Le Meridien which is more homely, more comfortable with excellent restaurants. Grand Hyatt is kind of old but is in a much lower price bracket with excellent, matured services.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear MrApril,

We appreciate for your feedback that gives us the chance to improve ourselves. Cocktail Culture, Design, Fashion and Music are our passion points at W and we wish our guests to enjoy these in our bars and restaurants. We are happy to know that you found our location great, however, we feel sorry that our service didn't meet your expectations this time. Please let us know if we would have the chance to provide you with another W experience.

Best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The first best thing about this hotel is 'location'The hotel is surrounded with city's best malls,hangout places,Clubs and moreover,a great view of iconic 101 building.
A comfortable Check-in, service efficiency and great attitude are plus points of W.
Excellent Breakfast setup with amazing selections and quality of dishes.

A must try, if you are staying in Taipei

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Hungry m,

Thank you for recommending us as a “must try” hotel in Taipei! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay and enjoyed the convenient location to explore the fun and excitement the city offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our pleasant breakfast again!

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Design in the room is good. Long time deposit of luggage is offered for free.
Lobby is not so comfortable and spacious. Carpets on the floor is dirty... There's a bottle cap left by former guest in the room. That's really horrible. Be careful of it.

Room Tip: Over HKD2700 per night, the same price I will choose Ritz-Carlton or Four seasons next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Sissiwei,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We feel sorry that our service didn't meet your expectations. We understand your concern and have taken serious and immediate investigation and actions. Thank you so much for your review that gives us the chance to improve ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great Check-in Experience, with efficiency and great attitude to help and welcome you.
Great new Hotel feeling energized and relax. Excellent Breakfast setup by the pool in the morning with amazing selections and quality

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taipei_Solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Taipei_Solo,

Your review just made our day even better! We are thrilled to receive your compliments and glad that you found our hotel, the service, and the breakfast excellent. We are definitely looking forward to seeing you again soon to enjoy our hotel.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

W Taipei is located at the new and bustling Xinyi District in eastern Taipei. It is connected to the Taipei Municipal Government subway station and bus station (the bus station offers good connectivity to other cities in Taiwan, including Taichung, Keelung, etc).

The pool on the 10th floor is nice and offer a respite from the (at times) over-bustling Taipei city life. However, walking that 30 meters from the lift to the pool can take you minutes, especially on weekends when the 10th floor lobby is crawling with party goers.

The one thing that W Taipei can improve on is the staff attitude. They are what I would cal "ruthlessly efficient" and devoid of personal touch. Take it from someone who has stayed at the property more than 18 times ...

Room Tip: South facing rooms have view of the Taipei 101 building, whereas north facing rooms have nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Dangoh,

Thank you so much for your continuous support and your time to share the experience with us. We are pleased you like our hotel, location and facilities and we feel sorry that our service didn't meet your expectation during this stay. We have taken note of your comments and direct feedback for us to review and improve. It’s our commitment to provide a meaningful and passionate service for all our guests. We appreciate your feedback and do look forward to having you back.

Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#33 of 574 in Taipei
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#22 of 574 in Taipei
1,968 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 574 in Taipei
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Taipei

Property: W Taipei
Address: No.10 Section 5, Zhongxiao East Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#9 Business Hotel in Taipei
#13 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#21 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Xinyi District, home to W Taipei, there pulses a neon current, creating a sanctuary where serenity meets energy. Here, an endless stream of people, ideas and technology fuses Taipei's rural surroundings with its urban core. From the vibrant markets, theatres and nightclubs to the iconic Taipei 101, everything-even the sky- is electrified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Taipei Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing