We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unexpected surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vendome Hotel Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vendome Hotel Taipei
Ranked #469 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

we booked this hotel based on the location and price on another website and make a mistake of not checking out the reviews here. so when most people complained about the noise created nightly from the nightclubs, we got worried. anyway since we will only be back to sleep after a long day's venture we reckon we would be too tired to hear anything.

we were quite surprised. much better then we thought.

we were given the second last room down the corridor on the left wing so maybe that helps. on our 7 days stay we did not experience any loud noises at all, so were able to sleep quite well. the room is almost the same as what you see from the official photos, rooms are small but decently clean and neat. everything works well from the air conditioning to the shower so i dun have much to complain about.

except for the renovating smell that lingers around the corridor as part of the building is under renovation. it smells of some chemical and can cause a headache at times. luckily it doesn't happen in the rooms.

the receptionists are distinctively different: friendly females who makes an effort to greet you every time you leave/return, and tends to your every need and help. the males seems to ignore us as if we are invisible, so obviously we would treat the ladies better too.

LOCATION
it is on the 12th floor of TONG LING BUILDING, above ZHONGXIAO DUNHUA STATION. Take the lifts found on the left side of ZARA (facing Starbucks). There is also a nightclub, 2 billiard pool center, cinema, gym, popular disco/club LUXY.

pick this place because it is really at a good location with a decent price. some major fashion and cult brands are just behind the hotel (porter international, izzue, undercover, lomography. stayreal etc) as well as DINGTAIFENG 鼎泰丰 and 24hr bookstore Eslite 誠品.

Room Tip: try the left wing facing the lobby/reception and opt for rooms towards the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mumdy_klum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    27
    14
    34
See reviews for
8
31
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Malacca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Talk about the location, it is really great.it only next to the MRT exit.You can get food easily around the hotel by walking distance.if you like branded stuff, there are plenty down the street.However the hotel just above the a karaoke, so the environment is not very healthy.like other members complaint before, the noise did appear. We are lucky we stay a bit inner part so the noise is not that loud.The main thing make me not so comfortable is the air quality. The hotel did mention they are non smoking room for all,but with the two night continuous stay in this hotel,the air in the hotel room full of smoke smell when the night come.It puzzle me either someone is smoking st the next door orall the smoke come from the karaoke but no matter which one, the air circulation in the hotel is very bad. We felt that we are breathing with second hand smoke the two whole night. We did not have quality sleep is not because of the noise but because of the smell instead. Imagine we keep coughing with the smell, and how bad is that. Therefore if you are going with family especially you going with children, I strongly not encourage you stay there. Firstly because many kind of people taking the same lift up and down to the karaoke and secondly the air quality really bad for health even maybe yourself is smaller but don't spoilt your children health.

Room Tip: Remember, if go with children,this is not a good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Hi All,

My friend and I loved the hotel location for the following reasons:
1. One min from the MTR (Train station), so u can travel anywhere (2 stops from 101 building), (5 stops from central)
2. Coffee right down stairs, So perfect for mornings
3. Bars and Boutique cloth stores right at the back off the street, and did I mention your located on the main streets in Taiwan (front)?
4. Luxy! the hottest Asian club in Taiwan is down stairs! (wed-Sunday nite baby), if you’re not into that, that's cool
5, Zara is at your door steps! yes ladies! the biggest Zara in Taiwan is down stairs
6. the number one place u need to eat in Taiwan "Din tai Fung" (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Din_Tai_Fung) Dim sim place is like 3 mins away across the road.
7. btw i was told this area is like the "top of town", you’ll see a lot of fashionable ppl and movie stars.. well I did anyways! love it
8. hotel itself, it was very clean and it was enough space for my girl friend and I, 2 shopaholics. it was very Chic!
S
o - check out the pictures of the hotel and decide for yourself. It took me 3 weeks to find a chic place without the expensive price tag! 3 nites only $200+ AUS so cheap!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellatraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Okay so I have been reading some of the complaints about this hotel and most of them are true, but you get what you pay for. The noise thing...yeh I agree with that although the only noise disturbance I had to put up with was my friends snoring and we didnt get home most nights until about 2-4am so meh. The loud noises come from the place being located between a karaoke bar and what i was pretty sure was a "massage parlour".
The hotel does have a seedy feeling to it aswell. The rooms and corridors are kinda dark and instead of a bedside bible they give you condoms. One thing I found kind of funny was that they have free porno haha. Food isnt great but there are plenty of places to eat around the area.
On the flipside, the location is pretty good being right next to an MRT station and being in the same building as Luxy, which is a damn good nightclub with a 90% chance of a very memoriable and drunk night. Prices go for around $60-$70 USD. Like I said, you get what you pay for. So to be honest, I didnt mind this place and since I did my research I knew what I was paying for. Would I come back? Maybe, depends on the circumstances.
So to sum up, I dont recommend this hotel for any travelling family with kids or for people who are picky and classify complaining as a hobby (even though theres a bit to complain about). But if your just looking for a conveniently located cheap hotel to lay your head at the end of the day (the beds are comfortable and big btw), give it a try...maybe you wont mind it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheeseburger1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

That's very comfortable and nice hotel. Zhong Xia Dun hua Mrt staion was in fornt of this hotel. My group appreciate shopping and travel by the MRT. Good trip by Vendome and MRT.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I like the location which is pretty close to the mrt station and surrounded with fashion malls. When u enter the elevator you'll find out one chic floor after all those weired floors u stopped. Love the room interior decoration. Hate the noisy environment that made all of us sleepless the first night. Breakfast is very limited. But staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daydreamerisdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just recently went to Taiwan and stayed in this hotel. It's chic and modern. Which I believe most teenagers will like. The people working there are polite and always greeting you. Great service. Yes, their wall might not be sound prove. But trust me, it's not as bad. We stayed there for 6 nights and practically slept well throughout. And there are lots of good street food and cafés around the hotel. Fashion street just behind the hotel. Cheap and affordable clothes. Cheap and delicious food! And the bed is mad comfy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancexpression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastin Taipei Hotel
Eastin Taipei Hotel
#217 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eastern Star Hotel
Eastern Star Hotel
#380 of 565 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#78 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Deja Vu  Hotel
Deja Vu Hotel
#146 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Palace Hotel
Royal Palace Hotel
#154 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vendome East Inn
Vendome East Inn
#107 of 246 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vendome Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendome Hotel Taipei

Property: Vendome Hotel Taipei
Address: 12F, No.197, Section 4, Zhongxiao East Road, Da-an District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #469 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vendome Hotel Taipei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vendome Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing