We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clothes paradise”

Wu Fen Pu (Wufenpu Garment Wholesale Area)
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Full-Day Taipei Walking Tour including Baking Class, Ramen Lunch, and Beitou...
Ranked #19 of 275 Shopping in Taipei
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
202 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Clothes paradise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

For a non shopper, it's pretty boring and you are constantly honked at by motorbikes as you walk along the narrow streets flanked by Clothing stores as far as your eyes can see.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Khiam Yeong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    122
    78
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shopping for clothes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Landed in the morning, checked into hotel at about 2pm and took the subway here. Had planned to spend a couple of hours shopping before walking over to Raohe St Night market.

Had a good lunch at Old Zhang (wufenpu corner). This was the only highlight of my first day.

This is where you have rows and rows of shops selling clothes. Mens' and womens' clothings. Prices are only so-so. There are no fitting room and there are motorcycles pulling bundles of clothes zipping along the narrow pathways. We took about an hour and a half to walk through three alleyways - buying a couple souveniors here and there.

We ended up at Raohe St Market at about 4.30pm. Most of the foodstalls were not setup yet... so we idle for an hour or two before the night market got busy...... this should be in another review.... bahahaha

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must-Go If You Like Shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you hate shopping, Wufenpu is a must-skip. Howver, if you love shopping, Wufenpu is a must-go. It has a wide range of both men's and women's clothes with its many, many stalls selling good, fashionable apparel at mostly reasonable prices. And if you keep your eyes open, even better deals await you! (Shirts at S$10, winter jackets at S$20 - it can't get better than that.) Though I encountered a pushy hard seller who blemished my shopping experience, overall Wufenpu beats Ximending, Shilin and Raohe.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank attemptingtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
292 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Go with the Right Expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Before my trip, friends were advising me to skip Wufenpu as it was "not my type of shopping". The clothes were packaged in bundles (not on display racks), there was no fitting room, the sales people were rude and the clothes were not cheap unless you buy in bulk. Besides (my friends told me), many motorcycles zoom about in the narrow lanes. "Need to keep an watchful eye on the kids." I went anyway (just to see for myself what wufenpu was like) and kept my expectations low.

My friends were quite accurate in their description (except the unfriendly sales people part; those I met were very helpful and kind). Nevertheless we did grab some buys.

For benefit of parents with children:
Children clothings are mainly concentrated on Yongji (永吉路), on the parameter of Wufenpu
Many of the shops do not do retail (with signs such as 謝絕零售). (Shops without such signs welcome retail business)
You can still find bargains for summer clothes in winter!! Look for racks outside the main shop. These are odd sizes which the shop is trying to sell off quickly.

Overall, Wufenpu is pretty alright as long as you know what to expect. Don't go with the idea of cheap shopper's paradise and you will be fine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Add on to the Raohe St. Night Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you are going to the Raohe St Night Market, make sure you arrange some time to visit the Wu Fen Pu Garment Wholesale Area. I believe it is 2 blocks by 4 blocks with a lot of alley ways in between. while those by the main streets are interesting, it is those that hid inside the alley ways that are most fun to deal with. There are fashions for all ages, and the styles are quite current, actually more current than those you can find in some North American cities. The kids clothing are some cute, I wish I was there when my kids are at that age.
Couple things you have to remember, most of the merchandizes are just gathered in big plastic containers, actually, plastic bags to be exact. You need time to dig through that for your treasures. Of course, that is where the fun lies. Don't forget to try it on, the size marking may not be what you think they are. also, make sure you hag for a better price.
There are food stools all over the place, but make sure you save room for the good old pepper bun at Raohe St. Night Market

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wu Fen Pu (Wufenpu Garment Wholesale Area) also viewed

 

Been to Wu Fen Pu (Wufenpu Garment Wholesale Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing