We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite assuming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #242 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We joined a round island tour in Taiwan & day one we were checked into New Continental hotel. It really was quite an unassuming hotel as the facade of the hotel was like a large shop lot amongst the other old building. The lobby was small & basic. However we were pleasantly surprised that the room & bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortabl, The room was small but suffice for a night. Location was great as it is walking distance to Ningxia night market & many convenient shops nearby. We also walked to a great Chinese restaurant Green Leaf which I last visited 20 years ago. However, on checking the rate it is about NT3600 which is not cheap. Don't expect much out of breakfast, Chinese only & no western.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for New Continental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

wnen i first look at the hotel from the outside look old and nothing special about it.
location-is good.walking distance to the night market.there is a supermarket beside the hotel.
room-look modern to me.but the bathroom got a moody smell.the room is clean.
breakfast-lack of choice,most of the stuff is chinese food,no one cooking the western egg.
quite bored to eat everyday.
overall is a simply hotel,nothing special about it.except the location and the price.

Room Tip: no comment
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AD-CORP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are looking for moving around easily in Taipei, this is a good location. All within 10 minutes walk, there is Ningxia Night market to the north, an underground street market on the south, I believe will link to the taipei central rail station. A closer subway station is the Zhongshan station on Nanjing W Rd to the east. Room is clean though not as spaceous, but comfortable. Only "problem" is that the room we are in does not have a window, so you are like in an inside cabinet of a cruise ship. WIFI is available only outside on the first 2 floors. Breakfast is good. There is no service. Example, I asked the service desk if I can get a knife and spoon so I can cut some fruits I bought, all they can find me is a plastic knife and fork apparently left behind unused by someone. By the way, the supermarket next to the hotel has very good priced fruits and drinks to buy, much cleaner and cheaper than what you can get in the night market. Overall, if the price is right, this hotel is acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with window.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I agree with the previous reviewer that from the outside it's not easy to imagine that the rooms are quite newly renovated - although the lobby is somewhat old fashioned.

I got the quad-room for my stay (travel party size of 4 pax) and overall the hotel was not a bad choice given the price. The location is slightly off - the nearest MRT is about 15-20 mins walk away. The rooms were comfy and clean - looks like it was recently renovated/refurbished. Beds are comfy - no complains about the room actually.

There are some eateries outside and nearby the hotel, easy for food hunting. There's the supermarket located at the basement next door for all those late night room snacking.

The hotel breakfast however is not impressive - simple fare of chinese and basic Western breakfast (toast etc). Breakfast is served on two floors - you'll need to go downstairs if you a late riser since the food is brought up from the restaurant downstairs at the lobby.

Overall - will I stay here again? Perhaps, since the rooms are comfy for a travel party of 4 at a decent price.

Pros - price, clean and very comfortable room, mineral water provided
Cons - location off the MRT line (but taxi access is still ok), breakfast is not outstanding

Room Tip: High floors would be better :)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngwolf2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is situated within the rows of shophouses. From the outside, it is difficult to imagine that the rooms are quite new and aamenities are moderm. The hotel is within walking distance to a night market (Ning Xia Ye Shi) which according to a local taxi driver has the best food among all the night markets. It is also within walking distance to the famous beef noodle house (Jing Chun Fa noodle house). It is however a 15 - 20 mins walk to Taipei Main Station. Taking a cab from Main Station to hotel costs around 70 TWD and is a good alternative if legs are tired.
I stayed in a room at the 6th level, while my friends stayed on the 3rd. We were wary of what another reviewer had posted about smell at lower ground levels, but my friends did not have similar problems at level 3 rooms. The receptionists and the manager of the hotel were very helpful and patient when it came to recommendations of local food and directions. The hotel's breakfast, however, were not that great. Very little spread. However, 2 breakfast food stalls are situated within 2-3 mins walk down the shophouses and they sell cheap local breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have no windows as they face inwards. Odd number rooms have windows, but I d...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We picked this hotel because we thought it's near Taipei Main Station, but it's within 15- 20 mins of walking distance passing lots and lots of shops and through the underground mall on our way to the station. It's a lot of walking if you stayed there for few days.

Hotel is quite new and has lots of Japanese tourists. The beds are really comfortable and there are lots of TV channels to surf. There is no stale smell or noisy traffic, maybe it's because we stayed at 7th floor.

The hotel is located at a wholesale area where you can find lots of shops selling Halloween costumes and accessories like hair bands, earrings and socks. Lots and lots of them.

There is a food buffet shop (mix rice shop) just next to the hotel providing plenty of yummy choices. Mom ate there twice! Wellcome (grocery store) is also next to the hotel, where we stock all our snacks, fruits and beverages.

The price that I paid for two nights is RM840 for triple bed includes breakfast, network cable in the room and free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast buffet spread is quite varied and I tasted on of the best latin corn fritter ever. Yum!

Room Tip: Choose room without the emergency staircase sign that is very bright at night
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nickeechung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We are put up on 2nd floor. Room smell like sewer and the hotel staff suggested we air the room by opening the window facing the busy street??!!!!
You can hear pretty much everyone conversations outside... Can't regret more booking this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YHT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.8 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#210 of 573 in Taipei
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fortune Hiya Hotel
Fortune Hiya Hotel
#269 of 573 in Taipei
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#121 of 573 in Taipei
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Golden China Hotel
Golden China Hotel
#107 of 573 in Taipei
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#93 of 573 in Taipei
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taipei City Hotel
Taipei City Hotel
#152 of 573 in Taipei
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Address: No.73 Section 1, Chongqing North Road, Datong Dist, Taipei 10350, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $77 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing