We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”
Review of Taipei Zoo

Taipei Zoo
Ranked #7 of 552 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The largest zoo in Asia, this was original a private zoological garden. The giant panda house, Formosan animal area, koala house and Asian tropical rainforest area are of particular note.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The zoo is very clean and neat. The entrance fee is cheap, even though it's crowded on the weekend. Good place to spend your time with family and friends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SendiTyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    989
    340
    43
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Caught me by surprise!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I didn't plan for this trip to Taipei Zoo but my travel companion insisted on paying it a visit after knowing there were three pandas on display!

A few things caught me by surprise:

1) It was huge and way bigger than Singapore Zoo
2) There were animals we don't get to see back in Singapore like koalas, the great ape etc.
3) Ticket pricing was so much more economical
4) Drinks at vending machines can cost as low as S$0.50.

Having said that, maintenance was a bit lacking (hallo, one adult ticket was like S$3) and information in English were inconsistent which can be frustrating for those who don't really have a good grasp of the Chinese written language.

For more pictures, you may refer to my url.

Best,
Cavn
https://cavinteo.blogspot.com

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CavinTeoSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really fun and just the right size for a day trip”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I went with three friends and we loved the variety of animals and shops. Train ride is NT5 (exact change or EasyCard) and if you're studying in Taiwan you get in for NT30. Present your ISIC card at the ticket booth, or if your card is also your EasyCard just use that at the entrance and it will deduct the reduced fair. Don't forget to bring a water bottle. There are water stations all across the zoo but keep in mind the water may be warm after a lot of people use it. Last note: keep the little white ticket they give you at the entrance. That's you're ticket to get in at the Panda exhibit. It shows the time you can go but if you miss it just line up and go to a different time slot. Enjoy!

Helpful?
2 Thank calderonmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
375 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“First Taiwanese Born Panda”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Zoo features the first Taiwanese Panda, Yuan Zai. She is on display with the other Giant Panda's in the Xinguang Special Exhibit House. There is a time stamped entry ticket provided when you enter the Zoo. The line is long, but is facilitated and moves along briskly. The Pandas are behind glass. Also of interest is the native Formosan Animal Area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KeokiHangLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge area to visit”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Finally got a chance to see Kola Bear as I haven't go to Australia before.
The month that I went to the zoo is way to hot. Therefore we were perspiring non-stop. The entrance to the zoo is so cheap and we went twice as we didn't realize every start of the month of Monday, Panda is not available.
Overall is an experience to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Purishgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taipei Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing