We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't go in the heat of summer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taipei Zoo

Taipei Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Taipei Unlimited Attractions Pass
Ranked #7 of 545 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The largest zoo in Asia, this was original a private zoological garden. The giant panda house, Formosan animal area, koala house and Asian tropical rainforest area are of particular note.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just don't go in the heat of summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Amazing amount to see for $60NT. You can spend anywhere from 2-5 hours (depending on how long your kids want to stay). We used to go a few times a year when we lived in Taoyuan, and our son was always excited.

The only "bad" time to go is when it's hot--there are few places to cool down (the penguin enclosure) as it's muggy: the air doesn't move at all. We made friends with the convenience store clerks as we tried to get up energy to see more.

Food inside is typically expensive/poor quality.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeCeeVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    934
    323
    42
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
281 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good daytrip for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

For a ticket price of NT60, I was expecting a small zoo...perhaps 3-4 enclosures. Boy, I was so wrong! The zoo was so huge, and a 3 hour visit was barely enough to do it justice.

Do take note of the zoo layout (not on flat ground). A smart way to tour the zoo is to take the 5min tram ride (NT5 per person, pay on the bus) from the main station to the Bird Word station, and then make your way down. This minimizes upslope walks.

We really liked the African animal area. The animals were pretty cooperative that day and moved very close to us, perfect for close up shots!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a fun place to take kids to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

it is really a fun place for kids. They had great fun! talked a lot about those animals they saw. loved to have this place in Taipei. so convenient to go there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice and well kept zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Panda exhibits layout could be improved, HK Oceanpark layout is better in that it allows a clearer and nearer view of the pandas activities. Good varieties of animal species and zoo on the whole well kept and clean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank metta1443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Renovating and grey place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Its a very grey and tired looking zoo. Sorry to say for a cheap price, I may just give it another star. But other than that, there is no way it deserves another tick for me. Agagin, this is a 100 yr old zoo so it probably just old. They are doing a lot of upgrading works now because they are celebrating the 100th anniversary next year. So go at your own disappointment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Singapoorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taipei Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing