We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Simple Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #258 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean Simple Hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on 2 separate nights during a tour of Taiwan. The room was a bit small with an extra rollaway bed.
Small supermarket next door which has more products than the convenience store nearby.
Breakfast consisted of both western and traditional Taiwanese items.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JackLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    63
    46
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
16
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had enjoyed staying at New Continental Hotel, Taipei. The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful to give information about various attraction in Taipei. We had stayed here for 7 nights. It is convenient to go around Taipei and 10 minutes walk to Taipei Main Station (MRT and bus station). On your left is the night market and right to Taipei Main Station. The rooms is clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Make sure have window and morning buffet have limited choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poh1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We joined a round island tour in Taiwan & day one we were checked into New Continental hotel. It really was quite an unassuming hotel as the facade of the hotel was like a large shop lot amongst the other old building. The lobby was small & basic. However we were pleasantly surprised that the room & bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortabl, The room was small but suffice for a night. Location was great as it is walking distance to Ningxia night market & many convenient shops nearby. We also walked to a great Chinese restaurant Green Leaf which I last visited 20 years ago. However, on checking the rate it is about NT3600 which is not cheap. Don't expect much out of breakfast, Chinese only & no western.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

wnen i first look at the hotel from the outside look old and nothing special about it.
location-is good.walking distance to the night market.there is a supermarket beside the hotel.
room-look modern to me.but the bathroom got a moody smell.the room is clean.
breakfast-lack of choice,most of the stuff is chinese food,no one cooking the western egg.
quite bored to eat everyday.
overall is a simply hotel,nothing special about it.except the location and the price.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD-CORP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are looking for moving around easily in Taipei, this is a good location. All within 10 minutes walk, there is Ningxia Night market to the north, an underground street market on the south, I believe will link to the taipei central rail station. A closer subway station is the Zhongshan station on Nanjing W Rd to the east. Room is clean though not as spaceous, but comfortable. Only "problem" is that the room we are in does not have a window, so you are like in an inside cabinet of a cruise ship. WIFI is available only outside on the first 2 floors. Breakfast is good. There is no service. Example, I asked the service desk if I can get a knife and spoon so I can cut some fruits I bought, all they can find me is a plastic knife and fork apparently left behind unused by someone. By the way, the supermarket next to the hotel has very good priced fruits and drinks to buy, much cleaner and cheaper than what you can get in the night market. Overall, if the price is right, this hotel is acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I agree with the previous reviewer that from the outside it's not easy to imagine that the rooms are quite newly renovated - although the lobby is somewhat old fashioned.

I got the quad-room for my stay (travel party size of 4 pax) and overall the hotel was not a bad choice given the price. The location is slightly off - the nearest MRT is about 15-20 mins walk away. The rooms were comfy and clean - looks like it was recently renovated/refurbished. Beds are comfy - no complains about the room actually.

There are some eateries outside and nearby the hotel, easy for food hunting. There's the supermarket located at the basement next door for all those late night room snacking.

The hotel breakfast however is not impressive - simple fare of chinese and basic Western breakfast (toast etc). Breakfast is served on two floors - you'll need to go downstairs if you a late riser since the food is brought up from the restaurant downstairs at the lobby.

Overall - will I stay here again? Perhaps, since the rooms are comfy for a travel party of 4 at a decent price.

Pros - price, clean and very comfortable room, mineral water provided
Cons - location off the MRT line (but taxi access is still ok), breakfast is not outstanding

Room Tip: High floors would be better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngwolf2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is situated within the rows of shophouses. From the outside, it is difficult to imagine that the rooms are quite new and aamenities are moderm. The hotel is within walking distance to a night market (Ning Xia Ye Shi) which according to a local taxi driver has the best food among all the night markets. It is also within walking distance to the famous beef noodle house (Jing Chun Fa noodle house). It is however a 15 - 20 mins walk to Taipei Main Station. Taking a cab from Main Station to hotel costs around 70 TWD and is a good alternative if legs are tired.
I stayed in a room at the 6th level, while my friends stayed on the 3rd. We were wary of what another reviewer had posted about smell at lower ground levels, but my friends did not have similar problems at level 3 rooms. The receptionists and the manager of the hotel were very helpful and patient when it came to recommendations of local food and directions. The hotel's breakfast, however, were not that great. Very little spread. However, 2 breakfast food stalls are situated within 2-3 mins walk down the shophouses and they sell cheap local breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have no windows as they face inwards. Odd number rooms have windows, but I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Fortune Hiya Hotel
Fortune Hiya Hotel
#282 of 570 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#129 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden China Hotel
Golden China Hotel
#105 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#213 of 570 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Inn Taipei Linsen
Royal Inn Taipei Linsen
#120 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#84 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Property: New Continental Hotel
Address: No.73 Section 1, Chongqing North Road, Datong Dist, Taipei 10350, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing