We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vendome Hotel Taipei
Ranked #494 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible choice”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Worst hotel ever (if you can even consider this dump as a hotel).

The entire place only occupies one floor in a "commercial" building, sandwiched between clubs/KTV/massage centers ( you name it ). There is a foul odor the moment you step out of the elevator which opens to their tiny dark lobby. Super anal staff: must check in @ 3 , must open luggages @ her designated "space" ( honestly, how big is the lobby?) - ok...but REALLY? Don't throw the used toilet paper into the toilet-bowl?!! Big shocker. where is the hygiene in this place. suddenly I can put a reason to the foul odor here.

Small rooms. Very dark without enough lighting. Poor sewage system - clogging up no matter what. I literally payed for a hotel that makes my life nervous, requiring constant remindings myself not to throw toilet paper into the bowl if not, as their information card quotes that one must be charged if they damaged the system by throwing tissue paper in.

I come back at 3AM and the noise level was unbearable. Ppl doñt sing in KTV downstairs, they shout their lives out. It's also very difficult returning back to the hotel due to the crowded people getting into the club at night.

I guess staff may be friendly but at the same time they are slow and seems to have very little knowledge on dealing with tourists. They wouldn't be able to answer you regarding money exchange shops/ the most efficient ways to get to different place etc.

Yes, Location is alright - but there are others to choose from nearby which could be better. Taxis in Taiwan are also relatively cheap compared to the metro which can be very low - so such a location may not be that important....

BUT PLEASE. DO RECONSIDER YOUR CHOICE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ooDarkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    30
    15
    37
See reviews for
10
34
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Going to Taiwan was definitely a well plan and well anticipated trip. But upon the first night checking into Vendome was entirely a disaster to our Taiwan trip.

1. We came back hotel at about 1am+ the music blast non-stop. Its really non-stop, we can hear people shouting and cheering.

2. The flush system keeps choking.

3. The pipe sound is so loud. Everytime when someone flush nearby our room, my whole room can feel the pipe.

We requested for check out the very next morning, as we cannot sleep at all. Staff are very unfriendly and shut us up.

Local taxi drivers advised us not to stay such hotel as such hotels are very prone to fire. Vendome occupies only 1 level. And the other levels are all clubs and KTV. Fire will get started easily.

We final advise is do not ever try this hotel, unless you sleep at 6am.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank rachzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Here are some of my reasons to deter you from staying in this hotel
1. Hotel asked to make full payment upfront when check in!
2. Hotel has this weird request to not to flush toilet paper into toilet bowl. Why? Apparently it will clog the toilet bowl! My friend asked why, the hotel staff said all hotel in Taipei are like that, oh please we had stayed in other taipei hotel before, no such thing!
3. Hotel is on the 12th florr of a building, some club or ktv is on the 11th floor. Hotel has poor sound proof, music and singing can be heard very clearly till 5am! Unable to sleep at all!
4. We request to get refund to check out, hotel do not allow refund.
5. Bed very small, not comfortable.
Overall, even hotel is at a good location but trust me you can't sleep at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joleensg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rooms are nice and decent space to walk. Nice location and many restaurant and outlets nearby just at the exit of the MTR train station. Do book for the road side rooms as it is nice and there is not much noise. Do pls not for vegetarians there is no much choice for breakfast and also for non-vegetarian also not much. Just to keep u on in morning u have something in there. Better go other place to have food in morning many resturant a nearby. Hope u have a good and pleasant stay

Room Tip: Rooms are nice and decent space to walk. Nice location and many restaurant and outlets nearby just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitjamdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We sometimes stay in this hotel because of its proximity to nightlife and shopping. Although the hotel is conveniently located near the MRT, great restaurants and a popular night club, the rooms are a bit overpriced and small.

I've only ever stayed at this hotel one night at a time but because of the size of the room I couldn't imagine staying here for long periods of time. Some of the rooms located on the outside of the building have nice big windows which have a nice view of the street below which can make the room seem bigger. The rooms on the inside of the hotel, however don't have windows and can feel quite cramped as there is no natural light.

The breakfast isn't fantastic but very simple, I've often found that when staying the night in a "double" room it just consists of two single beds pushed together.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless being in this centrally located area is essential.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very nice hotel, though a bit overpriced. Clean and new rooms, size is somewhat of Hong Kong standards, but considering central location that's fine. Great interior design, decent wifi and breakfast. Convenient location near subway, many restaurants around, supermarket in walkable distance. We were satisfied with staying there. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjuna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. Great location as the mrt is only 2 mins away and there are many shopping areas around the hotel. The rooms are clean and staff are helpful. The breakfast provided is simple and nice. The only thing I dislike was that the rooms were not soundproof.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeemoLOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastin Taipei Hotel
Eastin Taipei Hotel
#207 of 575 in Taipei
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eastern Star Hotel
Eastern Star Hotel
#436 of 575 in Taipei
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green World Hotel - Zhongxiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#99 of 575 in Taipei
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Palace Hotel
Royal Palace Hotel
#170 of 575 in Taipei
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vendome East Inn
Vendome East Inn
#105 of 244 in Taipei
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vendome Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendome Hotel Taipei

Property: Vendome Hotel Taipei
Address: 12F, No.197, Section 4, Zhongxiao East Road, Da-an District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vendome Hotel Taipei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vendome Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing